We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views”
Review of Dieu Donne

Dieu Donne
Book In Advance
More Info
$77.19*
and up
Private Tour: Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Paarl Wine-Tasting Tour from Cape...
Ranked #16 of 60 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Walsall
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Visited this vineyard for a tasting. Wines were OK but nothing special. We also ordered two cheeseboards to accompany the wine tasting and they were very good. Views out across the valley are superb. Other than the cheeseboards we never ate here so cannot comment on other food or service. Well worth a visit for a tasting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank StevieH110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    64
    21
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fabulous view but worst service ever”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

The view is amazing - looking across the valley with a ring of mountains in the distance.
A coach party arrived at the same time as us (to an almost empty restaurant at this stage) and we then sat for 70 minutes watching them all get served with both their starter and main course.
How can you run a restaurant that cares so little and cannot organise itself properly? Shows their priorities.
Only by starting to walk out did we manage to get some food - which we ate a little of (as we were so hungry by then) and left.
The view is fabulous, the food is ok and the organisation is terrible - avoid.

Helpful?
Thank Me99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittlesea, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“20 - 30 -50”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

When the missus approached her 50th birthday she also achieved 20 years of residency in South Africa and 30 years of marriage. YEP! All three major life markers in ONE YEAR!!! If you're gonna do a t-shirt in a single life then 20 - 30 - 50 has to be the occasion. There were guests from the USA and from RSA for the ultimate celebratory evening! WHERE? You guessed it!!! Dieu Donne, Franschhoek!!! The venue was chosen well in advance because the vantage point, the restaurant, and the ideal Franschhoek spot for sundowners is all found at Dieu Donne!!! I'm not saying you need to save it for that once in a lifetime T-shirt occasion as Dieu Donne can transform the ordinary occasion into something special. Find your way up to the vine line and enjoy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingWriter001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Both the view and the food are superb. Service a little slow, but very friendly. They bought water for the dogs, were accomodating when one of the party added to their order, and answered questions with patience and a smile. Very reasonable prices for such quality. (Approx. ZAR 250 p.p with wine, no desert). A great location for body and soul!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank saritrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandgate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding venue for a wedding!!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We attended a friends wedding here and I must say it was up there with one of the best wedding locations we have ever been to (and we've been to alot!) Views to take your breath away, great set-up with different areas for each part of the day; ceremony, drinks, photos, meal, dancing etc. - all with a stunning backdrop of the valley. The food was excellent and they accommodated a range of different dietary requests without any issue. I understand from the bride that there had been a few wedding planners at the venue who came and went during the year she was organising the event, which wasn't ideal for her having to re-communicate everything each time. However, on the day itself this wasn't apparent and everything seemed to go without hitch. Staff were all very professional, yet friendly too. Plenty of accommodation in the area for guests. I would rate this highly for anyone looking to get married, have a party or celebrate a special occasion in South Africa.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MMJB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dieu Donne also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Dieu Donne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing