We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lovely and all those Lemons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Nickelsville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Lovely and all those Lemons”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Another wonderful place to stay in South Africa. The wine country was fabulous- and so was our lodging at the Franschhoeck Country House. Dinner here was delicious and comparable to the "better known" places where we dined. One night we even brought our wine, cheese and olives and enjoyed dinner on our balcony after a day of much,much wine tasting. The restaurant next door was great for lunch, too. And breakfast was just lovely-especially when served on the balcony. Delicious and necessary as we spent every day going from one winery to the next. Tough job, but somebody's got to do it! I do wish I had booked a spa visit while here, but I didn't, so I can't report on that. I am still amazed that they use 50 bags of lemons every week. They are all over the the Country House, and look lovely! Plus, I understand that they use the lemons afterwards for laundry, cleaning etc.
One note, our room was located on the 2nd floor and the steps were a little steep-be prepared if up and down steps is difficult for you.

Room Tip: As noted above the steps can be a little steep. Rooms looking to the mountains and over the grounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheeplady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    144
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
88
561
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

A stay at the villa's is a must do! We love to go there. This was our fifth visit to this beautiful place. The rooms, linen and the decor are so special! The staff are very friendly and they will go out of there way to help you. We always feel like a king and queen after a night or two in the villa's. Do visit the Monneaux Restaurant on site - very, very good! Hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, Co Down
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

My wife and I had a 2 night stay in Franschhoek as part of our honeymoon.
The villas have quite a nice setting although lacking somewhat in privacy as they are situated quite close together.
We were staying in a luxury room which was very nice. Bathroom was of a good size as well. Unfortunately the room had a strong odour of smoke.
The receptionist, whose name I can not recall, organised a complimentary return lift into town on our first night and also arranged a wine tour for the following day. The wine tour was superb.
Breakfast was excellent on both mornings but service was painfully slow, to the point where we had to approach staff to take our order.
We ate in the hotel restaurant on the second night - Monneaux.
The service was adequate but both my wife and I found the food to be quite acceptable but certainly we were not blown away. The meal we received the previous night at another restaurant in Franschhoek was of a much higher standard and at a cheaper price.
Checkout took an age. There was only one receptionist on duty and the couple in front of me seemed to query everything they had been charged for!
This may have explained her lack of concentration when it came to my turn as she failed to charge me for our wine tour.
Everyone one can make a mistake but what I found hard to forgive was calling me to my hotel room in Cape Town two days later at 8.10am seeking payment!!
I have two young girls at home who normally wake me early. When I am on holiday I do not expect to receive the same treatment!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazzamufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPS101, Owner at Franschhoek Country House & Villas, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Thank you for your comments and constructive feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed certain aspects of your stay.

We also take note of your comments on service and especially the problems experienced on check out. Whilst we you were assisted by a new (trainee) receptionist on check-out who also tried to contact you at a later stage, we appreciate this is not acceptable and apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Please feel free to contact us should you visit the area again as we would welcome the opportunity to welcome you back and making your stay memorable in all aspects!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Our rooms here were spacious and decorated with beautiful draperies and linens. The bed was extremely comfortable and we enjoyed the wood burning fireplace both nights that were were there. Also, downstairs in the section where we stayed was a large, comfortable living room area with a nice fireplace where we were able to sit and visit with our friends after dinner. The location was great for touring and tasting in the wine country.

We ate dinner both nights at the restaurant, both dinners were very good and the service was excellent. Our breakfasts were also delicious with lots of nice fruit and an assortment of meats and cheeses, there was also a menu to order additional hot items. The staff was very attentive and pleasant throughout the Country House and easy to communicate with. There was a computer available to use free of charge which was a nice way to check in with famoly back home.

The property is lovely, we would have loved to stay longer!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommyjnumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This place was recommended by our African Safari Travel Agent and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms are spacious and the grounds beautiful. You have the feel that you are at a French chateau. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They offer a complimentary shuttle into town to drop you and pick you up at your restaurant of choice for the evening.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OverNextHorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2011

A delightful country hotel, close to Franschhoek, complimentary transfer service in the village. Friendly but not overbearing staff. Standard rooms not ultra luxurious but very comfortable, everything you need and a lovely atmosphere

Highlight was the restaurant which we can not recommend enough!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankiemills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay in the Winelands - we stayed here over Stellenbosch - and it was a great hotel with great services / restaurant and staff. Short and sweet. STAY HERE. Best hotel we stayed in in SA - and we dont mess around!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelHamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
490 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
657 reviews
1.4 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
165 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
539 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franschhoek Country House & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franschhoek Country House & Villas

Property: Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Address: Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#1 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Franschhoek Country House & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by enchanting vineyards and majestic mountains, this small Boutique hotel is set on the outskirts of the town of Franschhoek, in the Cape Winelands less than an hours drive from Cape Town. Offering a selection of standard, luxury, garden cottages and the exclusive villa suites. With a top rated award winning restaurant, guests can relax and enjoy the hospitality, laze at the pool, enjoy a massage or stroll on the world-renowned charming town of Franschhoek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franschhoek Country House & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franschhoek Country House And Villas
Franschhoek Country House & Villas Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek Country Hotel
Franschhoek Country Boutique Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing