We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an absolut treatment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Quartier Francais
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2009

fantastic service, delicious food, very welcoming atmosphere, definitely a place to stay in Franschhoek

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank POSTGRADS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
There are newer reviews for Le Quartier Francais
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 532 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2009

My husband and I capped off our African trip with a 3-night stay at Le Quartier Francais in Franschoek. After "roughing it" (not really) at Tanda Tula in the Timbavati (another wonderful place) for 4 nights, arriving in LQF was really a treat. From being brought straight to our room on that cold, rainy afternoon and seeing the handwritten welcome note in our room to getting packed coffee and sticky buns very early before checking out to make it to our 8 am flight- everything was done thoughtfully by the staff at LQF.
Franschoek is BEAUTIFUL with its vineyards, quaint shops and restaurants. The fact that Le Quartier is located there makes the hotel magical already. Add to that the great food and wine both at iCi and The Tasting Room, the little personal touches (post its stuck on your bathroom mirror saying" sweet dreams" or "sleep tight") and the lovely interiors of the room make for a perfect, romantic experience. The fact that it was cold and rainy while we were there was made more bearable by the fact that we had a beautiful and cozy room to stay in the whole day if we wanted to.
Charming, intimate, special, out of this world- Le Quartier Francais is THE place to stay at in Franschoek.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingmama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We stayed at the hotel for two nights and were very pleasantly surprised. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were large and comfortable. A little issue with lack of electrical outlets and there placement. Well actually more of an issue for my wife trying to use a hair dryer from across the room into a mirror. You ladies are so picky! But other than that we had a great stay. Also the restaurant is a MUST! Tasting room tasting menu to die for. Well Done!!!!!

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
1  Thank HJPofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

If you go to Cape Town, you absolutely MUST detour to Franschoek and get yourself pampered at Le Quartier Francais. We were there last June and had such a wonderful stay at one of the very spacious 4 Quarters. These suites have been tastefully designed with lots of light and space, a generous bar (whisky, cognac, Nespresso machine, sweet treats), huge tv where we watched Sudafrica's rugby team play the Lions (UK). We rented bikes and visited the wineries in this area which seem really out of a fairy tale (and mind you, it was so beautiful in Winter too!) Bread & Wine is a great place to hang out, all types of charcruterie and delicatessen and very nice wines. When we visited there was a very chic crowd from the Cape, it was wonderful atmosphere that matched the good food in a great way. At the end of one of Franchoek's winding roads you will find a winery with a very difficult name, ask the concierge to point it out, they make The Chocolate Block, a delicious wine! Friendliness in the area is something that really stands out. The people at all the wineries we visited (La Bri, Graham Beck) treated us like old friends. Do not miss the wonderful mise en scene of one of the best chefs in the world, Margot Jense in the Tasting room at Le Quartier Francais. Make sure you get a table well in advance. It is so much worth the experience. We cannot stop thinking of this wonderful holiday. Thank you all for making us feel so special!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscoverMendoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

This was our first stop on a 12day journey to South Africa from New York. My expectations were high as its restaurant's reputation is legendary in South Africa. As such, we had a flawless stay for 2 nights. We actually enjoyed the Bistro more than the Tasting Room, likely due to the heavy "jet-lag" we experienced during our first 2 days. As it was winter, we were unable to take full advantage of all the outdoor amenities the hotel offers. All in all, as long as the nightly tariff doesn't give you "sticker shock", Le Quartier Francais is certainly a great place to base your Wine Country activities.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

I was one of the very fortunate people who had the plessure of dinning in the Tasting room with a friend from scotland.
It was by far the best cullinary experiance i have had in South Africa.We were welcomed by a very humble,well mannerd,friendly team.
The sevice was out of this world,the knowledge that the waiters had was outstanding,They knew everything about the food we were eating and the wine we were drinking.
They had a great understanding of the local produce used to create the ultimate masterpice.

I was blown away by the food,the different textures,flavours,coulours,presentation and wine parring was honnestly unforgettable and very special.
I would recomend this to anybody who is looking for a truelly beautiful experiance.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablo082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

We did not enjoy any of the food here. We ordered ribeye which was fillet when it came, no explanation given
We ordered a dish with truffle. When it came it did not smell or taste of truffle so we sent it back and asked for some. It came back very salty. The waiter argued that the chef had put truffle in. Other restaurants in Franchheok and Paarl did lovely perfumed truffle dishes so we don't know why it was beyond this one.
We found a hair in the same dish but the waiter, after taking it back to the kitchen, brought it back minus the hair, forked it infront of our noses and told us as there was lots in there they were vegetable fibres.
When my friend who has a delicate stomach asked if her seared tuna could be cooked a little more the chef refused.
We were made to feel uncomfortable here and would never go back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
1.2 mi away
Leeu Estates
Leeu Estates
#8 of 11 in Franschhoek
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Francais

Address: Cnr Berg & Wilhelmina Streets, Franschhoek 7690, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: $446 - $983 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Quartier Francais 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
83 Km from Cape Town, Le Quartier Francais is in the heart of the vineyards of the famous Franschhoek valley of the French Huguenots. Located in the village centre, this privately owned hotel and restaurant is an exquisite stopping place on the wine trail and the trace of the history of the Huguenot settlers, between Mont Rochelle, Haute Provence, Moreson. Impeccable decoration and service. Eclectic cuisine by Margot Janse and regional wine, of course! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Otel, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Quartier Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Quartier Francais Franschhoek
Le Quartier Francais Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing