We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10th Wedding Anniversary bliss!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Residence
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“10th Wedding Anniversary bliss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Wow! What a way to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary! We could not have asked for a better way to celebrate this special occasion. From the moment we arrived, we were pampered and treated like royalty. The staff were simply outstanding! The spa treatments were the best we've ever had, the food and wine experience was world class and the special romantic turn down was just the icing on the cake!

Thank you for creating such a wonderful memory that we will never forget!

Room Tip: Stayed in Chambre Bleu Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rivermanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    8
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
177
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Thank you to all the staff for an exceptional stay. This establishment is seven star. Want to have your every wim and desire met, warm friendly, accommodating, nothing is too much trouble. This is a definitely to be repeated experience. Opulent, inviting, just faultless. Peter and lee-Anne Hodson

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Skintonic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Br
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

One of the best hotels I've ever been, where the service makes you feel like royalty. You are received by the staff, with glasses of champagne and a small flower bouquets for the women ! We rented the 2 bedroom villa for the weekend and can't say that it could have been better. The rooms are super confortable and the bathroom is amazing. They open up your bed at night, light the fireplace and if you prefer your family can dine at the villa, instead of the restaurant. Private backyard with swimming pool. You have a 24/7 service.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisRocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kusnacht, Switzerland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I was sorting through photos of our trip to South Africa, and our stay at La Residence in Franschhoek, and I just had to write a review to urge everyone going to South Africa not to miss out on this one-of-a-kind experience.

I was there with my family in February of 2013 to relax, enjoy and celebrate my birthday. There is no way I could have chosen a better place. I was a little nervous because we have never visited South Africa before, but the whole family enjoyed discovering a piece of this beautiful country. We were at Cape Grace for a week first, and loved it, and then we hired a driver to bring us to La Residence. I knew immediately it was going to be amazing as we came up the driveway through the gardens and vines. La Residence is a newly built hotel but this is not readily apparent. Everything looks and feels stately, yet relaxing. This is one of the few places I have seen where the ambience is both grand and comfy at the same time. Ceilings are very high, fireplaces are huge, floors are marble or granite or stone, but there are cozy sitting areas everywhere, lots of interesting things to look at as far as decoration, and a million places to hide with a book.

We stayed in a two bedroom villa, and I thought that was perfect. We had plenty of room, plenty of privacy (I heard no one during our stay) and an unbelievable view of vineyard, hill, and mountain. We had a pool which I was dying to use, but it was not heated, so I didn't get in except for dipping my feet.
The bathrooms are excellent, the toiletries I loved (can't remember what brand but it was new to me and they smelled really cool, kind of unusual). The beds are very, very comfortable and the pillows were good too.

All of that comes second place to the kindness and the good nature of everyone who worked at La Residence. These people were so, so nice. The villa we stayed in (number 4, I loved it) had a sister villa - each side shared a tiny entryway - and both villas were looked after by a lady named Joanna who had the only duty (I believe) to look after these two houses' every whim. I never experienced anything like it. She made us tea every morning and brought it down to our villa; she had a meeting with my kids to discuss what kind of birthday cake to make for me; she found out we liked scones, and we had these every day in the afternoon as a snack, delivered to our villa and set up outside like a Wonderland tea party; she asked which newspapers we liked to read, and these were brought with the tea in the morning. We also (if we felt so inclined) could have breakfast and lunch up at a clubhouse dedicated to the villa guests. This clubhouse, complete with tv room, small library, games, etc. and pool, was about ten steps from our villa.

And I didn't even say anything yet about the food and the wine!
La Residence is bottling its own wine now, and the vintage is very young, but still tastes fine. Each villa is presented a bottle to take home as a gift, which I did. I am saving it for a special occasion :-)
The men and women in the kitchen are a very impressive cooking force: we LOVED everything we ate! Everything! And all the pairings I thought were great too. We should probably have gone out to other places for a meal but it was just so nice there, we couldn't be bothered to leave the hotel.

I think for what a wonderful stay it was, the price is right, too. This is one hotel that is not too expensive for what it delivers. I really, really look forward to going back again, and I wish La Residence all the success it deserves. I heard that the same company will open a hotel in Cape Town, and I look forward to visiting this property too.

I did not visit the spa, so I don't know anything about it but cannot imagine it would be disappointing.

Room Tip: Stay in a villa if you can - it is like being at home away from home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heavycat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is the ultimate place to stay we absolutely love it. From the moment we drive up the sweeping drive, past the springbok we feel a warm welcome. Each room is beautifully decorated with fabulous views over the vineyards. The whole place has an eclectic style with art and objects collected from all around the world. The result is lavish but elegant and a real feast for the eyes. The food is delicious and the chefs go out of their way to cater for all tastes. What truly makes La Residence stand out though is the wonderful staff who go above and beyond to make your stay special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I just left La Residence a few days ago and cannot stop thinking about my stay. The hotel was about half booked when my husband and I stayed, yet we felt as though we were the only people there. Every meal is done at your convenience (all delicious), the rooms are gorgeously decorated, the views are perfect and the staff was the most hospitable of any place I've been. Hands down, one of my favorite places I have ever stayed. Thank you!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 8, it was perfect and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeGirl35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I have had the great pleasure of staying at many high-end chateaux in France over the years and nothing I have experienced (not even Chateaux Le Crayers in Reims) comes close. This is spectacular, splendiferous spoiling on a grand scale providing a sophistication and jaw-dropping beauty unmatched anywhere in the area. Be certain to stay "in" for dinner which will enchant and any romantic will be in heaven! Congratulations to Edward and his team for a flawless experience. I cannot wait to return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.0 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.6 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence

Property: La Residence
Address: Elandskloof Private Road | Elandskloof Farm, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#2 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Residence is in a class of its own. Located in the beautiful Franschhoek valley, where the exquisite vineyards and mountains form a picture perfect backdrop, La Residence provides a haven of luxurious accommodation, fine dining and an all-round sensory indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and South African Hotels so you can book your La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing