We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goose second time round"”
Review of Paulina's

Paulina's
Ranked #42 of 84 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Price range: $7 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: Take a seat overlooking the Rickety Bridge vineyards. Sip a glassful of crisp estate wine and enjoy a delicious lunch while drinking in the splendour of the magnificent surroundings. Every creation from our team of talented chefs is given extra zest by the striking beauty of the setting and stunning views of the Franschhoek mountains.Rickety Bridge is an enchanting Franschhoek wine estate that earns its place in the Cape’s cuisine capital. Franschhoek is home to some of the best restaurants in South Africa.The Restaurant in the Vines has made way for Paulina’s, named in honour of the original owner of the property in 1797, Paulina de Villiers.In keeping with current culinary trends, the restaurant features a variety of half and full portions of its exciting bistro style menu, allowing diners the opportunity to sample and share dishes.Executive chef Melissa Bruyns (previously at Haute Cabriere and Westin Grand) explains: “the half portions are larger than a conventional tapas serving, so ideal for sharing, or having as a starter. I believe in using fresh seasonal ingredients, and letting them speak for themselves, beautifully prepared and presented, but without over-elaboration. We have planted a herb and vegetable garden on Rickety Bridge to ensure that I have plenty to work with”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Second experience there - because of good first experience. Love the variety on the menu - catering for different pallets. Love the half portion options! The sorbet selection is SUBLIME!

Thank Marliese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nena B, General Manager at Paulina's, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Hi Marliese, we are thrilled that you have had such a great time with us, its really good experiences like yours and your feedback that make it worth our while! We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 115 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

We tried to go there for lunch today. It appears they prefer to cater to bus tours than walk in customers as we were told it was sold out. We'd just come from another restaurant where we had the same response. So we asked for a recommendation of a good restaurant nearby where we could be sure they wouldn't be sold out. The answer was La Motte. We went there and guess what? The same thing. So the recommendation wasted even more of our time. It seems a fair number of Franschoek restaurants prefer bus tours to individual tourists.

    • Service
1  Thank SEFlyerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nena B, General Manager at Paulina's, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

We are terribly sorry that you had such a bad Franchhoek experience but unfortunately Franschhoek is a huge tourist destination. We would never send anyone away unless we really didnt have any other choice. We also normally have weddings on Saturdays so we cannot accommodate the same amount of people that we do on the other days. As for the rest of Franchhoek we cant ever give a proper recommendation as we have no idea how their reservation books look for the day. We can only try to direct you to other places where we have heard good things from. If you are ever in the area again, please give us a call and we promise to make it up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We came with the Wine Tram, skipped the wine tasting and headed strait for lunch. I had the trout fish cake, my partner the calamari. Service was fast and efficient. Both dishes we tasty, served with fresh green salads. Delicious! The waiter in the purple shirt was exceptionally friendly and made us feel very welcome. Definitely a venue to revisit and to recommend to others.

Thank Mo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nena B, General Manager at Paulina's, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

It is such great news that you enjoyed your stay, I will give Garth (with the purple shirt) your compliments. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

A lovely venue with a good selection of food. I had a simple chicken curry and it was delicious served in a little pot (with a hot lid). We also shared a beautiful trio of desserts.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nena B, General Manager at Paulina's, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thank you so much for your visit, we always enjoy hearing these things. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We took friends to lunch to say thank you - 2 of the Rickety Bridge white wines are served by the glass so we asked to taste so that we could choose between the Chenin Blanc and the Sauvignon Blanc. You would think we had asked for a free bottle - we got an exasperated response that queried whether we had been in the tasting room ...No, we had come for lunch. Eventually our request was met and a good thing too as both were not to our liking. We asked the waitress to recommend between the reserves and she suggested the Sauvignon Blanc. It was a good recommendation and we thanked her. She was quite unfriendly for the remainder of our visit. No one forces you to work in the hospitality industry! The food was good as were most of the desserts - with the exception of the home made sorbet which was not up to standard. The little Chinese spoons look pretty but in all instances they were turned the wrong way when served and simply do not work for eating...we had to ask for dessert teaspoons. I didn't see any sign of a manager on duty!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DineFrequently
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nena B, General Manager at Paulina's, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

We are terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your visit, there is no excuse for staff to question you wanting to taste the wine. This will be addressed and we hope that you can stop by again and give us another try sometime. Please let us know and we promise to make it up to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paulina's also viewed

 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Paulina's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing