We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2006

Thank you to all for a lovely weekend.
The venue was lovely, the staff polite and friendly, the food exquisite.

Everything to make a remarkable weekend.

We cannot wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oogly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
There are newer reviews for Franschhoek Country House & Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

755 - 761 of 811 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2006

We recently stayed at Le Franschhoek Country House and Villas on the outskirts of the village of Franschhoek. We splashed out and treated ourselves to one of the Villa Suites, which certainly didn't disappoint. The rooms were huge and featured a gas fire for the cooler evenings as well as under floor heating and the sound system piped into each room. We had Villa no.17, which for us was ideal. It is on the first floor and gets the evening sun, which was great for enjoying a glass of wine at the end of the day.

The service, however, left a lot to be desired. Our stay at Franschhoek was the last stop on our trip; we'd stayed in Cape Town and on the False Bay coast for 3 nights each and found the service levels exceptional and so our expectations were high.

Initially, our welcome at reception was very pleasant and efficient. We actually arrived early and were able to check-in to our room, which was a help.

The restaurant is award winning and so we had our first night's meal there. I really enjoyed my meal, however my husband was very disappointed in his. It was also very hurried as no sooner had I put my last fork-full of food in my mouth when the plate was promptly removed.

The service on our first morning only got worse. There was no personal attention and the waiter just pointed to a table where we could sit, however it hadn't been cleared from the previous diners, so we found ourselves a clean table to sit at. My husband chose the chef's special for breakfast, which was an omlette, however the shitake mushrooms inside hadn't been completely rehydrated and the raw peppers for breakfast didn't lie well in his stomach for the rest of the morning. I ate from the continental buffet and found a hair in my yoghurt... and the coffee was luke-warm. Needless to say, we didn't have breakfast there again during the whole of our stay.

We also booked the hotel's courtesy transport to take us to the village centre for dinner on the second night (the village is close, but really too far to walk at night and in heels). We were astonished that their "courtesy" transport actually cost us SAR150 (return journey), which is about £15 UK pounds - a really rip-off for such a short trip. We were told to call from the restaurant when we wanted to return, however after 20 minutes we were still waiting. After another call to the hotel, the transport appeared after about 5-10 mins. It would've been better and cheaper if we'd have organised our own taxi. We obviously complained about such poor service and the driver was very apologetic and the next day informed us that he had cancelled the charge.

All in all, I can't say that I'd recommend Le Franschhoek Country House and Villas. Yes, the Villas are amazing, but the whole experience wasn't good. The hotel is actually quite close to the main road too, and so it was very noisy. The two pools are also very small and are more like plunge pools.

The village of Franschhoek is lovely and we had a really nice meal at Le Bon Vivant. The kitchen is open to the restaurant and the atmosphere was very relaxed. The food was a real masterpiece and almost too good to eat, but we managed it! We also had dinner at Grande Provence, which was our best of the trip. The food wasn't too fussy, was very well cooked and the service was exceptional. I'd definitely go back, but possibly for lunch next time as the setting is stunning.

Two other restaurants that we wanted to try but were either booked or closed for private functions were Rubens in the village and Le Petite Ferme (lunch only). Both were highly recommended to us - we'll just have to go back!!

If I were to stay in Franschhoek again, I'd probably stay at Quartier Francais.

1  Thank m5165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2006

Franschoek Country House Hotel is a lovely hotel in a lovely town. It is extremely good value and well-maintained and decorated. The staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful (for example, booking horse riding for us). The Monneaux restaurant is very good, if slightly over-elaborate at times. All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McBoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Europe
12
Reviewed January 30, 2006

If you are going to Franschhoek to experience the warm personality of many of the local hotels and restaurants, do not go to Franschhoek Country House. We absolutely adored the nearby town and many amazing restaurants, but felt completely let down by our experience in this hotel.

The hotel was fine, a little too out of town. Rooms were nice. Monneaux restaurant ok, but overrated.

Our biggest shock was the service and attitude of the staff. We encountered issues that needed to be addressed by management, but found their attitude to be arrogant and at best rude.

For a 'luxury' establishment, one would assume there would be some focus on customer service. We have never had an experience like this in the many great hotels we have stayed in. Go to Franschoek, but not to this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 6, 2006

As it is our goal to always please all guests wherever possible and reasonable we are obviously suprised by this comment. It is however, very difficult for us to improve or take corrective action (where needed) if we do not have any exact detail of the guest and detail of the complaint.

We therefore would like to invite the writer of this e-mail to kindly contact us as we hope to be able to address any service difficulties experience. Accordingly we apologize for any inconvenience caused to this guest as their experience is contradictory to our intentions and philosophy.

We hope to hear from you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2006

We spent 3 days over Christmas here.

Our welcome was friendly but not efficient. The receptionist's knowledge of the hotel was poor when asked basic questions.There was no manager around or anyone in authority.

The first room we were shown (room 1) had a very small bed and overlooked the gardens and noisy road.
We were then shown a duplex room with a larger bed,bathroom and upstairs living area.

We opted to take this room despite it being a little tired with dated decoration and design. The room was not the cleanest we have stayed in and needed a re-decoration.

The hotel does also have it's newly appointed Villa rooms but these are quite expensive and lacking in atmosphere.

At the end of the 3 days we were happy to be leaving. This establishment is graded 5* but needs to sharpen up it's act if it's wishes to keep up with the opposition.

A big disappointment.

2  Thank cottonstones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2005

After reading the review (which i guess will be below this one now(!)) i am very grateful i am not a hotelier!

The history of the area is very much based on the time it was under French occupancy and all the hotels and the restaurants are called or decorated in classical French themes.

Franshhoek Country House should not be in the b&b category - this is a FIRST class hotel. Excellent rooms - absolutely huge (we stayed in the Villa Suites) with open fire and heated floors (3 zones in total) for three nights. The service was excellent, the decoration was in keeping and the fountains and the landscaping was very pretty and they didn't annoy me or my girlfriend in the slightest.

The restaurant - Monneaux, was fantastic. The very best mussels i have ever eaten.

The competition for your spend on food is huge with a vast number of excellent restaurants spread across just 1 or 2 miles. We try to eat at different places for lunch and for dinner, yet on the last night the only place we wanted to go back to was Monneaux.

Great hotel, excellent service and wonderful food - it doesn't get much better!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2005

Half the price of the best Franschhoek hotels, the Country House is outside the actual village of Franschhoek and too far to walk in. The decor is very over-the-top French - or rather what the South Africans think is French. The hotel has a top restaurant attached but as we'd had an absolutely marvellous lunch at La Petite Ferme just the other side of Franschhoek (highly highly recommended but book) we couldn't face another big meal and didn't eat in the hotel except for breakfast which was very good. Our one night there was chilly but our room had an open fire which staff offered to light and it was very cosy toasting our toes in front of such a lovely wood-burning fire. There was a decanter of sherry just outside which we helped ourselves to!

The one thing that did annoy us were the ridiculous fountains everywhere mostly just outside our bedroom window. They did turn them off at night thank goodness but it was symptomatic of the style of the hotel. It just all seemed rather soulless even though it was hard to fault the helpfulness of the staff or the quality of the rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank camdencalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.3 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
530 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: $247 - $680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing