We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting and good wines!”

Haute Cabriere Tasting Room
Book In Advance
More Info
$154.67*
and up
Guided Wine Lands Day Tour from Cape Town
Ranked #13 of 54 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated on the slopes of the Franschhoek Mountains, Haute Cabriere – The Home of Pierre Jourdan - specialises in still wines and Cap Classiques produced exclusively from Chardonnay and Pinot Noir. The Tasting Room offers visitors a personal introduction to its wines through cellar tours and tastings, in English, Afrikaans, Geman or French. Next door, Haute Cabriere Restaurant treats guests to the “True Marriage of Food and Wine” with a menu that revolves around the family-owned estate’s wines.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

If you enjoy wine tasting in a beautiful setting with no crowds then this is a great place. We were there in May which is the beginning of fall. The leaves were starting to turn and the view from the winery is gorgeous. We were so impressed with the lack of crowds at all the wineries we visited, makes the experience something to savor. We had some light snacks to go with the wines and had a great time. Highly recommended.

Thank Brook B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauteCabriere, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Tasting Room, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2014

Hi Brook,

Thank you for visiting us and your kind words. Autumn/Fall is a lovely time to visit as you say you can see the seasons changing and the visitors are a great deal less than in Summer. But busy or not we are very lucky to have these spectacular views across the Franschhoek Valley. Thanks again and look forward to welcoming you to Haute Cabriere on your next visit to South Africa.

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 147 of 255 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

If you have Haute Cabriere on your list of places to visit in Franschhoek WELL DONE. The Farm itself and the building and Cellars are well worth seeing, absolutely beautiful and shows off the passion of a man who loves creating great wine and "champagne". The restaurant has the most wonderfully prepared and presented meals and the taste is unbelievable. I would rate it only behind The Tasting Room. A MUST is to have a Cellar Tour with Archim von Arnim himself, it's like no other wine tour you would have been on, full of life stories, humour and amazing historical knowledge of wine and the area, and if he does the Sabrage so much better. Haute Cabriere..can't wait to visit again

Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauteCabriere, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Tasting Room, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Hi Russell,

Thank you so much for the review and your kind words. We take great pride in what we do and constantly strive to improve ourselves to ensure all visitors receive the same experience as you did. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I had a group in Cape Town from the USA and they wanted to experience a proper wine tasting experience, with cellar, wine and off course a champaigne taste and off course a little show of how to pop a bottle with a sword! They surely delivered on all the aspects of what i have booked and we had the owner herself doing the tour and we all loved it!

Thank Hank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauteCabriere, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Tasting Room, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Hi Hank,

So glad to hear that you and your group thoroughly enjoyed your visit to us as it's always wonderful to hear a visitors experience both from our local and international guests alike. We look forward to seeing you here again soon and perhaps joining us to experience our culinary delights.

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Good price for tasting various wines and has become my top favourite for Chardonnay. However one point to make the wine is slightly more expensive than buying from a retail store (Woolworth's), which is surprising. It is a wine farm therefore should be cheaper than the stores.
Other than that fantastic experience and breathtaking views. I would definitely revisit when I come back to Cape Town.

Thank rosied20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauteCabriere, General Manager at Haute Cabriere Tasting Room, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear rosied20,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that our Chardonnay Pinot Noir is amongst your favourite wines. Just on your comment on pricing: Upon closer investigation you will actually find that most wine farms charge more for their wines on the farm compared to a retailer – simply because the experience is just so much richer. Where do you find a retail store with such an amazing setting and views, a place to sit outside in the sun overlooking the Franschhoek valley, a host of highly educated, dedicated and friendly staff to explain the wines to you, tell you about our history, show you the wine cellar, carry your wine to your car, give you advise on where to go for lunch… etc.? We believe that we offer something very special at Haute Cabriere – and we do not consider ourselves as competing with a normal retailer. Also, what you are referring to is an exception rather than the rule – normally our wines are priced very much in line with the rest of the market.

See you again soon!

Kind regards
Christiane von Arnim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Don't you hate it when you come back from somewhere and someone always says, "you should have done this!"?
Me, too.

BUT...
You should have done this!

We went to several wineries in Stellenbosch and Franschoek and this was - hands down - our favorite. And I know this is a little mean, but we didn't like any of the other wines we tasted - some were drinkable, but not worth a visit.
Our tasting at Haute Cabriere included six wines with generous pours, excellent service for a ludicrously cheap but awesome 40 Rand per person ( about $4).

They started us off with a Brut. Usually the first wine at a tasting is kind of scary and mediocre at best, but, holy cow!, I would easily give this a 95. An excellent start.

Then, a Blush...which for me always translates to a Blecch...and this was no exception. But, remember I said ALWAYS, so I don't think that I'm a fair judge.

We rated two of the other wines a 90 and 95 - one of which was a straight Pinot Noir. I say this because it is DAMN hard for me to like a straight Pinot...it has to be close to perfect. Well done!

We're Americans with a moderately sophisticated palate who love wine and have been to France, Germany, Napa, Sonoma and Santa Barbara (Sideways, yeah!), but it is EXTREMELY hard to get either my wife or I to rate any wine a 90 or better, so this was an exceptional tasting!

And, wait...there's more!!!

God, himself, came and kissed this mountainside and the valley with a natural beauty rarely seen. Just up the road a little ways from the winery is the Franschoek Pass, which is poorly named considering that no person with a soul could pass without stopping and taking in a scene that is a perfectly blended meritage of Napa hillsides, Colorado valleys and, believe it or not, the vertically ridged and dramatic Kailua side of the mountain spine in Oahu.
Now, after that heartfelt (and accurate) description of Haute Cabriere and its nearby view, if you are anywhere near Cape Town, this IS an absolute must!
You can thank me later.

Thank drcettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HauteCabriere, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Tasting Room, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi drcettie,

Thank you so much for not only taking the time to visit us but for posting this lovely review. I'll make sure the staff in the Tasting Room are made aware of your kind words. We look forward to being one of the first places you visit next time you visit South Africa and next time you should stay and enjoy our restaurant overlooking the Franschhoek Valley below.

Kind regards,
The Haute Cabriere Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haute Cabriere Tasting Room also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Groot Drakenstein, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Haute Cabriere Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing