We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite restaurants ever!”
Review of Chamonix

Chamonix
Ranked #35 of 59 things to do in Franschhoek
Attraction details
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of my favourite restaurants ever!”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Fantastic food as always. The only downside is that the restaurant has been moved so you don't have the beautiful view which you had from the old restaurant but still a lovely experience.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    24
    21
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Pleasant vineyard and nice red wine”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Very pleasant vineyard and 5 mins from main street in Franschhoek

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
5,657 reviews
3,666 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12,120 helpful votes
“Wine was good, not amazing. The Schnapps was very enjoyable.”
Reviewed March 5, 2011

This was the second stop on our wine touring day near CPT. This winery is much smaller and offered a more personal experience. We liked the wines but not as much as those tasted at Fairview earlier in the day. However, the (fruit) Schnapps were really nice. Conducting our tasting in the small cellar area made for great atmosphere.

Note: We didn't love any of the wines so didn't buy any. Would have bought the schnapps but were a bit afraid of the effects it might have on the rest of our day!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place for wine/schnapps/grappa tasting”
Reviewed February 11, 2011

This was a great place for wine tasting, but they also make grappa and schnapps - all pretty good. The staff was awesome and very friendly.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank pilsen_pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice setting - self contained cottages”
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Stayed at Chamonix for a few nights in March 2009.
Great location 2km from town.
We had a 2 bedroom cottage with lounge, dining area and kitchen with a lovely view of the wine farm and mountains from the verandah.
Great way to relax in a beautiful part of the world. We felt safe here.
No public transport nearby, so you need a car.
Rustic rather than plush.

Helpful?
1 Thank TouringClancys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chamonix also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Chamonix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing