We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax”
Review of La Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Residence
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

After being on safari for a week and the coming here we found it so tranquil and a place of real beauty. South Africa has so many different types of land and to be out in the wine country is a real treat. La Res made us feel right at home with their great service. The rooms were stunning with each of them having their own theme and an amazing view on the mountains. The food was amazing and good choices with a great view while eating. The wine was so crisp and paired well with all the food. We had plans to eat lunch one day at a winery but we fell in love with the scenery and the great service that we canceled that and stayed for lunch here! This is a picture perfect place that you will enjoy and never forget.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 306 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

My friends and I had lunch @ La Residence Hotel. Beautifully decorated, clean and warm with magnificent franschhoek mountains views. It's so quiet and tranquil a perfect escape from all the hectic working life.

Room Tip: Check out Nomatemba room or Villa 4, you won't regret!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abongile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel blew us away. The design was stunning. An impressive mixture of French, Asian and and African design and art. Strong colors and a thoughtful layout. Beautiful location among the vineyards. The personal service was outstanding. The food is also excellent. Our best dinner while in town was sitting in front of the fireplace in the main hall. Elton John stays here whenever he is in town and has a room specially designed from him. While an exceptional place, it is quite expensive, so only for those willing to pay for the uber-premium experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 1, which was outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KilburnPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The setting, the surroundings, the rooms and the service were fantastic!
Placed on a carefully chosen hilltop on the picturesque outskirts of Franschhoek, about an hour and a half from Capetown (enjoyable ride btw) in the heart of the wine region, this is the perfect choice for couples that still enjoy each other’s company.
The rooms are beautifully appointed and tastefully decorated by the owner, each being very different in style but all enjoying fantastic views and featuring a bathroom fit for royalty.
Stylish yet functional and enjoying all the modern facilities in terms of comfort and amenities but having this air of past colonial times, the room is practically a "two room suite" of which one of the two rooms is the bathroom. It's huge!
The service is spotless. All departments from housekeeping to reception to the restaurant staff, this guest services manager who personally handles guests (sort of a guest relations manager-concierge) and up to the resident manager are genuinely nice, very professional without being annoying and ready to help with anything one may think of.
Example: It was my birthday while staying there and I fancied as a gift to myself a one hour helicopter sightseeing tour of the surrounding area and the coastline. They have arranged for one to be landing on their lawn to pick us up and boosted everything up by having one of the staff serving us champagne before boarding.
Totally satisfied with the facility and the service and can’t wait to go back one day!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hermes-Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

la residence is one of the most exceptional hotels we have had the pleasure of staying in. The accommodation is enchanting the staff are attentive, the breakfasts are delicious and we also had a dinner next to the fire place which was exceptional. we have travelled all over the world and stayed at many hotels and i can honestly say la residence is one of the finest hotels that we have had the pleasure of staying at. Thank you to all the staff and we would love to visit again

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taube and steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

When you enter the Lounge you have the feeling that one of the famous master painters took all he could to create a very special piece of art. A Bohemian Rhapsody full of creative patterns and mixes. The Suites are all different and my favorite is the Elton John Suite with a stunning view over the valley. We had a perfect cocktail and the dessert in front of the fireplace.
The manager was very helpful while the staff we saw, was not really performing well. Maybe we were there at a quiet time as we could not see other people but they told us the next day would be fully booked. Hopefully, because this hotel is too pretty to be empty. The prices are high but worth it. Brilliant ambiance over all!

Room Tip: We found the suites on the left wing with the Elton John Suite nicer than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bushara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

It's almost impossible to describe in words how unbelievably magnificent this place is. Personal service abounds and anything you want is delivered with a smile and "pleasure."

Room Tip: All suites are beautiful. We loved #11, the Maharani Suite. It doesn't get any better than this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brudoburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
193 reviews
0.9 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
556 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
514 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence

Address: Elandskloof Private Road | Elandskloof Farm, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: $867 - $2,318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Residence is in a class of its own. Located in the beautiful Franschhoek valley, where the exquisite vineyards and mountains form a picture perfect backdrop, La Residence provides a haven of luxurious accommodation, fine dining and an all-round sensory indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing