We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay here was way too short!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Our stay here was way too short!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Two couples stayed in suites for 3 nights, and we were very impressed with the size and quality of our accommodations. Including the amenities provided, every need was met. We appreciated the arrival champagne and snack tray, which was nice to share with our friends in the luxurious villa suite. Three of us departed at 7:30am on a shark cage diving excursion, and our hosts at the inn made sure that breakfast was delivered to one of our suites in a timely fashion. Since the regular breakfast began after we left, we were happy to have some continental breakfast earlier. My husband stayed in Franschoek that day, and he enjoyed the delicious breakfast buffet. At least we had one morning to enjoy the breakfast buffet as a group. At check- out ( we were flying to Hoetsprit for our safari early the last morning), we were provided with very nice snack boxes to take along. The inn was more than helpful when my husband "lost" his eyeglasses. He left them in the Monneaux Restaurant on premises and they were retrieved for him in reasonable time prior to our departure. There had been a moment of panic regarding those eyeglasses.
One lovely touch was finding rose petals strewn on the bathroom floor. The radiant heat in the floors was so nice!
The gardens on the grounds are kept immaculate with beautiful blooming flowers, and the pool looked very inviting (although we had no time to use it).
We walked to a nearby winery restaurant while it was still daylight; however the shuttle from the inn picked us up and brought us back. It was suggested that we should have taken advantage of their shuttle to go anywhere in town.
Would definitely recommend the Franschoek Country Inn.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    144
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
88
561
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Franschhoek Country House & Villas was one of our stops during our tour in SA, upon arrival since we got there early we were immediately taken care of and without any questions Jean-Pierre Snyman the Managing Director upgraded us to LUXURIOUS VILLA SUITES, which was absolutely stunning!! The hotel staff were very helpful and made us feel very welcomed! They even dropped and picked us up from a couple of wineries that we wanted to visit!
We loved our stay at Franschhoek Country House & Villas and would love to visit again!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heenz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here at the end of our Africa Answers-booked trip, and couldn't have been happier. The setting is stunning. Our villa was amazing, and HUGE!! Full patio plus a separate Juliet balcony overlooking Grand Provence, four poster bed, spacious living room, double sinks, clawfoot tub...I could have stayed for weeks! The property was simply gorgeous - the roses, the fountains, pools, ahhh. Their van serivce/transport forgot us in town one evening, not so great, but eventually they got it right.
Overall, this ranks as one of my all-time favorite accomodations. Every time I look at pictures of this property and our villa, I have a huge smile on my face!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSPTraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights here during our South Africa holiday to Cape Town, wine country and then onto safari. Franschhoek Country House & Villas was lovely. The staff was warm, welcoming, and very hospitable. Our room over looked the veranda off of their restraurant in the oldest building of the property. They even went to have roses and candles one evening on our night turn town to celebrate our anniversary. The shuttle to town was always willing to take us, pick us up. The breakfast was very nice with excellent choices. Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer. Beautiful property in such a lovely place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We found the staff to be extremely helpful. The hotel provided a van and driver to transport us to and from dinners and area attractions. The restaurant was excellent for both breakfasts and dinners. We highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoiseBecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Perfect setting, fantastic smiling service, beautiful rooms. I don't think I could ask for any more than this hotel provides. The room was perfect - the bed very comfortable and proper thick towels. The bathroom was every persons dream. The setting of this hotel cannot be improved - with the winelands all around and beautiful gardens. Nothing is too much trouble and the setting for breakfast is real soul food.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Baroness V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this wonderful hotel for 5 nights and personally could not fault the friendly and attentive staff, who went out of their way to make our stay a most memorable time.

Our room (deluxe room number 2) had for us the wow factor with a fantastic balcony which gave us fantastic panoramic views across the countryside. The room itself was of good size with a relaxed French country look.

The services provided at this hotel include breakfast, (wonderful pancakes) and variety of fruits, cereals and pastries, complimentary shuttle to town or local restaurants (Alistair's commentary en route very helpful), customer services at reception will arrange tour companies as required all very excellent standard. Nothing is too much trouble for any staff member at this hotel.

If snacking at the hotel is your choice, can recommend, the butternut soup, washed down with an iced French vanilla mocha coffee made to perfection.

The hotel has two swimming pools, ( 1 heated, 1 cold) my wife swam in the heated pool despite a cooling breeze exhilarating.

The spa facilities albeit on site would be my only recommendation for improvement, the location and room not really conducive to full relaxation, the massage room lacked a relaxing ambience.

The hotel' s own restaurant 'Monneaux' has an award winning reputation, and although the food and wine were exceptional, the menu is limited. Complimentary shuttle from the hotel is available to other restaurants, so don't feel you need to eat every night at the same restaurant as they promote each other's. Can recommend Roca for good food and wine but also book around sunset for some amazing views. For midday snacks try The Famous Franschhoek Pancake House to get your taste buds working. Light fluffy pancakes with numerous choice of savoury and dessert fillings.

A gem of a hotel that allows you to truly relax.

Top tip: suggest visiting Cape Town first then Franschhoek.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ThePresident1067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
490 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
654 reviews
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
164 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
538 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Property: Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing