We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Villa Suites are Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Freeport, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Villa Suites are Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had the opportunity to stay two nights at the Villa Suites at this hotel (room # 19). They are incredibly spacious with a large sitting room (with electric fireplace), a bedroom and a huge bathroom with separate tub and shower.

The grounds are kept in excellent condition.

Dinnner at the Monneaux Restaurant was a wonderful experience as was breakfast (in the "Breakfast Room").

Complimentary wi-fi is provided too.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend upgrading to one of the Villa Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boeing747-8I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    143
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
86
550
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Two nights here wasn't enough. Beautiful setting and rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Good location for exploring the local area, by bike! Meals at the restaurant at a very high standard, would particularly recommend the taster menu with suitable wines.
Spacious comfortable rooms in the luxury villas, reasonably priced mini bar facility. Spa provided a thoroughly enjoyable massage.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhb
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had an excellent experience at the hotel. It felt like home away from home. I wouldn't change anything. excellent service by staff too. the ambience is spot on - relaxed, farm-style elegance. keep up the great work.
Vuyani Ngalwana, Kyalami, JHB, South Africa

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vngalwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We just stayed one night in this lovely hotel. We arrived late from Hermanus and were welcomed in our nice luxury room. We loved the smell of citrus over the whole area as the lemons were in pots over the whole place. Our room had a nice fire place which we did not use.
As we were a little tired we did not bother to go to a different restaurant and enjoyed the very nice and good food in the restaurant of the hotel. When we arrive in our room we were pleasantly surprised with a warm pitcher in our bed, which stayed warm untill the next moring. This was very pleasant as during the day it was warm but the nights could be cold.
There was free wifi in the hotel which is always nice to have.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welletjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We arrived as a tour party of six after a week a half on safari in Botswanna & some sightseeing in capetown. We can't say enough of our experience at this hotel. When we arrived we were informed we had been 'Upgraded' to a better room. All three couples said they could have lived in their rooms they were so nice,elegant and spacious.Lunch was made specially for us, no problems as we arrived late. Of all the hotels and Safari Lodges we stayed at over three weeks on tour this was the best not only for the rooms but the meals were superb to say the least. All the staff bent over backwards for us & organized wine tours, entertainment in town and even drove into town & purchased a pack of gaspers for one of our crew.We can thoroughly recommend the Country House for a truly relaxing and pleasant experience.

Room Tip: The three rooms we stayed in were behind the Breakfast Meal room backing onto the winery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJG11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

I read the prior reviews and was up for some thing special...it did not happen...the staff approach each request as a chore...it is a great diappointment...I would suggest looking for an alternate hotel in the area....

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhstrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPS101, Manager at Franschhoek Country House & Villas, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear mhstrass, thank you for your feedback. We sincerely regret you did not experience that for which we are known as we strive to keep all our guests happy at all times. We will be sure to use your feedback in the training of our staff. Our apologies for any inconvenience caused
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st simons island, ga
Level Contributor
159 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This posting is one of several reporting on our Aug. 2012 family trip (2 grandparents, 2 parents, two 10 year olds) to Johannesburg (Westcliff Hotel), Victoria Falls (Royal Livingstone Hotel), Botswana (Camps: Kwetsani, Little Mombo, Jack's Camp). All booked through the tour operator Africa Odyssy. An add-on trip was done by myself & husband to Cape Town, Plett Bay & Franschook in the winelands, booked through Travel Butlers.

This was a 2 night stop at the end of a 3 wk vacation....just my husband & I. The Villa was the luxury we needed at this point. HUGE living room w/mini bar & fireplace. HUGE bedroom. Heated floors throughout. Two patios...one with private view of a little vinyard. Romatic, lemon/lavendar themes were nice. Walking distance to town...although they have a shuttle and will drive you to dinner & pick you up. (Advisable!!)

In Spring & Summer, gardens must be beautiful. Full international buffet breakfast. Hot dishes available. Several sitting rooms/lounges in various buildings. PC & printer in one lounge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Property: Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing