We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, friendly staff”
Review of Mont Rochelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mont Rochelle
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, friendly staff”
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We throughly enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is in a beautiful setting, but still close to the town (about a 10-15 minute scenic walk) Great food and lovely outdoor dining for dinner. Spacious rooms, beautifully decorated with friendly staff. Perhaps slightly over-priced. Would definitely recommend...........

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGemma2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    86
    30
    19
    5
See reviews for
64
353
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

A hotel the was beautifully set, clean, quiet, friendly, helpful ......
The staff go out of their way to meet your every requirement, be it a restaurant booking, being droped or pickled up at a restaurant or any other little request. The pool is lovely, the athmosphere in the hotel great.
Will definaly go back and can only recommend if you are getting out to a quite break!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usersa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Staff in Mont Rochelle were very friendly and helpful. We were met at our car and brought into a the lounge to a lovely wood burning fire. Our room was lovely and spacious but we did find a good few ants in the room. Food was lovely and manager organised an excellent tour of 3 vineyards. We would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennyp05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Mont Rochelle is a romantic idyll set amid some of South Africa's most beautiful scenery. Having arrived from Cape Town, we were looking forward to spending a few days unwinding in peaceful surroundings: we weren't disappointed. The hotel achieves that quiet 'middle-of-nowhere' feel, but in reality it's only a five minute drive from the amenities of Franschhoek town.

We found this small hotel to be in perfect condition; our room was spacious and well-equipped, and the grounds were meticulously cared for. The staff at the hotel's Country Kitchen Restaurant provided a hearty welcome and a fantastic meal. Breakfast was first-class, not least because it was served on the terrace overlooking the vineyards and nearby mountains.

We have no hesitation in recommending Mont Rochelle.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank im01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

My husband & I went to Mont Rochelle for his birthday and spent the night there. The welcome at the hotel by all teh staff was brilliant and we were given a complimentory glass of bubbles while we check in. We were also upgraded by 2 rooms, which was a massive vineyard room overlooking the mountains and the vineyards and whole of Franscchoek.

We were shown everything around the hotel, and the hotel and rooms are beautifully located. The manager told us that our reservation at the Country Kitchen (the hotel's more informal day restaurant) is waiting for us, and that we can take our time checking in. Lunch at the Country Kitchen was wonderful with beautiful views (again). The manageress even came over and wished my husband happy birthday and asked if everything was ok. We then went on to have a wonderful conversation with her. After the languid lunch we returned to our massive room.

Before dinner even the jacuzzi was put on for us to use at our own discretion. The evening dinner in Mange Tout is wonderful with the best service and most exquisite food. Everything about this restaurant impressed us. The nightly turn-down with all the amenities was in the room when we returned and we had a good night's rest in the king size bed.

Breakfast the following morning is also wonderful with everything to choose from. We had our fill of everything and ended it with a wonderful glass of bubbly on the terrace outside.

On checking out we received 2 complimentory bottles of wine from the estate to take home with us. Truly a wonderful touch

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitxcoac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
Dear Reviewer. The Team would like to thank you for your kind words and we are happy to hear that the Birthday Celebrations was better than expected! We believe every stay is a celebration and made it extra special due to the birthday shared with us. We hope the memories created will last a life time and the Team hope to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

I am from the Napa Valley and Franschhoek is better. Especially if you stay at this hotel. It is strategically situated to look at the entire "corner" - a 180 degree view from the dining room. The people could not be nicer, but that is true in all of South Africa. This is not a third world country! It rivals anything in France for the US for fine hotels and dining.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Dear Reviewer

The Team would like to thank you for your kind words and we are very happy to hear that your stay with us was so fantastic! We hope to be able to welcome you back very soon! Till the next time, thank you and great travels!

Kind regards
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The staff were more than happy to make fresh meals for our son who was being weaned at the time. Would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwicksLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_8, General Manager at Mont Rochelle, responded to this review, May 12, 2010
Dear Reviewer

The Team would like to thank you for your kind words and we are glad to hear that your time spent with us was fantastic. We consider all our Guests as Family, hence You & Your Family are a part of the Team. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Thank you
Kind regards
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.0 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.8 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Property: Mont Rochelle
Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mont Rochelle is Sir Richard Branson's stunning 22-bedroom hotel and vineyard just under an hour's drive from Cape Town in the town of Franschhoek in South Africa. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 22 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and two new restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing