We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mont Rochelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mont Rochelle
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“nice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

we had a lovely stay here on our tour through the wine country in November. The room was newly refurbished. the bathroom had cool lighting. They left an interesting book for you to read at the turn down service.
Dinner was very good. The help was exceptional. The owners were personable.
They had a nice lunch spot at the bottom of the drive. a good walk!
We were deciding between here and Le quartier Francais. We are glad we chose here, on the hillside, are not in the middle of the touristy town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jones671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    86
    30
    19
    5
See reviews for
62
343
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel has great attention to detail and exceptional service and staff, we enjoyed our stay here very much nothing was too much trouble, we asked for an iron and a lady turns up at our room instead to take our clothes away to iron them. The fine dining was great but maybe too rich for my taste so we tried a lovely local restaurant called French connection which was basic but good. Breakfast at the hotel was great with a stunning view and Peter one of the staff was really outstanding at looking after guests.
Overall a great stay and we loved the books that were left to provoke thought every night a really nice touch.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We have been to Mont Rochelle for several special occasions at different times of the year. We have used the restaurants as well as the accommodation. There has not been an occasion to complain or be dissatisfied. The staff have always been polite and attentive. The food is 5* with an equally deserving ambience; the pianist during the evening is very special. There are majestic views adding to the relaxing and luxurious atmosphere. Great walks around the vineyards. Gardens. Pool. Open fires. Nothing to fault. Keep a look out for the winter specials and their fabulous deals.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. But of course the higher grade rooms have more to offer. We were upgraded to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

This place has a feeling of faded glory about it. The setting is nice, the service poor. We ordered a picnic basket from it's neighbouring restaurant, The Country Kitchen. 3 times they checked if we wanted it delivered to the hotel grounds, but still they messed up. When it came it was the worst value for money in the Winelands. Take away plastic containers in a whicker basket with nowhere near enough food for two people. Boschendal make a far better picnic at a cheaper price.

We paid for wine tasting and a cellar tour at the vineyard even though we were guests at the hotel. Other hotels in the village, Le Quatier Francais for example give it for free. Le Quatier also offer a complinetary shuttle service within the Village (even to competitors vineyards) Mont Rochelle charge a 120R fee for a return trip to the village.



If you have a decent budget, don't stay here - there a far better choices.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aled a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

A first rate hotel. Beautiful setting with lovely gardens and handily situated to go down intp Franschoek while still being very private. Food very good both in the main restaurant and the Country Kitchen. Restaurant manager, Patrick is great as is the pianist.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kengreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown St Helena
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

My family stayed recently at the Mont Rochelle in Franschhoek and were totally disappointed. The rooms and location were fine but the cleanliness and customer service left a great deal to be desired. There were a few heavy cast iron beds round the pool with even less mattresses. The staff told us that the guests take the mattresses to their rooms at night in case they don't get one the next day! Near the pool was a disused pond with dead frogs in it. I complained but they were still there 3 days later. We were told that the staff regularly mention these things but management do nothing. Never again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetravel034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. Our room although ok was a bit dated and could do with being updated. Went to the gym. No air con controls, no towels, no cups, no water in machine. Took them some while to get their act together but the next day no towels and our glasses still left where we put them with the water still in them. Breakfast was nice but on our first morning they had trouble coping. All in all not terrible but below the standard of the other 7 places we stayed at so by comparison there is room for improvement .

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackoonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.0 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.8 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Rochelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Rochelle

Property: Mont Rochelle
Address: Dassenberg Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa (Formerly La Couronne Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont Rochelle 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mont Rochelle is Sir Richard Branson's stunning 22-bedroom hotel and vineyard just under an hour's drive from Cape Town in the town of Franschhoek in South Africa. Having undergone an extensive refurbishment, Mont Rochelle now boasts a brand new spa with a Hammam, a heated pool, 22 beautifully refurbished bedrooms and two new restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mont Rochelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Rochelle Franschhoek
Hotel Mont Rochelle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing