We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2010

My wife and I disagree about this hotel she thinks 4 and I think 5, as I am writing a review it got a 5. I would happily go back to this hotel the rooms are expensive but they are extremely well decorated and they are set in beautiful grounds with two swimming pools. The decor is French Hugenots and we stayed in room 22 which had a drawing room, a huge bedroom, a balcony with two sun loungers and a bathroom with rolltop bath, shower, double basins and overall there was so much room we could have thrown a party and still had room to spare.

The complex is set on the main road, however we did not notice this at all, and as we had a car it was easy to get in and out of town and the surrounding winelands. The town is in easy walking distance although as with the rest of South Africa there is the odd beggar orpaking attendent around.

The breakfast was varied and there was enough for all, although the apple pancakes were a bit more like a dessert than a breakfast item. All the food was very tasty and you could sit on the balcony overlooking the gardens which is a great way to start the day. We did eat dinner in the hotel one night and I thought the food was very good, we did also eat in Reubens one night and I though the food in the hotel was cheaper and better than Reubens. I did not think the hotel was too expensive (although it was not cheap either) and the restaurant was very pretty plus they served Chocolate Block by the glass which is a very tasty wine.

The service in the hotel was excellent and we wanted for nothing, also the business centre was very good, the pool area is clean with ornate sun loungers and towels in baskets, plus drinks served by the attentive staff. There is a treatement/spa area however we did not have time for this as we were out and about in the wine lands. I would recommend visiting Spier as the wine is very good and they have a cheetah sanctuary, Bread an Wine have great food and their Chardonnay is excellent and Boekenhautskloop does the chocolate block which as I have said is excellent. The Thelema vineyard did some excellent wines and we also popped into the chocolate shop in the town and also the ice cream place in the centre of town is excellent.

Overall I would definitely go back to Franschhoek and I would go back to these villas, however when we go back to South Africa I would try out another villa first so that I could compare the prices Although the room was superb we spent so little time there that I am wondering whether a cheaper room would be a better use of money, however don't let this put you off as this is a beautiful place and you will no be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildsnoopster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
There are newer reviews for Franschhoek Country House & Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

695 - 701 of 811 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2010

The phrase "Less would be more" was a constant feature at this hotel. For example, less stagnant water would result in fewer mosquitoes. The food was generally very good but true excellence is available in the nearby restaurants ... so a simpler menu (or at least the option of) as an alternative to eating out would have been stronger.

The room was very spacious and well presented.

The hotel is very close to the main road ...so you are aware of traffic noise if you choose to spend time here during the day.

The staff were great.

While this was a good base for the Franschhoek area, next time we will give serious consideration to the alternatives.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Phileas_Fogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Just returned home from our first but hopefully not the last visit to South Africa. We only stayed in Franschhoek for two nights which wasn't enough really. However after staying in Cape Town the Franschhoek Country House Hotel was a haven of peace and tranquillity. The food served in the restaurant was outstanding. Try the Seared Carpaccio of Trout with Wasabi Mayonnaise. Rooms are spacious and airy and the odd glass of Sherry as a welcome or a night cap was really nice.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waitie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

Excellent 7 years ago and the same now.Friendly professional staff, comfortable rooms ,excellent breakfast and wonderful surroundings-what more could you want?
Thank you all at Franchoek Country house and Villas.
Mr and Mrs Breedt

Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
Thank maribreedt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

We stayed here in 2007 and enjoyed it so much we decided to stay again when returning to South Africa three years later. A great atmosphere, relaxing, with attentive staff. The pool area is very good but the highlight for us was the food which was excellent. It is great to stay somwhere not too big and that prides itself on personal details. Very helpful staff. If you are looking for great food, wine, location and quiet, this is the place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldroamerSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

We have been on a month long tour of South Africa both land and cruise. When we look back over the trip and review the highpoints - One shines more than the others and that is our stay at the Country House Villas at Franschhoek. Accomodations, Food, Service and central location to the wonderful wine country are just a part of all the qualities of this great establishment.

David Smith and Diana Fink

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsmithpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

Elegant and relaxing with spacious room. Beautiful public rooms and gardens and a high standard of service all round. Check the egg florentine for breakfast!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyagerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.3 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
532 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: $273 - $682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing