We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek
Ranked #32 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“love this place”
Reviewed March 7, 2008

We loved Residence Kein.
I was shocked to read all the bad reviews on the place.We have been coming back for 4 years,had our wedding here with friends and family 4 years ago.Dalvin arranged our whole wedding, and this was the best day of our life.Since then we cannot think of a holiday in South-Africa with out staying here.Nothing is ever to much for her ant the team and planning your day to advice on beauti treadments for my lady's she knows just where to sent you.

Breakfast was supurp!!The most friendly staff and every thing is being served with a smile.We will come back this time for 2 weeks.

We stayed over in all 4 off these more expansive rooms, but we love the Elephant suite with private pool.

We now did meat the new owner and she is energetic and lovely.We loved the Italian food she cooked for us in the evening.It was very romantic just the two off us on the candle light veranda with the most fantastic mountain views.We also loved all the new changes she did to the guesthouse.

Yes I will defenetely recommend this place!!!!

  • Liked — the personal attention
  • Disliked — no telephone in rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank desiree_abrahams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    58
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
33
152
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lemonade74
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2008

Our experience of the service at this hotel was nothing short of awful. This is almost certainly because the hotel is under new ownership (for at least the last month or so).

Despite having made a reservation six months in advance, on arrival we were not given the room that we had booked - our confirmation specified a room with twin beds but were shown to a double. When this was pointed out (in a non confontational manner) the owner suggested that we should find somewhere else to stay! As we had been driving all day to get there it was 7pm when we arrived so this wasnt an option. After some intense negotiation eventually they agreed to put a camp bed in the room for us. Reluctantly we had to accept this was all the help we were going to get.

We then asked for a dinner reservation at the associated Bouillabaise restaurant. We felt that this was the least they might be able to do for us - but again they refused to accomodate us.

The breakfast the following morning was also poor - 2 thin rashers of streaky bacon and some 'factory' bread certainly did not meet our expectations!

Because of this appalling welcome we spent the next day of our holiday forced to find alternative accommodation. We found somewhere else with the help of the local tourist information (who were great), and returned to Klein Oliphants to check out. On top of all this they then expected us to pay the full bill!

I would strongly suggest that anyone thinking of staying here finds an alternative - there are a number of other exceptionally good guest houses in Franschhoek.

  • Disliked — Appalling customer service
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemonade74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2008

I wouldn’t stay here again and I wouldn’t recommend it.

I was expecting a luxury guest house and it was an average B&B at best.

We stayed 3 nights in the Classroom – a good size room with a good size bathroom. The décor was nothing special but not offensive. What was offensive was that the whole room smelt overwhelmingly of blocked drains.

I asked the management to do something about the smell. They tried – we noticed a loo block appeared the next day. It didn’t do any good and they didn’t bother checking with us whether or not the problem had been resolved to our satisfaction.

Another annoyance was the corrugated iron roof being beaten by the branches of a tree in the wind … the persistent loud clonking doesn’t make for a good nights’ sleep.

Service was a foreign concept. I went to the front desk 4 times during our 3 day stay – only once could I find a member of staff. When we checked out, we were told to write down our details as there was no one available to settle the bill with us! And when we asked about the 'fine dining' restuarant the staff didn't even know it was closed on Sunday evening! The restaurant is in town, not attached to the hotel, and is well regarded but we didn't eat there on the basis that if the restaurant was managed even half as badly as the hotel we probably wouldn't enjoy it.

The place felt tired and dated. The bathroom for example had yellowing grout between the tiles, and there was a dark black line of mould along the seal around the sink where the housemaids haven’t cleaned properly over a long period of time.

Sunbathing by the pool, we noticed that the pool area looked like it hadn’t been given a good sweep for quite a while – big cobwebs sticking to the plant pots and piles of debris in corners, blown there by the wind.

So, with the clonking roof, stinking drains, general uncleanliness, and non-existent service it didn’t make for a great experience.

An overall yuck and this is the last time I want to think about the place.

  • Liked — Location - it's a short walk into town
  • Disliked — Dirty, smelly, noisy and no service
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CWYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We decided to spend a few days in Franschhoek before going on to Cape Town for Xmas.
We booked Residence Klein Oliphants having read the reviews, and were delighted with it the moment we arrived. It is a lovely building with a beautiful garden and we were made to feel very welcome.
We had a wonderful room which opened on to a small private courtyard and a very nice bathroom with a large walk-in shower. There were lots of complimentary touches in our room including a decanter of port which was always a nice end to the evening. Breakfast was very tasty and always served with a smile.
There are some wonderful restaurants in Franschhoek and I can recommend Boullabaise, which belongs to the owners of Resdience Klein Oliphants. It wasn't on our list of restaurants to visit however, I'm very pleased that we did so. It has a lovely relaxed, informal feel and the food is excellent.
Our stay at Residence Klein Oliphants was the perfect beginning to our holiday and helped to set the tone for the remainder of it.. We definitely hope to return.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2007

My wife and I were recommended this B&B by someone on a travel website I use regularly. We were looking for somewhere local and with character and Klein Oliphants Hoek fitted the bill wonderfully. We had arrived from Cape Town Airport off the back of an overnight flight from London and they were happy to let us have our room early (around 9am) even though I was only looking to leave our luggage inside. They even gave us some drinks outside on the back porch while it was prepared.

As we had booked fairly late only the 'lowest' category of room was available but it was great nonetheless. Up on the top floor with a skylight window and lots of character, nice big bathroom and the room was spacious too.

KOH is ideally located for a short walk into the middle of Franschhoek and we walked out there for lunch. We asked staff about recommendations for a vineyard visit which they helped out with (Mont Rochelle) and also a restaurant recommendation since the renowned chef who cooks in house was fully booked. We found them to be very helpful, however, this was back in Feb '06.

Breakfast the next morning was idyllic, superb weather, great views and good food too.

My parents stayed here earlier in 2007 and said that the service wasn't quite what they were hoping and it seems (as others have mentioned) that the property is up for sale. Either way, when we stayed we were very happy!

  • Liked — Loads of character, friendly staff, magnificent location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OP2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2007

I have mixed feelings about the Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek after staying there for two nights last week.

The location of the hotel is great and it has a wonderful garden. The room we stayed in (the Elephant Suite) was very nice: beautifuly decorated and maintained.

BUT, the service was stand-offish, the breakfast was poor and the atmosphere in the hotel was non-existant.

Out of all of the places I stayed during a fantastic SA holiday, this was my least favourite. It is a great pity as these are all issues which could be easily resolved.

The restaurant of the hotel owners (Boullabaise) was heaving advertised in the hotel. It seems to me that the owners have forgotten about the Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek and are focussing on their new venture. Unfortunately, the impact is really evident for their customers!

  • Liked — High quality of room
  • Disliked — Staff, service level, charging for internet
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Emba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 668 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2007

We really enjoyed our stay here: very tastefully furnished room, nice pool, lovely breakfast on the veranda and a location close to everything. Minor flaws: rather impersonal staff (perhaps due to soon-to-come sale of the property) and some mold in the bathroom.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Impersonal atmosphere
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Petit Paris Guest House
Le Petit Paris Guest House
#11 of 63 in Franschhoek
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Ballon Rouge
Le Ballon Rouge
#19 of 63 in Franschhoek
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Corner House
The Corner House
#15 of 63 in Franschhoek
336 reviews
0.0 mi away
Centre-Ville Guest House
Centre-Ville Guest House
#26 of 63 in Franschhoek
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#8 of 63 in Franschhoek
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek

Property: Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek
Address: 14 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet position in the heart of the historic winelands village of Franschhoek, South Africa, Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek is the perfect place to relax after a day of wine-tasting, haute cuisine, mountain hiking or browsing antique shops and art galleries. At Klein Oliphants Hoek, history and a sophisticated modern life-style go hand in hand: the guesthouse is a renovated mission post & school,Built in 1888 and much of the antique and old-time chic has been kept. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Klein Oliphants Hoek Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing