We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel in Franschhoek”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I loved every single aspect of my stay at the Country House and my time in Franschhoek. I would stay there again any time I am in the area. The service, food, grounds and location wrer breathtaking, The bath products, balcony and mixed CDs in the room were a definite plus!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wine-Dine-n-Opine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
There are newer reviews for Franschhoek Country House & Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 810 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

A very quiet, secluded luxury hotel. The villa's are awesome. We stayed there in the South African Winter, it was raining, it was cold, it was wonderful.... It was highly recommended by Nicky our travel agent in SA at the Cape Tour Company.

Villas have fireplaces, each fireplace is ready for you when you return from an exausting day of wine tasting. Turn down service also includes a hot water bottle wrapped in what may be lambs wool at the foot of your bed. If you dont expect this it's quite a surprise.

The place even in the rain is enchanting, the aroma of rosemary and lavander are only overpowerd by that of fresh lemons which are everywhere. Buckets and buckets, urns and urns... everywhere!

I would most definitely return here.

Room Tip: I think I would like to try a lower level villa next time since it provides covering to the patio...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJPSanRamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

A lovely little Tuscan experience in Franschhoek. Our room was spacious and tastefully decorated with all the necessary requirements. Service, food and location of the guest house were excellent too. Definitely worth another visit!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charne68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a very enjoyable three nights here at the beginning of November. It was faultless form the moment we turned up and had a guided tour of the property right up until the moment we left and were given a room (at no extra charge) to get showered and changed in before heading to the airport in Cape Town. Everyone we came into contact with was friendly, the driver that the hotel organised to drive us for the day was brilliant and the food in the restaurant was amazing! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying here. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexmcneillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

My husband and I married here twelve years ago and returned recently to show our ten year old daughter where we married. The property is even more beautiful and everything was just how we remembered it to be. The breakfast was lovely, the staff exceptional, pool area very enjoyable, and the Moneaux restaurant first rate. The staff even placed photos of our wedding, framed, in our villa!

Room Tip: Any room is great here.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelisepic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights while attending a wedding in Franschhoek. After arriving late at night, we were greeted by friendly staff and told that they had upgraded us to a suite.

The suite was spacious, with wonderful wardrobe space, a fireplace, lounge and big bathroom. The bed was huge and comfortable.

The hotel is centrally located and it was a quick ride to town. The pool facilities are a quiet haven and we spent the better part of our stay relaxing and enjoying the quiet. While there were were served lunch at the pool from the restaurant menu and it was delicious. Great wine list and menu and a table set up for us under a gorgeous tree so we could eat where we were.

The staff were helpful and went the extra mile. They allowed us a late check out at no additional cost and were helpful with all our queries. I'd recommend this for couples but would be happy to take my young son with us.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the suite and having stayed there we would not stay in any other room in future...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaRawlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and had a lovely stay. The staff we found to be very helpful and polite and our room was very nice. Moneaux restaurant was excellent and very good service. In a great position especially when visiting wineries and the Main Street has lovely eateries and shops.would recommend

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAG27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.3 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
530 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: $248 - $679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing