We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice pic-nic area but the food doesn't really follow...”

Boschendal Manor & Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.85*
and up
Vine Hopper: Hop-On Hop-Off Wine Tour - Eastern Route
Ranked #4 of 59 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Agriculture and a simple farm lifestyle is at the heart of Boschendal. One of the oldest farms in South Africa, founded 1685, the farm has grown with the passing centuries into a cherished source of wholesome produce, great wines and happy memories. Set in the Drakenstein Valley surrounded by dramatic mountain landscapes, lush gardens and vines, the original farmstead complex is now a national monument with a rich and intriguing history of more than 300 years. Today, Boschendal is a Cape winelands icon and a cherished wine and food destination. Our vineyards and fruit trees have been joined by vegetable gardens and a growing herd of free range, 100% pasture fed Angus cattle reflecting our commitment to serving wholesome farm-to-table food. Guest accommodation is also a recent addition to the farm with luxurious cottage accommodation ranging from the exclusive and historic Rhodes Cottage built by Sir Herbert Baker to the elegantly restored Werf Cottages. Cottage guests enjoy access to the entire farm where they can walk and cycle on trails through mountain fynbos, dine under the stars, have picnics and sundowners in exclusive areas, fly-fish in the dams and swim in pristine mountain water.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“nice pic-nic area but the food doesn't really follow...”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

the good point is that we made a reservation for a pic-nic basket last minute and they made it happen..the area is really nice for sure...,the only inconvenient is that you can't choose what you are having in your basket so we left half of it(there were things we didn't like)...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mariecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    539
    256
    89
    38
    37
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Picnic in the grounds”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We booked a hamper for two in advance so it was all ready for us. Just choose a table in the shade of a tree or the staff will bring a sun umbrella. Linen table cloths, ice bucket, wine by the glass or bottle. Your waiter brings the picnic basket to your table. Great food and wine. Very good service from the waiters.
Also visited the manor house which is furnished and has a written guide in many languages, very good value to see how they lived.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings & great wine”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The winery is kept in very good condition and provided a very nice day out. The manor was interesting to see and also is in great condition for its age.
Went there mainly for lunch and had a great time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Visit - January 2014”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I have just spent 3 days in the Stellenbosch area with my wife and two friends and visited 6 different vineyards. I can honestly say that boschendal was by far the worst we visited. Everywhere we went whether the cafe, wine tasting or the shop gave us the impression that they simple could not be bothered. Boschendal was the largest but the worst. Why they open up to visitors when they can't be bothered to do it properly I don,t know. Toilets were appalling. Suggest they visit Thelema, Ernie Ells, Solms Delta etc etc to see how it should be done. They know about customer service and enthusiasm for their product.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suider Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

This was my second experience of the Boschendal picnic, and it was much improved on the first! Although the basket selection has not changed much, the quality has. There was too much for two, and sadly some things were left. The service was excellent.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boschendal Manor & Winery also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Boschendal Manor & Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing