We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtakingly beautiful”

Grand Provence Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
$146.91*
and up
Full-Day Private Food and Wine Tour in Franschhoek
More Info
$146.91*
and up
Private Foodie Tour in Franschhoek from Cape Town
Ranked #9 of 59 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Winery, restaurant, and art gallery.
Port Elizabeth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breathtakingly beautiful”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The art at Grand Provence was magnificent, of the best artists in South Africa were featured and of their best works were on display. The sculpture garden alone is worth a visit. The lunch was exceptional, service of a high standard and the wine was sublime.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BelvedereCottages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    92
    44
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

A smaller, less factory-like wine producer with the most beautifully kept gardens I have seen in decades, bejewelled with statues and water features, this place is a delight

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lobbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“lovely grounds good wine”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

grounds were fantastic. lot of interesting art. The wine tasting was nice as well - run by south african gentleman who had been on the premises for about 8yrs. Quality was good for the wines.

grounds themselves were interesting - always interesting to see the background of the families who owned the business. Would see it again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank NYReliable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No service at all. Disgusting attitude.”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We visited this place to taste wine. The grounds are impressive and it looked like a nice venue. Unfortunately we were completely ignored when we went in. Another party entering just behind us was served immediately. We waited for over 10 minutes, sitting in the centre of the bar in front of the staff, who deliberately avoided eye contact throughout this time. Another party arrived and were served instantly, right next to us. At this point we left.
Discriminated against, no idea why. In case you're wondering, I was wearing Ralph Lauren and a genuine Tag Heuer watch, and carrying a wallet full of UK sterling, ready to buy. It makes no sense why we were deliberated shunned, it's not something I'm used to, but their loss for being totally stuck up and rude. There are plenty of better places around so there was no need for us to stay. Weird though.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Testing12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Gorgeous winery and top in service”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My review is overdue but I had to write it after I just opened our 1997 Grande Provence red varietal that we had stored for one year. The wine was simply exquisite and it brought back such fond memories of our day trip to the winelands. We visited last October, had a fabulous tasting and we were sold on the Grande Provence to bring back to the US with us. We took a day tour with a small company to visit five wineries and this was by far our favorite. Highly recommend. I included a picture of our wine back in the US and it was worth the wait!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DallasFashionista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Provence Estate also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Grand Provence Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing