We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food but the Restaurant is Stuffy Beyond Belief”

Haute Cabriere Tasting Room
Book In Advance
More Info
$157.54*
and up
Guided Wine Lands Day Tour from Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 58 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated on the slopes of the Franschhoek Mountains, Haute Cabriere – The Home of Pierre Jourdan - specialises in still wines and Cap Classiques produced exclusively from Chardonnay and Pinot Noir. The Tasting Room offers visitors a personal introduction to its wines through cellar tours and tastings, in English, Afrikaans, Geman or French. Next door, Haute Cabriere Restaurant treats guests to the “True Marriage of Food and Wine” with a menu that revolves around the family-owned estate’s wines.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Delicious Food but the Restaurant is Stuffy Beyond Belief”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We ate here for lunch and I've never felt more uncomfortable in a restaurant. The food was genuinely spectacular, but the self-satisfied air of the staff and the feel of the place means it's not relaxing. La Petite Ferme further up the road is a country mile more enjoyable - with food that's equal or better.

I would also warn you that they 'decorated' a desert with nuts but did not indicate in the menu this was a dish that had nuts on. Consequently, as my partner is allergic to nuts, we were forced to finish our meal ten minutes apart, with very little apology offered.

Imagine a place where Piers Morgan is the target customer.....this is it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank nvarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin494, Public Relations Manager at Haute Cabriere Tasting Room, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Sir,

We are sorry to hear that your experience at Haute Cabrière was not what you expected. Our destination prides itself in creating what we call the “true marriage of food and wine” - which is meant to be a joyful and fun-filled event. Wine is about sharing, entertaining and relaxing, so we would like to extend our invitation to you to visit us again when you are in Franschhoek so that we can show you a different side to the experience, which will be more in line with the true reflection of Haute Cabrière's philosophy.

Regarding your comment about the indication of allergens (specifically nuts) on the menu: This is something we do take very seriously, and we subsequently have cross-checked all our menu items to see whether they are accurately reflected on the menu. It turned out are all correctly specified, so it may have been that the notice was not clear enough. As a consequence, we have changed the layout of our menu to improve the visibility of dishes that contain nuts, and/or dishes that are vegetarian.

We hope to welcome you at Haute Cabrière again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ryan Shell
(Head Chef)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    81
    24
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Haute Cabriere.....Must not Miss!!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wife loves Haute Cabriere Cardonnay Pinot Noir, so we took a trip out to Franschhoek via the Franschhoek pass(amazing pass not to be missed while visiting Franschhoek) to find this magical estate. Hidden in the mountain side in specially built underground cellars, this is a unique estate with spectacular views of Franschhoek. The Sparkling wines are of high standards and service is professional and of a joyous nature. Do not miss out on this Estate while visiting Franschhoek!! Cellar tour and restuarant were closed because of public holiday and the restuarant is closed on Mondays. So we shall return for the tour and dinning experience in the near future.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Saturday Night Diner and Monday Wine tasting”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a beautiful venue and an exquisite dinner venue! Situated on the side of the Franschhoek mountain, just off of the pass, sits this awesome stone and cement cellar. Do yourself a favour and partake in the winetasting on offer. Such knowleable staff and a totally relaxed atmosphere, no rush just relaxed attention to detail. The main restaurant is adjacent to the wine cellar and is so worth a visit if Fine Dining is your thing... Dont forget to leave with a bottle or two of their Haute Cabriere Pinot Nior 2008 !!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cellar Tour was great!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We took an 11am cellar tour at Haute Cabriere and it was the perfect start to our day in Franschhoek. A great tour with good explanations - never felt rushed and a learned a lot. Ended with a wonderful tasting and out tour guide even sabered a bottle of methode cap clasique for us to watch and then taste. At only $12 or so for both of us this was a great value, too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Reeds_Around_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional location,wine and experience”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

From arrival to departure all the staff were extremely friendly and passionate about the estate. We started with a sparkling wine tasting to begin with which took place in a gorgeous open stone room, following this we had Sunday lunch in the restaurant next door in front of an open fire. The food and service in the restuarant was 5star. Would Hugh,y recommend for both wine tasting and lunch/dinner.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Couple88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haute Cabriere Tasting Room also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Haute Cabriere Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing