We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place - but disappointing”
Review of Mont Rochelle

Mont Rochelle
Book In Advance
More Info
$108.27*
and up
Full-Day Winelands Tour with Tastings from Cape Town
Ranked #16 of 55 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed November 19, 2007

We spent 2 nights at the hotel. The location and views are spectacular and our suite was beautiful. But we wouldn't really recommend it. 4 years ago this was the best hotel in the area and having visited for lunch we vowed to go and stay some time. But its changed hands and standards have slipped.

The service was fine, but went through the motions rather than feeling genuine. The wine is best avoided - pop to Graham Beck or another good estate and buy your own! And over all it just felt a bit like all the boxes had been ticked to meet certain standards but it had no personality.

The restaurant, however, was the most disappointing and very over priced. We tried the taster menu but whilst some dishes were good, it simply wasn't of the standard to have a taster menu. And combined with that dreary wine - a big thumbs down - especially with so many fabulous restaurants near by.

Overall - it's not cheap and we couldn't help but feel that there is much better out there.

.

1  Thank PippaandMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 115 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2007

We were a little apprehensive prior to staying at Mont Rochelle in March due to the mixed reviews on the forum. However we experienced top service, food and glorious views of the surrounding Franschoek valley.

The manager (Thierry) could not have been more helpful and made every effort to ensure our stay (honeymoon) was memorable. The small things were done well, from the one to one guided tour of the vineyard to the availability of mountain bikes for use and booking of restaurants in town - not to mention the sprinkling of rose petals on the bed every night!

A great place and by far the best views in Franschoek.

Thank willowEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2007

I stayed at Mont Rochelle in early February and it was fabulous. My room in the original part of the building overlooked the stunning Franschhoek Valley and had its own plunge pool. Really friendly staff as well. I had dinner outside and the meal got better and better as it went on. If you want to be slightly away from the madding crowds in Franschhoek and you like good food and great views, Mont Rochelle is for you.

Thank njb2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017
Google Translation

Thank mesopedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Simone E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginLimitedEdition, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mont Rochelle also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Mont Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing