We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Touch of Stardom!”
Review of La Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Residence
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Touch of Stardom!”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is the first review that I have changed the title 3 times: "Out of This World", "6 Stars & More" but I settled with this last one above.

My partner & I stayed in the "Marble Suite". The big windows in front of the bed opened to views of the vineyard and nature abound. Lots of original artworks in the room and they were well-appointed.

It was part of the itinerary of our S.A. trip celebrating a good friend's 50th birthday. Thanks to Heritage Tour for having picked this wonderful treat for us.

The infinity pool right outside the lobby was absolutely gorgeous. The mountain view was a feast for the eyes. Yet it was peaceful and serene.

Service was impeccable from arrival, at lunch and room service - A touch of stardom for the ordinary me! : )

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    8
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
186
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

What a beautiful, relaxing retreat nestled in the Franschoek Valley. From the minute we arrived we were so well looked after, no signing in just taken to our suite and from then on pure relaxation and indulgence.

Beautiful suite, wonderful view and certainly no complaints about a thing. Everything here works like clockwork, no sooner you want something it arrives whatever it may be. If in Franschoek La Residence is a must.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter they all have individual qualities
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Our friends had the ultimate wedding at La Residence - the first wedding on the estate. It was by far the most magnificent, luxurious and elegant wedding I have ever been to. My boyfriend and I were lucky enough to stay at this gem for the night of the wedding and we were treated like royalty! Everything at La Residence is thought through to the smallest detail, the staff are exceptionally trained, and nothing is too much hassle for them. We stayed in the The Nomatemba Suite which was delightful and superbly designed. It was a delight to go into the room, from the massive bed, to the gorgeous library and extravagant bathroom. The views are to die for and everything is so tranquil, you feel rested after 5 minutes sitting on the balcony. The food was incredible and the pool and garden are something you can only dream of. Edward Morton the manager is truly delightful and goes beyond his duties to ensure your stay is nothing but bliss. If you are visiting Cape Town, this is an absolute must whilst exploring the winelands - nothing else compares.

Room Tip: The Nomatemba Suite is beyond gorgeous. The bright yellows and quirky style is so fun and is filled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This was our third time at La Residence and it really is the most wonderful place. The service is some of the best I have ever experienced and the hotel is beautiful. We were shown around the new residence villas that would be great if you are two couples travelling together. The design in each room and villa is different and amazingly furnished. There is now a gym which whilst not having major machines etc is perfectly good for a little exercise if you feel the need to work off some calories! I cannot recommend La Residence highly enough- go on treat yourself it's somewhere you will remember for the rest of your life!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petersitges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

La Residence is really the best place to stay in Franschhoek ! From the friendly welcome to the delicious food, the luxurious rooms and the outstanding service, everything is perfect and truly 5 star. On arrival, my partner and I were welcomed by the general manager Edward Morton and the deputy manager Nick. We were given a glass of cold champagne and a small bunch of roses which I thought was a very nice touch and gave us a taste of things to come. We stayed in the Frangipani Suite which has an impressive full marble four poster bed and the biggest bathroom I had ever seen!!! We had lunch and dinner at La Residence and I must say it was delicious and well presented. They also have an impressive wine selection to compliment the food. It was a very hot weekend in Franschhoek so we decided to lay by the pool and enjoy the beautiful view. La Residence is like an oasis of peace and elegance in the middle of the winelands. I love it and recommend it to everyone!!!

Room Tip: Go on their website to check the rooms as each one is very unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12Laure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Wow, what an amazing place. We stayed here for one night while on a trip through SA and Zimbabwe. Our only disappointment was that we only booked one night here. I could not think of even one suggestion for improvement. The staff were amazing friendly, but at the same time, not at all trying too hard. The rooms are out of this world, each one uniquely designed. The bathrooms are something I could easily live in for a week! The food and wine.... Wow!

If you can afford it (it's not cheap!), don't look any further. Stay here. Basil.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

The foregoing reviews say it all. This hotel is exceptional. It's undeniably expensive but, as very often isn't the case, at La Residence you do get what you're paying for. Don't think of staying anywhere else if you're visiting this area.

Room Tip: Discuss your requirements with the hotel beforehand, they will guide you to an excellent choice! We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.0 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
160 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.5 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
533 reviews
2.6 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residence

Property: La Residence
Address: Elandskloof Private Road | Elandskloof Farm, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Franschhoek
#2 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Business Hotel in Franschhoek
#5 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Residence is in a class of its own. Located in the beautiful Franschhoek valley, where the exquisite vineyards and mountains form a picture perfect backdrop, La Residence provides a haven of luxurious accommodation, fine dining and an all-round sensory indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your La Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing