We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views!”
Review of Mont Rochelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mont Rochelle
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2008

We spent three nights at Mont Rochelle in October 2008. The hotel is located on a hill overlooking the valley, and the views are truly spectacular. We booked a pinotage suite and were very impressed by the room. It was quite large, with a lovely bathroom, two small balconies, lots of light and great views. Breakfasts on site were wonderful, both the buffet and hot options. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant for dinner despite repeated offers from the staff, but only because we had just three nights in the area and had pre-selected some other restaurants we wanted to try. The grounds of the hotel were lovely and the pool area was nice, if fairly small. We also made use of the exercise facilities, which were great for a hotel of this size.

Our only complaint about the hotel was that the staff members apparently do not communicate very well with each other. While they were almost without exception exceedingly kind to us, there were two issues that were a bit frustrating. First, we had pre-booked a horseback wine tasting through the hotel (at their suggestion) over a month in advance, but when we inquired about it the evening we arrived we were told no arrangements had been made. The staff on duty the next morning offered to try and book for us (at that point it was a same day booking), but admonished us that we really should have booked in advance - a frustrating response when that is exactly what they were supposed to have done for us. They made the arrangements for us that afternoon, and when we arrived at the stables they were somewhat confused because it turned out the hotel had actually booked us twice, but apparently kept no record of having made the original booking! Aside from the hassles of booking, the ride and wine tastings were a lovely, unusual experience that we enjoyed very much. The second communication mishap occurred during check out. The evening before we asked the night staff if we could have a late checkout and we were told no problem, we just had to be out of the room by 1 pm. At about noon the morning staff member placed an irritated call to our room asking if they could please come help us with our bags. When I explained we were not ready yet because the evening staff approved a late check out until 1, she was audibly upset and told me a late check out was not possible. We rushed to get our things together (we were leaving for our flight home after 2 plus weeks away that evening and thus the packing was a bit of an ordeal) and when we checked out 15 minutes later, she was again very cold when we tried to explain that we cleared the late check out with the evening staff. There was no apology for the inconvenience or the miscommunication. Instead we were apologizing to her. It was a shame this happened as we left the hotel, because it marred what was otherwise a very nice stay. That said, if we return to Franschhoek we will most certainly stay at Mont Rochelle again, though we will be sure to re-confirm anything of importance communicated to us by a staff member.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandererz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (556)
There are newer reviews for Mont Rochelle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 556 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2008

We spent three nights here and enjoyed the town, the local restaurants and the vineyards. The hotel is lovely, as are the views. But there are some short comings. The pool is very cold, as another reviewer mentioned. We were their in the Fall and the days were warm and comfortable, but swimming was like being in the Arctic. The dining room is very posh, as are the meals. A bit too posh and formal for us, so we took the remainder of our meals at local restaurants. The 'spa' facilities also left much to be desired. The jacuzi was filled with cold water and broken and the sauna was under repair.
Now, all that being said, we still had a wonderful time. The hotel is part of a local vineyard that produces a lovely rose, which was delightful. The hostess was charming and appeared from time to time to ask if we needed anything. The hotel itself is lovely and the rooms were well appointed; comfortable beds, lovely linens and excellent climate control. The hotel vineyard isn't particularly special, but their menu is very good. All in all I would recommend the hotel, with a few reservations, as I've mentioned.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Havamal2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2008

Mont Rochelle is in a beautiful location just outside Franschhoek, with fabulous views over the valley. The food for breakfast was great, and we had dinner in both The Country Kitchen and Mange Tout, both of which we thought were excellent. The Mont Rochelle wine was great - in particular the Syrah. The staff were really friendly and helpful, even going as far as to run us into Franschhoek for dinner if they weren't busy. The third party car service that the hotel uses is just that - a car service, not a taxi service - which I think explains some of the comments about the cost of short trips in previous reviews. You definitely need to hire a car to get the most out of the area. Our room had a beautiful view and was nicely decorated and very comfortable but wasn't as 'stylish' as I understand some of the boutiquey Franschhoek hotels to be. The civilised, full service the hotel provides, along with the slightly removed location make it appealing to a slightly older crowd, which is worth bearing in mind. There is a small gym with a good range of equipment and the pool area is lovely, although it gets quite busy. We had a lovely stay and would recommend it to others as a good base for the area.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Katy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

My husband and I visited Franshoek and spent a short stay at the fabulous Mont Rochelle hotel. We cannot fault this hotel for anything! Everything from the warm welcome to taking care of every last detail of our stay was top class!! We had dinner at the Mange Tout restaurant and this too was excellent. The service, rooms, food, furnishings and oh most importantly wine from their own vineyards was fantastic. We highly recommend this hotel and will definately be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bwalya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights......2 nights too long! The hotel itself is in a fabulous location and by an large is a very nice building. The staff however and the general management of the hotel leaves a great deal to be desired. If you manage to find the hotel in the first place it's a miracle, there's no signage at all and we were just lucky that someone we stopped knew the hotel as another name! We knew it was going to be trouble when the staff were wearing bowler hats and looked absolutely ridiculous. Clearly the owner of this hotel has no experience of running one as the staff were incredibly starchy, unfriendly and very uptight. The duty manager showed us our room and expected us to gush that there were complimentary chocolates and underfloor heating (very handy when it's 36 degrees heat!) in the room. He and the other management staff seemed very tense and very unwelcoming. Having driven all day we decided to eat at the hotel restaurant that evening.....what a disaster. Nouvelle cusine finished 20 years ago, but not at the Mont Rochelle! A menu that was uninspiring and written to bamboozle. Servings were tiny and every course we had was covered in a foamy, frothy sauce (the chef obviously hasn't eaten anywhere 5* in the 20th or 21st century yet ).....quite revolting. The following morning we were further revolted by the breakfast buffet being a mass feeding ground for flies....we declined, but when mentioning how vile we found this to the manager on duty, he said they were having problems with flies and that they were getting some special chemical sprays in to kill them, but wouldn't affect the food (napalm?). It was only when we said that we found it disgusting and couldn't eat anything because of the flies that he started to understand our complaint.....still with a sweaty smile he apologised.
This hotel should start putting effort into five star service instead of pretencious staff. It could be really fabulous, but for us 1 out of ten.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank MWLANDSVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2007

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon tour of SA. It is such a beautiful part of the world - pity about the hotel.

Pool was beyond freezing and difficult to use even though it was Summer. Why can't it be heated? We sat at the pool for ages before someone came to take an order. Breakfast order was wrong on all three mornings of our stay. Then to top it all off I realised when we reached our next destination that we had been overcharged (they had added something onto the bill after we had checked it).

Food in the hotel was good but the restaurant lacked atmosphere when compared with gems such as the nearby Haut Cabriere. On the plus side was the lovely Italian pianist in the restaurant who was charming!

The most major problem with the hotel is the transfer scam that they run to other restaurants. You ask for a taxi and then they charge nearly £25 to take you half a mile in the hotel van! On the night they were taking us to Haut Cabriere another couple were leaving at the same time to go to the same place but they would not take us together. This is a scandal.

The hotel has obviously had a major set-back with the fire but it is not ready for the big time yet. The staff just don't seem to care.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank sue2334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2006

We stayed here for three days as part of our honeymoon. The hotel was quite new and all the fittings/furnishings were smart and clean. However, the staff were not overly friendly, I think the best description would be 'professional'. The hotel (and the staff) had a somewhat cold feel to it. It is set on a wine estate but better wine could be found elsewhere (a trip to Morson for lunch at Bread and Wine is definitely worth it). The hotel is also a short drive out of town and not really within walking distance. They do run a transfer service but the staff had very conflicting views as to when/why it was available. There are many hotels/B&B's in the town itself and with hindsight I wish we had stayed in the town. I know people who stayed at Plumwood Inn and we visited them on several occasions while we were there and you could do worse than to consider staying there (they were always really friendly and helpful). As we were on honeymoon we wanted a relaxed hotel where we could just 'chill out' and this was just too snobbish and cold. I would suggest trying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank millieduffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.8 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.0 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
1.0 mi away
Leeu Estates
Leeu Estates
#8 of 11 in Franschhoek
90 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: $480 - $1,092 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mont Rochelle is Sir Richard Branson's stunning 26-bedroom hotel and vineyard just under an hour's drive from Cape Town in the town of Franschhoek in South Africa. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 26 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and two new restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing