We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Accomodations/Amazing Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Beautiful Accomodations/Amazing Staff”
Reviewed December 7, 2010

My husband and I just came back from our honeymoon in South Africa. We stayed at the Franschhoek Country House and Villas for three nights and it was easily the most spectacular place we stayed the entire trip. Our room was beautiful, the staff was warm and helpful and the breakfast was incredible. We had an amazing experience there and I would happily go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    143
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
86
559
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franschhoek, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2010

My wife and I stayed one night in a luxury department.The receptionists were very helpfull and friendly.The staff are very friendly and goes out of their way to keep you comfortable.The room was very comfortable and spacious.The bedding/sheets are fantastic and the bathroom was big and luxurios.The balcony has a very nice view over the beutifull garden and swimmingpool with the amaging mountains as backdrop.The Inn is perfect located,just out of town but still part of town.The water feutures does its job.The breakfast was delicious with afantastic variety.We stayed only one night,next time it will stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

My husband and child and I checked in here for 1 night recently. It is indeed in very beautiful gardens and the setting, despite being on the main road into the town, backs onto the vineyards and is lovely. Accomodation patchy though. Despite being clean and well presented, this is not a 5 star place - it is dated and twee and misses the mark by quite some way. Front of house was comedically over the top. But the worst part by a very long way was the FOOD! We went in to eat at the fabled Monneaux restaurant and could not have had a more disappointing experience. A party of four had already arrived and had taken up the only appropriate seating in the 'lounge' area - what on earth happens if the place is full and everyone wants pre-dinner drinks is beyond me! no effort was made to find us a comfortable place to sit or bring us canapes - whcih the other party had. Dinner was horribly disappointing - to the extent that we felt that it must be the chef's night off. Breakfast was equally avaerage - this is not a place I would receommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearsontour_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Perfect Honeymoon location! The staff was wonderful, ground well kept, very clean. Make sure to eat at their restaurant Monneaux. It was delicious!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank als1069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expat in Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed here for three nights and had an amazing time. The room was stunning and extremely comfortable, the grounds were lovely, and the staff took a lot of care to ensure that everything was perfect for us. The room was very spacious, with a lovely balcony. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was luxurious. We were truly torn between wanting to go to wine farms and staying at the hotel to bask in the sun by the pool or just laze on our balcony with our books. The location was great -- everything in Franschhoek was easily accessible -- and the complimentary hotel shuttle made wine-soaked dinners possible. All in all, it was a wonderful place to stay and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expatsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, b.c.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

I loved this charming guest inn from the moment I arrived. The service is superb! Definitely request the villa-it is worth the extra cost. The breakfast is amazing-you must try the eggs florentine here-wow! Breakfast is included in your stay. The bedding/sheets are incredible as are the staff and the landscape. This Inn provides a shuttle to town so, it is perfectly located (just far enough to be accessible but out so you are not bothered by the sounds of town). I so enjoyed my stay here-you cannot miss out on anything at this locale-try the chocolate facial in the spa too. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Franschhoek. The staff goes out of their way and ensures your wish is their command. I love this Inn-5 stars :) Definitely come and stay at the Franschhoek Country House & Villas for a weekend or a week.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizzjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

The hotel has beautiful rooms and grounds, and is centrally located for wine tasting, which is the whole point of being in this part of the country. Our room was spacious, well-appointed, and had a lovely balcony with plenty of room to sit and have a glass of wine. Many of the common areas, including the pools, enjoy a wonderful view of the surrounding mountains. Generally, the hotel has a rustic, country feel to it, so those who prefer a more modern vibe might want to consider something like Grande Provance next door. There's a solid buffet and hot breakfast included with the rooms, but we did not eat at the property's restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ny_wahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
480 reviews
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
160 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
533 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Property: Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing