We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pianist”
Review of Mont Rochelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mont Rochelle
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The hotel driver, Abe picked us up in the Q7 and was very friendly and chatty.
On arrival it looked a bit formal but was actually very relaxed and enjoyable. Alfio, the resident pianist played every possible tune going, even, Blayden Races, a Geordie tune that some will know. But to hear that in this fine restaurant was funny and we laughed and joked with other guests and Alfio. Requests followed.
The service was very good, staff well informed on the food and wine.
A night cap in the hotel bar was a great end to the night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JaneTony13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 580 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived outside the hotel the service was impeccable, we had our bags whisked away to our room & were seated on the terrace in comfy chairs overlooking the breathtaking views with a glass of bubbly. We were asked to complete some basic details but they didn't expect anything else not even a credit card for incidentals! We had a wine tour organised for us for the next day then were shown to our room-we were upgraded from the basic room to one with a private terrace overlooking the vineyards and mountains.
We had lunch/mini dishes at their country kitchen restaurant with wine pairings which was amazing, the cellar tour was very informative.
Overall the experience was pure luxury & we would definitely return, nothing was too much trouble and every single member of staff went out of their way to accommodate us.
Ps we dined one evening at Ryan's kitchen (who used to be the chef at mont Rochelle) it was fantastic and would highly recommend paying a visit!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lgreen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here over the New Year period and whilst the hotel has a fabulous position overlooking the winelands, I have to say this was probably the least enjoyable hotel of our trip. The meal we had on New Year's eve was disappointing, especially as we had enjoyed some fabulous food during our stay in South Africa. The staff were very friendly but didn't appear to hear our comments regarding the New Year's eve dinner. We then tried to order room service, which took some three attempts and all we were told is that the kitchen did not have any chicken! We will definitely return to Franschhoek but not to the Mont Rockelle.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Franschhoek has a number of very good hotels. This one was recommended to us and we shall recommend it to others. Located just outside the town centre, it benefits from an elevated situation both because of the wonderful views and the pleasant breeze. The staff could not be more helpful and friendly and always available to run guests into the town, or collect them. Rooms are comfortable. The restaurant is good, especially for a light lunch. This is an ideal base for exploring the area.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ABC_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

In the course of two weeks of staying in various hotels in Cape Town, the Winelands, and along the Garden Route, our three nights at Mont Rochelle were the outstanding feature. Very comfortable and well sized room, fantastic setting, excellent leisure facilities, good restaurant, best breakfast we experienced, helpful staff. The memory of our enjoyment at Mont Rochelle will remain for a lifetime.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

What can I say. The service from the team was excellent the location was fab with stunning views of the vineyards and mountains A 10 minute walk from F high street .
Upgraded to the Honeymoon suite which was perfection nothing could have been better A life's memory.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Berjan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Mont Rochelle will not disappoint. The hotel is set on a vineyard on the mountain and has amazing views from all directions. The staff is overly accommodating and the food was divine. I would highly recommend eating dinner at the in house restaurant. The wine tasting is quaint but delivers with high quality wine. A high recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DreamaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.8 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
181 reviews
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.8 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
507 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: $380 - $1,002 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mont Rochelle is Sir Richard Branson's stunning 26-bedroom hotel and vineyard just under an hour's drive from Cape Town in the town of Franschhoek in South Africa. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 26 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and two new restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing