We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful start to a holiday in South Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2009

We have stayed at Franschhoek Country House three times now for four or five days each time. It has been a wonderful experience. We have stayed in a Villa Suite which is spacious and comfortable with an excellent bathroom and comfortable bed.
The longe is well furnished although we found the TV difficult to understand but the staff were very patient and came and explained how to use it.
The staff were friendly and attentive and all the staff greet you with a warm smile and a cheery greeting.
The breakfasts were extremely good with a wide range selection of foods. The Monneaux resteraunt had a main menu with a good selection of daily specials. The whole ambience of the hotel is relaxed and we just love it .

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cockshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

725 - 731 of 826 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2009

I was very worried by some of the previous reviews, but we really enjoyed our night at this hotel. We received a complimentary upgrade from standard to luxury as the trip was celebratory, and the room we were moved to was stunning - huge, with a large seating area, wraparound windows looking out onto the grounds, a fireplace (which they lit for us in the evening) a massive and very comfy bed, and a lovely bathroom, and was right next to a beautiful sitting room which seemed to be shared between only a handful of rooms. The decor was romantic and stylishly OTT - perhaps a little feminine for some tastes, but we loved the opulence of it. The room was also blissfully quiet - a big prerequisite for me.

Breakfast was amazing - the best we had on the whole trip (and SA hotel breakfasts are generally excellent). Their cold buffet spread was extraordinary, with endless kinds of fruit, breads, cheeses, muffins and so on. We didn't have room for anything cooked!

And service was very nice - the upgrade was extremely kind, and the offer to light the fire much apreciated, and they offer free lifts into town and pick-ups from it, which is great as it's a little far out of the centre. Pretty much all our contact was with one member of staff, which added to the feeling of personal service

The reason I say I can imagine how others might have had a less good experience is because the room we were originally allocated was above the bar and restaurant, and pretty cramped. I'm very glad we were moved, and I think we might have had a disturbed night otherwise. I think this place may be the kind of hotel where the standard rooms are miles behind the quality of the others, and that must be why the reviews on here are so polarised - either excellent or awful. However, I was concerned when I read some of the reviews that everything but the villa suites was awful - I would disagree, and highly recommend the luxury rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonAlicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We stayed for four nights in spring where the weather varied from lovely sunny and hot to cool and wet. When the weather wasn't so great, the staff lit fires in the lounge areas of the accommodation (we stayed in beautiful large deluxe rooms in the grounds of the house) which just added to the overall magical ambiance of the place. We felt as though we had the place to ourselves. The rooms are a little tired but well looked after and felt homely. The views were gorgeous from our room onto the pool and the mountains beyond. The spa was ok but the hour long treatment I booked only lasted 50 mins which I thought was a little naughty. We enjoyed one meal during our stay at the Monneaux restaurant in the hotel - it was very good. The breakfasts were even better!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Absoluters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Cant recomment it highly enough. Everything was just perfect and the staff made it special. Nothing was ever too much to ask. Relaxed and easy going. We will definitely return and can highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackjillEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

The standard rooms are in the same building as bar and lounge. The down stairs allows smoking and has a poorly ventilated fireplace. The result is smoke filled guest rooms that smell like a truck stop. Also the carpet and furniture are worn out. Bathroom shower is not high enough for anyone over 5' 3". Oh, and don't get me started on the plumbing -- gargling toilets --- Yuck!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birddogintheshade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

We spent 4 nights in a villa suite in the FCH on our recent stay in the Cape.
The accomodation was spacious but the setting was cramped and uninspiring. I didn't feel that the service was of a particularly high standard given the high price tag. A particular disappointment was our meal in the property's own Monneaux Restaurant. Apparently it used to produce many of the top chefs in Franschhoeck but it has obviously gone downhill in recent times. All in all, not good value for the money.

Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Photopedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Well situated for anyone wanting to be near excellent wine farms and golf courses and yet not right in the center of Franschhoek. The 'Villa's' have absolutely everything you need whilst we found the staff incredibly helpful. I had one of the best fillet steaks I've had in a while whilst the breakfasts are presented in a relaxed atmosphere catering for all your needs. Well worth a visit and recommended highly.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PretoriaRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
692 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
183 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.3 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
550 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: $266 - $656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing