We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure luxury with class”
Review of Mont Rochelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mont Rochelle
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Pure luxury with class”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

By the time this review appears Mont Rochelle will be closed for three months until August for refurbishment after it was recently acquired by Sir Richard Branson's luxury hotel collection.
We must have been one of the last guests to to say there but there was no slippage in standards. Very comfortable room, excellent staff and very friendly service. Delicious meal and all accompanied by Alfio on the grand piano.
Most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    89
    30
    19
    5
See reviews for
66
367
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Ever stayed anywhere a second time and been rather disappointed by the experience?

Well, that didn't happen to us at Mont Rochelle. If anything, the 2nd visit was better than the first, but then we did treat ourselves to a Cabernet room, rather than staying in a Shiraz room, as we did on the first occasion.

The food at the Mange Tout was just as good as I remembered it, as was the wine from Mont Rochelle's own vineyards (I particularly enjoyed the glass of chardonnay we had with the line fish).

My only mild criticism would be that the service at breakfast had slight chaotic tendencies - we typically had to ask a couple of times for a refill of coffee, and one morning we had to wait for quite a while for our cooked breakfast. That wasn't exactly a hardship, however, as the weather on the day in question was perfect for sitting outside and just savouring the atmosphere, and we weren't in any kind of hurry.

I would be quite happy to return again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevenoaks
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on a touring holiday of South africa and cannot fault the hotel in any way . The situation is fantastic and the hotel staff were all friendly and efficient . We ate there on both nights and the food was the finest we had on our whole trip . It was a very enjoyable introduction to the Country .

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelboy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

How would you like to spend two nights in a hotel suite which is beautifully appointed and is surrounded by mountains and vineyards? Oh go on then force me. Mont Rochelle's photos do not do it justice at all. Really friendly people who went that extra yard to ensure your enjoyment, a wine tasting and a picnic opportunity could not be missed . Everything about this country hotel was lovely
Breakfast and dinner matched the hotel's high expectations with local food well presented. Wished I could have stayed longer.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank johnpfoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We arrived at 9am, tired after a night flight and was welcomed with an upgrade and immediate occupancy, We were also invited into breakfast which has the most amazing choice. Nothing better than a glass of bubbly to start the day. The hotel is situated a pleasant 10 minute stroll behind the village but in a lovely peaceful location. The service was exemplary and all the staff warm and welcoming. The hotel and its grounds immaculate. Both the restaurants superb. They were open on alternate days with quite different menus and ambiance.I was however surprised that the Hotel does not promote it's own restaurants to it's own guests and visitors i.e no menus in the rooms or displayed for people to see. We met a few wine tasting visitors who had no idea the Hotel or the Mange Tout restaurant existed and some hotel guests knew nothing of the Country Kitchen..so don't miss out!

Room Tip: They all have great mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Z417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014

What a wonderful place! We were met with a glass of delicious wine, however on being taken to our room we went down several flights of stairs and wondered where we were going but soon found out, we were shown to a room with a superb view over Franschhoek, amazing! The staff at the hotel were very helpful and very friendly and the food at both restaurants was excellent! It was a pity we only spent a couple of days here at the end of our holiday but we would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HilsLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We had a long weekend here and I don't think I've enjoyed one so much for a long time. The whole ambience of the place lends itself to relaxing, chilling out and eating and drinking well! My husband has mobility problems and although he can get around slowly, he has to use crutches. We were very kindly given an upgrade to a suite, which was within a few yards of the terrace where breakfast was served, as the room we had chosen was on the first floor, and there is no lift. When we arrived we were greeted with offers of tea, coffee or drinks on the terrace in front of the bar while we attended to the usual check-in forms and from then onwards, our weekend was perfect. The suite was lovely, big bedroom, spacious lounge with an excellent bathroom and also a lovely little patio with a jacuzzi. The food was very good and I don't think it would be possible to have a better breakfast anywhere. For breakfast there was a good selection of hot things on the menu and a wide variety of things on the buffet - cold meats, smoked salmon, a wonderful selection of fruits, etc. - all delicious.. This was served on their lovely terrace with stunning views of the mountains all around - a perfect setting. Dinner, was served in a delightfully appointed room and was accompanied by music from a very accomplished pianist. The food was very good, but the menu was not large and I think after 3 nights I would be wondering what to choose. However, everything was delicious and well presented. The staff and the service provided was 5 star plus and we will most certainly be returning there on our next trip to CapeTown. The only tiny thing that could be improved is the lighting in the suite we had (No.29). We like to spend a lot of time reading, and the lighting in the lounge of the suite really wasn't suitable for this.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dodynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.8 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
160 reviews
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.0 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
480 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
650 reviews
1.0 mi away
Leeu Estates
Leeu Estates
#8 of 11 in Franschhoek
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Property: Mont Rochelle
Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mont Rochelle is Sir Richard Branson's stunning 22-bedroom hotel and vineyard just under an hour's drive from Cape Town in the town of Franschhoek in South Africa. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 22 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and two new restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing