We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stay in Franschhoek”
Review of Lekkerwijn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lekkerwijn
Ranked #16 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect stay in Franschhoek”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We only had a short stay at Lekkerwijn, but we enjoyed it a lot! As my husband and I were travelling with our two little sons, we were offered the separate cottage which was perfect for our family. The cottage was spacious, very well equipped and had full self-catering facilities.
The guesthouse itself is an old Cape Dutch homestead and when you enter the house, it feels like entering a living museum. Simon gave us a very interesting tour through the whole house and explained us a lot about the family history, which was present in every little corner.
All staff were very friendly and helpful, so that we found it very homely and welcoming.
Especially for families with children I think Lekkerwijn is the best place to stay in Franchhoek, as it really has more than enough space to play and run around. The garden is enormous and they also have a little animal farm, with goats, pigs, horses, rabbits, cats & dogs. The children loved it! And we were pleased to have a nice long breakfast while the kids were busy playing in the play room and feeding the rabbits – both supervised by a superfriendly nanny.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    77
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
99
101
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We (my Italian husband and in-laws) had a lovely stay at this tranquil, romantic and authentic bed and breakfast situated in an original farm-style, Cape-Dutch home, filled with original furniture and charming touches. The hosts (Simon, Wendy, Ross) were extremely kind, well-informed about the area and its offers, and eager to make our stay in the valley unforgettable. We felt warmly welcomed and thoroughly enjoyed their hospitality. As a de Villiers-girl, i wanted to show my in-laws a part of our family roots, and our hosts truly went out of their way to share many special stories about the home and its history. The garden and property is well-maintained and the peacocks are a delight. The breakfast is scrumpteous and freshly prepared on request by the friendly and attentive kitchen-staff. We have been back for a second stay on a return trip, and will gladly do so again in future. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermariBianchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

My husband and I along with our friends stayed at Lekkerwijn in February. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Simon who couldn.t have been more welcoming. We felt at home straight away. After we settled into our rooms a pot of tea was waiting for us in the lovely courtyard. Before we went out to dinner wine was served again in the courtyard. Our hosts Simon and Ross were so warm and interesting to talk to. They were always on hand if needed and couldn't do enough for you. As it is a good way out of Franshoek, transport is provided to and from restaurants at a very reasonable rate. As two couples we shared Owls Corner which consisted of two good sized rooms sharing a shower room. All amenities we needed,hairdryers,good hanging space,comfy beds. Not 5 star luxury but very comfortable and clean. The house is wonderful,you could feel the history of the place. Breakfast was served at a communal table by two delightful ladies. A great way to start the day chatting to other guests. We would definitely stay here again and would certainly recommend Lekkerwijn.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracys123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I spent a weekend at Lekkerwijn with my partner, my two-month old and my father - we wanted to offer him a truly South African experience in his first visit to the country. But we also needed a place that could accommodate a baby.... Lekkerwijn more than exceeded our expectations! The house transported us to the 19th century; bobotie for supper was a lekker intro to Cape Malay cuisine; he beautiful surroundings provided for a great sunset walking experience and Simon and Ross made every effort to make us feel comfortably at home but extraordinarily pampered...! (our bedroom, specially catered for families, had an adjacent little room where mom could feed baby without disturbances....).
HIghly recommendable!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElenaMancebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Spent 4 glorious days at lekkerwijn in early january. The perfect base for exploring the franschhoek valley and surrounding winelands. The owners were so friendly, accommodating and helpful. So much immaculate advice we barely had to do anything. All wine tasting, lunches and evening meals were advised and booked for us. Perfect whether you're fresh off the plane with winter colds as we were or tanned and travel hardened after a fortnight in SA.

They know the valley, listen to their advice!

Breakfasts were amazing and served in the gorgeous historic dining room by a wonderful chef.

A beautiful historic house in a perfect position in the wonderful Franschhoek valley.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We first visited Lekkerwijn 7 years ago for an overnight stay, that was when we fell in love with it's amazing surroundings, beautiful location and friendly hosts. We then moved to the Netherlands and 6 years later we started planning our wedding, we had some difficulties finding a romantic, peaceful and elegant location. Thanks to a friend who told us that Lekkerwijn started hosting weddings we knew that we found the perfect place for a memorable day. This was it.

We started to arrange everything for the big day by phoning and emailing with the owners of Lekkerwijn. Not only did they supply us with the venue, but also helped us with finding a great wedding planner. On the 28th of December 2011, our day was finally there. We got married in a little chapel on a vineyard 500 meters away from Lekkerwijn and had the reception and dinner at Lekkerwijn. Everything was just perfect. All planned well, looked stunning. It was a dream come true. We will remember Lekkerwijn and Simon and Ross forever. We are so grateful for everything they did for us.

Thanks and love,

Marnix and Monique

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2012

As a family with little children, it is often a challenge in accomodating us all! At Lekkerwijn, we shared a delightful weekend for the whole family on their beautiful and tranquil estate! From enjoying a relaxing swim, a cold glass of the neighbouring wine, visiting the farm animals and getting to know the homes pets... in all our stay was comfortable and both Ross and Simon were there to assist. The home style breakfasts and meals on order, had an added special touch of love! Thank you and hoping to see you all very soon again! The Maxwell Familyx

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
8.5 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#5 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
2.3 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#11 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
9.3 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#17 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
8.6 mi away
Le Ballon Rouge
Le Ballon Rouge
#21 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
8.4 mi away
Calais Guest House
Calais Guest House
#25 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lekkerwijn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lekkerwijn

Property: Lekkerwijn
Address: Lekkerwijn | R45, Franschhoek 7680, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lekkerwijn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Lekkerwijn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing