We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good breakfast”
Review of Sacred Ground

Sacred Ground
Ranked #44 of 76 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Mtubatuba, South Africa
Level Contributor
164 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“good breakfast”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Started with a really good Coffee and amazing bratwurst and egg breakfast , unfortunately the eggs Benedict ruined the excellent rating I should have given Sacred ground. The hollandaise Sauce was far too oily.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vumaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    109
    42
    24
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Gorgeous home baked treats”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you are a foodie, this store/cafe is a must. Beautiful presentation of homebaked and locally sourced food. I dare you to leave without something to tickle your taste buds.
Gorgeous cupcakes too !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Notstandingstill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome addition to our little village of Franschhoek”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wow we have been needing a top notch bakery in Franschhoek, and now we have it. Sacred Ground is more than a Bakery and Coffeehouse, it is also a Deli with beautiful meats and cheeses along with some beautiful gourmet items. great spot for a morning breakfast and our a light lunch. I highly recommend the smiling faces of Sacred Ground

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 501frankr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Such a great addition to Franschhoek! Fantastic breads and charcuterie to go but definitely come for the delicious sandwiches and delicious breakfast.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank alexkafka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The world's best sandwich?”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

If Carlsberg ran a coffee shop and deli, it would be this one! Great coffee, as we would expect, but then the sandwich...

We went for the "Pig out" - pork belly, beautifully cooked in a sticky, rich and sweet barbecue sauce, on sliced avocado and salad. What a combination, in sour dough bread, one of several bread choices.

Great value and a combination of flavours I'm inspired to try and replicate back home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petervenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sacred Ground also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Sacred Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing