We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful huge suite. A stunning stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Beautiful huge suite. A stunning stay.”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

What an achievement! A very French style complex with an intricate network of pathways and water features setting the scene before you reach your room. Inside, French style decor and a massive space await. It's bigger than our house! Nothing could be faulted and in fact much was extraordinary from the free bowl of fruit to the bath salts and moisturiser to the warm and attractive gas (coal flame) fire place which we snuggled in front of during a wet and windy day. The room is so cosy that it was the perfect place for us to relax in and enjoy some bad weather. You'd be stir crazy after 8 hours in other hotels. We took the bad weather opportunity to book the 'men's spa treatments' at the in house treatment room and they were well priced and a real treat. Dinner at Monneaux was good and also well priced. Staff across the complex were delightful and friendly and eternally happy to help. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The beds were great and this was the first place we have stayed at in South Africa that has offered a choice of high and low pillows. Bravo! Finally the heated flooring in all rooms was terrific esp the bathroom and the shower (where as others have said, the deep bath was sensational!) Hard to suggest improvements but free unlimited wifi would be great and a larger TV and iPod dock.....but I'm just being greedy now!!!

Room Tip: Our room was a garden room, very very quiet at night and not even the slightest noise transmission f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bckpckrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    143
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
86
559
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently stayed at Franschhoek country villa.
Had a very comfortable room with fireplace which was a delight for cool
Evenings.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Food excellent.
Views of surrounding mountains were magnificent .
Would highly recommend to stay here.

Room Tip: Stayed in room number 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for 2 nights in May 2013 and found the hotel to be a perfect choice for a relaxing holiday. Breakfast was lovely and the hotel restaurant, Monneaux, was also very nice. The hotel had a nice homely feel and the staff were impeccable and provided valuable advice for our trip. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meraj_adnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I had to read the negative reviews just because I was stunned that there were any. What a wonderful experience we had! Beautiful room, grounds, scenery, location and amazing food and staff. No, not in the heart of town, but they are happy to drive you there and pick you back up. We chose to walk one day and it was about 10 minutes, far less time than we spent walking in Franschoek -- not exactly an ordeal. It was peaceful and relaxing and I would recommend Franschoek Country House to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intrepid T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spent three nights at the Franschhoek Country House & Villas and it was just the relaxing leg of our honeymoon that we needed. The food and wine everywhere was delicious. Took advantage of the spa, which was great. The grounds are beautiful - filled with lavender and mint. Our suite was huge - fireplace, great balcony looking over the gardens, heated floors! Staff was super friendly and helpful. Grounds were quiet and relaxing. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in Villa 22 - perhaps the nicest room we have ever experienced, and we have stayed in wonderful places all over the world. I rarely take baths, but the gleaming soaking tub, along with a choice of three different salts/bubbles was a real treat. The views were glorious and the staff was impeccable during our four nights there. Friends with young children met us for dinner one night at the restaurant and we decided to eat in our gigantic room instead so the kids could relax and it was no problem for them to bring our food in courses. The treatment room is lovely and we had massages twice. Definitely a great choice if you want to relax and feel pampered.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baldwingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

What a disappointing place this was. After spending 3 nights in a real 5* hotel in Paarl we arrived to spend one night here. Our room, which sounded exciting, a garden room was directly off the car park, right off the gravel and stones into our room and I felt like a hobbit. A dark, dingy, musty smelling and well worn room for sure. Carpets were grubby as was the unappetising stained rug in the bathroom. The room was not ready so we sat out in the overgrown, unkempt garden to have a lunch. We ordered butternut ravioli and my husband found a long black hair in his meal. It was taken away and replaced but somehow did not taste very good after this.
Other members of our party arrived and had a reasonable room in another block quite away from the Hobbit’s Den. Next morning, on arrival for breakfast we were given printed menus which were stained and tattered. They were merely printed sheets of paper, surely not too hard to renew each morning. Breakfast was served on a pleasant balcony and the selection of food was good. From this balcony one can see the ’ villas’ at this establishment and they look very nice indeed. It seems the place is earning it’s 5* status on the back of these villas and the poor soles stuck in the Hobbit Dens are having to pay a premium. We paid far more for this awful room at this mediocre establishment than we had paid for an amazing 5* hotel in Paarl.
We will never go back here, there are a myriad of wonderful places in Franschoek so sad that we picked this one!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fordaleDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPS101, Manager at Franschhoek Country House & Villas, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear reviewer, we sincerely regret your apparent negative experience of the room you booked especially as it is always enjoyed by guests - evident from the vast majority of all our positive reviews.

We also do offer full description and current virtual tours of our room types for guests to choose from. In addition we would have appreciated the opportunity to assist you with a room type of your preference had we been made aware of this during your stay but unfortunately we were not.

We are glad to see you did enjoy the breakfast though. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly should you return again to areas as we would like to ensure your next stay is perfect in all aspects.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
480 reviews
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
160 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
532 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Property: Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#2 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing