We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and easy way to see and taste some of the wine.”

Franschhoek Wine Tram
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.77*
and up
Full-Day Franschhoek Wine Tram Experience from Cape Town
Ranked #2 of 60 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover the Vineyards of Franschhoek. The Franschhoek Wine Tram hop-on hop-off tour is one of the best ways to discover the true essence of the Franschhoek Valley - picturesque vineyards, breath-taking scenery, warm hospitality, world-class cuisine, fine wines and a 300-year history. Tour Experience: Passengers aboard the hop-on hop-off tour will experience a unique and leisurely introduction to the Franschhoek Valley as they journey through rolling vineyards in an open-side tram and open-air tram-bus stopping at some of South Africa's oldest and most distinguished wine estates. A combination of tram and tram-bus follows a loop of stops allowing guests to hop off at each stop and experience the activities on offer, such as wine tasting, a cellar tour, lunch or simply a stroll through the vineyards. When ready guests simply hop on to continue the tour. The tour takes guests into the heart of the Franschhoek Valley, with a guided commentary and unparalleled views of the valley and vineyards. Ticket prices: R170 - R220
Tønsberg, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice and easy way to see and taste some of the wine.”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

What a nice way to travel around to see and taste wine!
We were tranported in buss, tram and tractor and had a mavelous time. We tasted nice wine in three places. Two were for free and one we payed for. We stopped at Dieu Donne to have lunch and a beautiful view over the valley.
We enjoyed this day and the very smiley and pleasent staff around us.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bmpaulsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,080
    408
    80
    18
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun way to see several vineyards and the countryside without driving”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We booked on line before our trip to South Africa without problems and spent a full day doing this trip catching the first bus at 10.00. A mixture of transport is used, including the vintage tram on the disused rail track , and we liked the variety of vineyards visited with their individual characteristics ..some with terrific views over the mountain (eg Haute Cabriere) , small and cosy (chamonix) , and Grand Provence , sophisticated with lovely gardens and sculptures.
40 minutes is just right for to soak up the ambience at each vineyard , and 80 minutes if you had lunch .We did not eat lunch however having seen all then La Provence would have been our choice for atmosphere in delightful cosy gardens though Dieu Donne has wonderful views of the mountain landscape.
It only cost 15 - 20 ZAR for each wine tasting not included in the tram ticket and there was no pressure to buy at all .
The guys on tram were helpful and friendly , it was well organised, quirky and it was fun sharing the experience with a few others on the tram.
We visited the museum in the early evening rather than the first stop preferring to see the vineyards before they became busy , it also meant we saw the museum at a relatively quiet time . There's a hidden garden with the guide told us which we might have missed.This trip is a great way to spend a car free day soaking up
The scenery, and the wine and was a highlight in our trip . Definitely recommended .

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank elainegwasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wine Tram - A tad disappointing”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We travelled the wine tour including the tram and I believe the thoughts of it are better than the actually experience. The wine companies just want to sell you their goods with little effort to tell you too much information that does not include a sales pitch!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Racing-Hippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“A Unique way to experience a few wine estates”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is a hop-on-off tour and enables one to spend a day in the Vineyards of Franschhoek.

Whilst the title wine train is a wee bit misleading this should not deter you and it should be noted that it is really a combination of train and bus both of which are open sided.

You get the opportunity to travel through the vineyards in a way not possible by car and a range of experiences are on offer from tours of a cellar, wine tasting, enjoying a lunch and even strolling around vineyards.

You can get 2 types of tours and each visits different estates.

If you are short on time or days in town then you may be better to drive out to just one wine estate for a wine tasting so you have time to explore the town and other local attractions.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wacky the Wizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wine tram and bus”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was different. Its not all tram, there is a bus involved. The price includes wine tasting at 2 of the stops

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Camperjacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franschhoek Wine Tram also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Franschhoek Wine Tram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing