We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

There's something about the countryside that is just so relaxing and this place really capitalizes on that. The lay out of the entire property is beautiful and rooms are spacious. The country feel of the furniture isn't drabby at all and bathrooms are big and clean as well.

I was a bit hesitant about choosing this hotel because the other reviews had better scores but I can safely say that for a fussy traveler like me, this hotel really should be rated higher and it was well worth it! I only wish I had stayed more nights than 1.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 827 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic trip to South Africa which ended in the Winelands at Franshhoek Country House & Villas; and what a perfect end! Luxury villa with beautiful gardens and plunge pool, fabulous food and very attentive staff. Easy walking distance of Franschhoek for shopping or wine tasting. Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: We were located near the breakfast room on a first floor and it was perfectly quiet with lovely view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel came highly recommended and we stayed there for 3 nights. Initially, we wanted a double but the room was made of 2 singles (which the hotel just joined together to make a double). The smell of the restaurant also wafted upwards towards the room. The staff were helpful, and the restaurant excellent (mannoux). For what is quite an expensive place, the rooms were outdated, and breakfast average. I dont know if id come back to a standard room for the price- perhaps you need to get a villa suite to get the full experience of the hotel?!?!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thejefster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPS101, Owner at Franschhoek Country House & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear reviewer, we regret if the decor was not to your liking. Thank you for the positive comments on the restaurant and the staff. We hope to welcome you again in future trusting you will enjoy your stay in all aspects.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a once in a lifetime trip to South Africa which was enhanced by a FABULOUS 2 nights at Franschhoek Country Villas! The staff couldn't be more attentive, the food was outstanding (try their tasting menu and their smoked salmon blinis for breakfast) and the accommodation is top class. It's central location is great for winery tours - make sure you have dinner at Grande Provence (just next door).... Wow!!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jmpfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Two couples stayed in suites for 3 nights, and we were very impressed with the size and quality of our accommodations. Including the amenities provided, every need was met. We appreciated the arrival champagne and snack tray, which was nice to share with our friends in the luxurious villa suite. Three of us departed at 7:30am on a shark cage diving excursion, and our hosts at the inn made sure that breakfast was delivered to one of our suites in a timely fashion. Since the regular breakfast began after we left, we were happy to have some continental breakfast earlier. My husband stayed in Franschoek that day, and he enjoyed the delicious breakfast buffet. At least we had one morning to enjoy the breakfast buffet as a group. At check- out ( we were flying to Hoetsprit for our safari early the last morning), we were provided with very nice snack boxes to take along. The inn was more than helpful when my husband "lost" his eyeglasses. He left them in the Monneaux Restaurant on premises and they were retrieved for him in reasonable time prior to our departure. There had been a moment of panic regarding those eyeglasses.
One lovely touch was finding rose petals strewn on the bathroom floor. The radiant heat in the floors was so nice!
The gardens on the grounds are kept immaculate with beautiful blooming flowers, and the pool looked very inviting (although we had no time to use it).
We walked to a nearby winery restaurant while it was still daylight; however the shuttle from the inn picked us up and brought us back. It was suggested that we should have taken advantage of their shuttle to go anywhere in town.
Would definitely recommend the Franschoek Country Inn.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Franschhoek Country House & Villas was one of our stops during our tour in SA, upon arrival since we got there early we were immediately taken care of and without any questions Jean-Pierre Snyman the Managing Director upgraded us to LUXURIOUS VILLA SUITES, which was absolutely stunning!! The hotel staff were very helpful and made us feel very welcomed! They even dropped and picked us up from a couple of wineries that we wanted to visit!
We loved our stay at Franschhoek Country House & Villas and would love to visit again!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heenz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here at the end of our Africa Answers-booked trip, and couldn't have been happier. The setting is stunning. Our villa was amazing, and HUGE!! Full patio plus a separate Juliet balcony overlooking Grand Provence, four poster bed, spacious living room, double sinks, clawfoot tub...I could have stayed for weeks! The property was simply gorgeous - the roses, the fountains, pools, ahhh. Their van serivce/transport forgot us in town one evening, not so great, but eventually they got it right.
Overall, this ranks as one of my all-time favorite accomodations. Every time I look at pictures of this property and our villa, I have a huge smile on my face!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSPTraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
692 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
183 reviews
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
507 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
550 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: $268 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing