We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bargain!”

Franschhoek Wine Tram
Book In Advance
More Info
$87.30*
and up
Full-Day Franschhoek Wine Tram Experience from Cape Town
Ranked #2 of 59 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover the Vineyards of Franschhoek. The Franschhoek Wine Tram hop-on hop-off tour is one of the best ways to discover the true essence of the Franschhoek Valley - picturesque vineyards, breath-taking scenery, warm hospitality, world-class cuisine, fine wines and a 300-year history. Tour Experience: Passengers aboard the hop-on hop-off tour will experience a unique and leisurely introduction to the Franschhoek Valley as they journey through rolling vineyards in an open-side tram and open-air tram-bus stopping at some of South Africa's oldest and most distinguished wine estates. A combination of tram and tram-bus follows a loop of stops allowing guests to hop off at each stop and experience the activities on offer, such as wine tasting, a cellar tour, lunch or simply a stroll through the vineyards. When ready guests simply hop on to continue the tour. The tour takes guests into the heart of the Franschhoek Valley, with a guided commentary and unparalleled views of the valley and vineyards. Ticket prices: R170 - R220
England
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A bargain!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

What a way to spend a day of our holiday. Sun was shining, 4 tastings and a very relaxed attitude all round. Take your time and write off the whole day. Having already eaten at Rickety Bridge on another tour, would recommend the food there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rosamund_bone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,072
    403
    79
    18
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great introduction”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

If you have limited time this is a great way to see the vineyards. Well worth the money. Really enjoyed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leonidas53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“The ideal way to tour the vineyards”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a fine way to see some of the excellent vineyards which Franschhoek has to offer. It is very good value and you can hop on/off during the day. So much better than using a car and no problems with the wine tasting!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AABUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“very disorganised”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

was very disapointted with the wine tram. everything felt very disorganised - we got taken to only 3 / 4 of the 4 wineries we were promised, there was a lot of waiting around and just felt it was a complete waste of time and money. it would have been quicker and more enjoyable walking to each of these wineries rather than taking the tram.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank misslcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frantram, Manager at Franschhoek Wine Tram, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed. We recently launched the project in Jan 2013 and having only been operational for 4 months continue to look for ways of improving the passengers experience so your feedback is much appreciated. Due to the increasing popularity of the service we are putting in place additional transport for the tour which will reduce the wait time at stops and ensure a better overall experience for passengers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lots of wine and no driving”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

what a nice way to spend the day , no worry about having to much wine and to drive, good value for money , a nice choice of wineries,a very nice addition to such a wonderfull village , well done to all concerned

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank johancapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franschhoek Wine Tram also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Franschhoek Wine Tram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing