We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Two nights here wasn't enough. Beautiful setting and rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Good location for exploring the local area, by bike! Meals at the restaurant at a very high standard, would particularly recommend the taster menu with suitable wines.
Spacious comfortable rooms in the luxury villas, reasonably priced mini bar facility. Spa provided a thoroughly enjoyable massage.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 828 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had an excellent experience at the hotel. It felt like home away from home. I wouldn't change anything. excellent service by staff too. the ambience is spot on - relaxed, farm-style elegance. keep up the great work.
Vuyani Ngalwana, Kyalami, JHB, South Africa

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vngalwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We just stayed one night in this lovely hotel. We arrived late from Hermanus and were welcomed in our nice luxury room. We loved the smell of citrus over the whole area as the lemons were in pots over the whole place. Our room had a nice fire place which we did not use.
As we were a little tired we did not bother to go to a different restaurant and enjoyed the very nice and good food in the restaurant of the hotel. When we arrive in our room we were pleasantly surprised with a warm pitcher in our bed, which stayed warm untill the next moring. This was very pleasant as during the day it was warm but the nights could be cold.
There was free wifi in the hotel which is always nice to have.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welletjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We arrived as a tour party of six after a week a half on safari in Botswanna & some sightseeing in capetown. We can't say enough of our experience at this hotel. When we arrived we were informed we had been 'Upgraded' to a better room. All three couples said they could have lived in their rooms they were so nice,elegant and spacious.Lunch was made specially for us, no problems as we arrived late. Of all the hotels and Safari Lodges we stayed at over three weeks on tour this was the best not only for the rooms but the meals were superb to say the least. All the staff bent over backwards for us & organized wine tours, entertainment in town and even drove into town & purchased a pack of gaspers for one of our crew.We can thoroughly recommend the Country House for a truly relaxing and pleasant experience.

Room Tip: The three rooms we stayed in were behind the Breakfast Meal room backing onto the winery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJG11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

I read the prior reviews and was up for some thing special...it did not happen...the staff approach each request as a chore...it is a great diappointment...I would suggest looking for an alternate hotel in the area....

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhstrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPS101, Manager at Franschhoek Country House & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear mhstrass, thank you for your feedback. We sincerely regret you did not experience that for which we are known as we strive to keep all our guests happy at all times. We will be sure to use your feedback in the training of our staff. Our apologies for any inconvenience caused

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This posting is one of several reporting on our Aug. 2012 family trip (2 grandparents, 2 parents, two 10 year olds) to Johannesburg (Westcliff Hotel), Victoria Falls (Royal Livingstone Hotel), Botswana (Camps: Kwetsani, Little Mombo, Jack's Camp). All booked through the tour operator Africa Odyssy. An add-on trip was done by myself & husband to Cape Town, Plett Bay & Franschook in the winelands, booked through Travel Butlers.

This was a 2 night stop at the end of a 3 wk vacation....just my husband & I. The Villa was the luxury we needed at this point. HUGE living room w/mini bar & fireplace. HUGE bedroom. Heated floors throughout. Two patios...one with private view of a little vinyard. Romatic, lemon/lavendar themes were nice. Walking distance to town...although they have a shuttle and will drive you to dinner & pick you up. (Advisable!!)

In Spring & Summer, gardens must be beautiful. Full international buffet breakfast. Hot dishes available. Several sitting rooms/lounges in various buildings. PC & printer in one lounge.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Went on a business trip in august. from the time we arrived till we departed we were helped in every way. the breakfast lunch and dinner were well prepared and yummy. the staff alway ready to assist. it warm a warm homely feeling throughout my stay. the bedroon was clean and the extra touch just made it meaningful. well done to all the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dendalene p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
696 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
184 reviews
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
508 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
551 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: $270 - $664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing