We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but a few problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Quartier Francais
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice but a few problems”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I just read a few of the reviews because I almost felt a little guilty that I did not love this hotel. It is beautiful and and has a very cozy feel BUT after arriving a little late in the evening we were pretty tired so after a yummy dinner in the Common Room we went to bed, looking forward to sleeping in the next morning. Well, the people repaving the tiles right outside our room kind of ruined the "sleeping in " thing! Drilling and hammering started pretty early. REALLY? Don't put someone in a room right next to where you will have workers digging up tiles! Also the outlet in the bathroom didn't work so I couldn't dry my hair with the use of a mirror.

Overall,the room was beautiful and cozy, the bed was comfortable and the staff very pleasant. We did not care for the dinner at the tasting room but I'll put that in my restaurant review.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paljoey1075BD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanhux, Owner at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
We apologise for the noise and the disturbance unfortunately our renovations were delayed by the severe weather this year. The calm and serenity associated with Le Quartier Francais is back! We are pleased that you enjoyed other aspects of the hotel, especially your dinner in The Common Room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    78
    33
    6
    8
See reviews for
82
341
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were at LQF 16 years ago on honeymoon and it was one of the highlights of our trip.
As we were again in South Africa this year, we thought: let's celebrate, let's spend a night at LQF and bring good memories back to life.
Big mistake...
In the meantime, the price has been multiplied by 5+, but certainly not the quality...
A few events to highlight my point:
- the bathroom lock snapped and we could not get in the bathroom any more. We had to call someone in. The guy eventually removed the whole handle & mechanism and said he would fix it in the morning. There was a big hole in the door and we could not close the door any more.
- in the morning, after 2 minutes in the shower, not hot water any more! I mentionned it to reception, and they said it was "really surprising". No apology, nothing...
- at breakfast, we get served the most disgusting coffee we have ever drunk. We call the waitress, and she acknowledges that their coffee machine broke down and this is not real coffee. I then ask "can I at least have an espresso from the bar", and she says "OK". Why the heck not telling us upfront, apologizing, and offering coffee from the percolator of the bar area? Well the answer is obvious: they don't want to be bothered!
- cherry on the cake: check out the attached photo which shows you the current state of the reception area by the entrance gate. We only noticed as we left because it was dark when we arrived.

We are talking about a place that boasts to be part of "Relais & Chateaux" and charges EUR 500 per night... What I have described above would already bother you at a Highway Motel service at EUR 50 per night. Am I right?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacques B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanhux, Owner at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We apologise that we seem to have handled both the bathroom handle, which was very late at night ,as well as the hot water issue in an unprofessional manner - this is certainly not good enough. It was unfortunate that due to bad weather our renovations had been delayed and at the time of your visit we had not completed our car park . We hope on your next visit we will delight you as we did on your first visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I took advantage of the Winter Foodie Lovers special at the hotel and attached restaurants. The food was amazing!
However, the room we were put in was cold and a little cramped.
The lady who showed us to the room told us we were welcome to make a fire if we like. Seriously?! For those prices I must make my own fire? Having recently visited Grand Dedale in Wellington and grootbos near Stanford, my standards were rather exacting and that comment fell far short of what I expected from a supposed 5 star establishment.
In addition to this, when i called to complain that the underfloor heating was not working, i was told to put the heater on and make do by the same staff member.
Only later, when the night manager came on duty, was another room offered to us.
This room was much nicer and the service improved from the,.
So, a shaky start but a great finish.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownPriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanhux, Owner at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
We were very disappointed to read your review and you are absolutely right we did not deal with the situation correctly. We are however delighted that we ended your stay on a high and have addressed the issues you encountered and thank you for bringing them to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Le Quartier, and while we were disappointed the tasting room was closed, we were extremely pleased with the accommodation and service we received. During our visit, there was some ongoing construction around the entrance and the check-in area.....so, the staff promptly upgraded us to a luxury suite, farther away. The suite was beautiful to say the least....very spacious, modern, and a full bar (free!). Every morning, we were greeted by the courteous staff, who would help serve a delicious breakfast composed of a plated option as well as a buffet. On the last morning of our stay, our driver was scheduled to pick us up very early....and just for us, the staff opened the restaurant up for us to make sure we left with full stomachs!

In terms of convenience, the hotel is located within walking distance to the downtown Franschooek area, including lots of little restaurants and chocolate stores. For anything else, you'll likely need a taxi.....or if you give proper notice to the hotel, Mr. T and his fine staff will personally drive you to your destination (and pick you back up).

We were very sad to leave this wonderful hotel, and look forward to the day when we are able to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTown
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Sadly, so much hype surrounds this venue that, maybe we were wrong in having such high expectations. Let me emphasize the positives first. The staff were, and remain amazing. Friendly, helpful and so welcoming. Room warm (it was icy cold outside and I loved the umbrellas in each room, nice touch), bathroom amazing.
Sadly thats where it ends. We happened to have booked over the busy Bastille Weekend, but chose not to join the masses at all the street or tent parties. The surprises: Decor really strange, confusing! Television channels limited to CNN and SABC1,2 & 3 with a few other arbitrary ones thrown in. No radio! No bar fridge - I have stayed at many 3, 4 and 5 star hotels. Every one of these had a bar fridge, maybe not all stocked, but definitely had that much. I had to go hunting down a jug of milk as I don't enjoy sachets of long life milk in my morning coffee. The pool area was under construction, but thats not a complaint. Food at the common room was ok. Not bad, not great. Service outstanding though! Breakfast, also amazing! So, yes, maybe its because we wanted to spend time in our room, maybe its because I was there to spend a weekend treat with my mum. Maybe, had we had a few more glasses of wine out on the streets, maybe it would have been different. I felt we pulled the short straw, and that maybe it was because our stay was a prize, won at a charity event. I won't be rushing back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanhux, Owner at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We are sorry that the evening you spent via a donation we made to charity did not meet your expectations. We have not equipped all our rooms with mini-bars as most of our guests relish the good old fashioned spoiling of room service! We are delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast and the pool is now looking all new with wooden decks and a new surround in time for summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

An absolutely delightful way to end our stay in South Africa. The hotel is charming--lots of room, a lovely bath, our own patio (with resident cat who felt entitled to share our room). The staff was helpful. We bicycled during the day and so never had quite enough energy left to try the five course dinner at the main restaurant. However, we ate at the Commons multiple times. The baked eggs at breakfast inspired me to try some at home, and the tapa menu at dinner was wonderful. We tried all sorts of new dishes, and the wine list was excellent. I just wish we'd been able to stay a few more days.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The decor at this property is a little strange they need to decide if they are going for African psychedelic or French provincial. Despite some objects and light fittings of questionable taste the accommodation is very comfortable. We had a ground floor room and found that we did get quite a lot of noise from the people above. We may just have been unlucky but it may be something to consider when booking.
We had a nice meal but when we were there most of the property apart from the actual accommodation was a building site and closed off to guests. This wash't really a problem but they should have made it clear when our agent booked so we could have considered whether or not to stay there. They have since agreed to give us a partial refund because they had charged their full winter rate when they were in the middle of a full scale building renovation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davies72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Francais

Property: Le Quartier Francais
Address: Cnr Berg & Wilhelmina Streets, Franschhoek 7690, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Quartier Francais 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
83 Km from Cape Town, Le Quartier Francais is in the heart of the vineyards of the famous Franschhoek valley of the French Huguenots. Located in the village centre, this privately owned hotel and restaurant is an exquisite stopping place on the wine trail and the trace of the history of the Huguenot settlers, between Mont Rochelle, Haute Provence, Moreson. Impeccable decoration and service. Eclectic cuisine by Margot Janse and regional wine, of course! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Quartier Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Quartier Francais Franschhoek
Le Quartier Francais Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing