We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$252
$178
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$204
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
21 Roux Street(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$169
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$131
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$313
$283
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
$386
$344
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
$136
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$486
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Residence(Franschhoek)
$751
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,267)
Filter reviews
1,267 results
Traveler rating
1,227
35
3
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,227
35
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmobile phoneattention to detailfree laundry serviceuitsig roomplunge poolsun creammueslithe main housefruit platterthought of everythingguest houseprivate gardenthe main streetfree mini barhis teamsouth africalittle extras
Filter
Updating list...
899 - 904 of 1,267 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed in the Cottage and it was just magnificent! The service was second to none and the food was excellent. Service is great and staff was wonderful. Nice area of town and easy walk to center of city.

Room Tip: Author is the
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanfranp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

When your only complaint about a hotel is that the butter was slightly too hard at breakfast, you know you are onto a good thing.

The hotel and its public areas are beautiful. The owners, Katherine and Arthur, and staff (Hazel in particular) go out of their way to be helpful and assist you in having a good stay with great knowledge and recommendations for things to do in the area.

We stayed in the pool room and it was extremely spacious, well decorated, clean and comfortable with a fantastic bathroom.

Barring my very picky remark above about the butter, the breakfast is by far the best breakfast I can remember having - ever! It was delicious and kept us going all day. Compliments to the chef!! (I'm guessing it was Arthur.)

Overall, we throroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to others. You won't be dissapointed.

Richard

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trick1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaFhk, Owner at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2011

Thank you for the lovely review. Arthur just wants to make one correction. It wasn't him who cooked the breakfast. He hardly knows one end of an egg from another. It was either Lena or Fransina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon trip across South Africa. Our room was Twyfeling B. It was huge and well decorated. I loved the bathroom in black and white with the crystal chandelier. Very comfy bed. My only complaint is it got a bit hot in the evenings. There was a ceiling fan and AC; however, I would have preferred to open a window. The problem is the main windows of the room face the street and the outside shutters are closed at night for safety.

The staff was just amazing. Incredibly helpful, always available to answer questions and give recommendations.

Breakfast in the morning was superb. Seated in the courtyard under a trellis with grape vines; overlooking the beautiful pool. Huge plate of the fresh fruit with amazing variety, yoghurt, homemade muesli, and a full cooked breakfast of your choice. Coffee served in a cafetiere.

Other perks: free mini-bar stocked daily, fresh fruit, free laundry service, great Charlotte Rhys products in the bath.

Location was perfect. Walking distance to the main road in Franschhoek. Excellent for enjoying a fabulous meal and wine and having a leisurely stroll back in the evening. Restaurants we'd recommend: top choice was Ryan's Kitchen. Fab show kitchen where you watch the chef and his crew cook your dinner. Food was superb. Le Bon Vivant was another excellent meal. Very large outdoor area, perfect for a dinner under the stars. Staff was not as great as Ryan's, but the food was still top. Tokara - this is a wine estate with a fantastic restaurant. We went here for lunch. Pricey for SA for lunch, but food was amazing and very well presented. On a nice day, the view off the deck is just beautiful. I would not recommend going to the Tasting Room at Le Quartier Français. While the service was impeccable, I thought the tasting menu and wine pairing was quite pricey for what you received. The theme of using traditional South African cooking methods and ingredients was very well explained and presented; however, some of the dishes just did not meet up to the standards I would expect of a top 50 restaurant in the world. Save yourself quite a bit of money and go to Ryans or Tokara.

It's a bit pricey, but worth it... one of the highlights of our trip :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reneereynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkaFhk, Owner at Akademie Street Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2011

Thank you for this nice review.

We do not shut the shutters on this suite for safety reasons. It is to give the occupants some more protection from the street lights in the road. There are burglar bars on the windows in question and there is no reason why they could not have slept with the windows open and the curtains drawn had they so chosen. So thank you for a good and useful suggestion. We will in future point out to guests in that suite the purpose of the shutters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Very charming houses in old Dutch Cape style as accommodation. Lovely garden area. Staff is incredible: very friendly, informative and helpful. Breakfast is too die for, they make use of fresh local ingredients and herbs.

Room Tip: Book early
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boeddhie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Visited Akademie St. with our two young children in March 2011 and had a wonderful time. Well appointed historic houses provide very comfortable and private acommodation in a quiet street just a couple of minutes walk from the cetre of Franschhoek. The owners could not have been more welcoming or helpful and the breakfasts were excellent. All round, hard to beat.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mxgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews