We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely lunch concept. Worth the stop!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leopard's Leap

Leopard's Leap
Ranked #24 of 57 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch concept. Worth the stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for a lovely light lunch while touring the wine farms. They have a delightful selection of salads that you can combine with your choice of meat. The meat is all done on a rottisserie. The chicken could have been a bit more crispy but the rest was devine. The wine-cocktails are a must! Tired of tasting just wine- try these. A simple twist on a classic!
The desserts were fabulous! We will visit again!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Minnaars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    30
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south africa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“room with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

this winery restaurant has given franschhoek a wonderfully alternative,in terms of a modern beautifully equipped winery and restaurant all in one.Great wines at affordable prices,and a carvery with buffet style eating of very high quality food.The idea of selecting your food table wines ,at cellar price has never existed in franschhoek before,cannot rate this estate highly enough.fabulousviews in fact the best position in franschhoek,try it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank michaelhilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Easy, light and crisp Leopard's Leap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

After turning around at 3 different estates, we finally made a u - turn on our way to Franschhoek. And yep the u-turn was worth it. Nice open spaces, casual, affordable quality wine with a lovely spread for a light lunch. Certainly going back. Friendly staff, nice crockery and cutlery and the music perfect for the afternoon. And hey, my beef fillet accompanied by some of my favourite Dijon whole grain mustard - Joy joy!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Juliette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
342 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable restaurant..casual with affordable wine from the estates' vinyards”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Take note : the restaurant does not take reservations and is very busy on a Sunday...so get there early. A large selection of salads from a buffet to choose from, are weighed and then meat from the rotisserie - one can choose from pork, chicken, lamb or beef added.Good value,wine inexpensive & lovely setting.
Open for lunch only Wednesday to Saturday.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue53_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch/ Wine Tasting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband & I were staying directly opposite Leopard's Leap (Fransvliet Guest House) so cycled over for a light bite one lunchtime...we ended up having a huge lunch! Food was excellent, perfect for lunch, not really a dinner place though.

They have a huge salad bar set up, you help yourself & everything is weighed at the end, you can then chose to add chicken (rotisserie), pork belly or other meats from the kitchen at the end, everything is fresh & delicious! They also have a very wide choice of wonderful deserts.

Wine tasting is also very good, you can either sit at the tasting bar or sit on one of the comfy sofa's overlooking the vineyards. I didn't see any outdoor seating whilst there.

The building itself is very new/ corporate so perhaps not as quaint or picturesque as other eateries in Franschhoek, but I do highly recommend the food so great for a quick stop rather than a long lunch.

Prices were also very fair for the area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Horton-Clarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leopard's Leap also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Leopard's Leap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing