We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slightly disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Quartier Francais
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“slightly disappointing”
Reviewed February 4, 2008

We stayed here for two nights because we wanted to round off our trip to South Africa in a memorable way.

We pre-booked a table on the first night in the 'Tasting Room' and for us, this restaurant lived up to all our expectations. The food was exceptional and service was good.

However, the hotel itself was a little disappointing and it is difficult to pinpoint exactly why. The staff on reception were incredibly helpful and were more than happy to help in any way they could. They also offer a complimentary car to take you to other places if you wish dine out in the village or valley (although they don't seem to publicise this - we only found out because we asked them to book us a taxi).

The pool area was nice, although small. and you could have treatments by the pool if you wished.

The rooms were reasonably spacious and well equipped although they don't provide either a mini bar or coffee/tea making facilities. I suppose I was expecting the room to be exceptionally good and in this I was a little disappointed - certainly would not say that it was any better than some of the other (much cheaper) rooms we stayed in.

Breakfast was ok but nothing special - ironically (given the hotel's reputation for food) my 'soft boiled eggs' were hard!.

Clearly, the restaurant is the main focus for 'le Quartier Francais' and I felt that the hotel part is a bit of an afterthought. In particular, there are no resident lounges in which to sit and read or have a drink (there is a bar area but this is open to the public).

Overall whilst the staff do a very good job I didn't come away feeling pampered. We hope to return to Franschoek in the future but I think that whilst I would certainly book a table in the restaurant I would choose to stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — helpful staff
  • Disliked — lack of resident's lounge areas
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JB37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    78
    33
    6
    8
See reviews for
82
341
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

I'd heard big things about this place and while I was mostly satisfied I think it had been bigged up a little too much.

It's a great location off Franschoek "high street" and yet it's so quiet.
The spa was fully booked which is great if you think of booking ahead, but when you're organising a whole trip to SA you don't really think of that as an essential job .. so disappointingly we couldn't make use of the relaxation therapies on offer.

We ate in the Tasting room and had a lovely evening. The food didn't blow me away, I personally found it too fussy at times.

It's a lovely place but I came away a little disappointed .. I think it's because of the expectations I'd had which it didn't quite meet.

  • Liked — that it was like a peaceful retreat among the bustling franschoek
  • Disliked — that it didn't quite meet the expectations
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyagevole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2008

My husband and I chose to spend two nights at le Quartier on our 3-week honeymoon in southern Africa. We are used to high end accommodations, and expected a high level of service and surroundings at le Quartier. We were very disappointed for the following reasons:

Poor service: When we were leaving, we walked past four employees, and no one offered to help us with our bags. We also booked reservations at the Tasting Room for one evening during our stay, and the front desk staff told us that we were incorrect, even though I presented an email confirmation from their staff.

Room: We had a luxury room, but there was really nothing special about it. It was large enought to fit a bed, tv, and round table. Because of the villa style setup of the rooms, we could hear our neighbors walking to and from the lobby and the pool. One neighbor chatted on his cellphone outside of our room in the early hours of the morning and we lost sleep over it.

Property: This is a very small property compared to what we expected from seeing pictures and the website. The pool is small and has maybe a dozen chairs surrounded it. There is no "view" of anything other than the pool or the back of the restaurants. There is no lounge area other than the pool to sit and relax.

Breakfast: The breakfast was a poor continental display with only limited hot items.

Although the location was a great base for wine tasting in the area, the service, room, and overall experience did not meet our high expectations.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vino12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

Stayed 2 nights. Location good (off Franschhoek's central street). Large rooms are arranged villa style around an attractive central pool/garden area. No common lounge areas and only small bar. Two restaurants, one "Tasting" (for those who like that kind of thing) and one very average "regular" restaurant. Breakfast distinctly second rate. Staff eventually accomodating, but all requests seemed like hard work. Not particularly good value for money.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank APRLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

I am writing this review as I sit at Le Quartier Francais and after having spent the day touring the winelands. The hotel is in the center of Franshoek and boasts an incredible restaurant, but that is about it.
Let me start with the positives: dinner. The tasting room is great and offers amazing value (a dinner for two cost just over 100 pounds with wine at one of the top places in the world). However when i say the resturaunt is great, it is the food that makes it wonderful. The setting is a plain room with no view, so in terms of atmosphere has nothing compared to the other resturaunts in franshoek with sweeping views of the winelands. However the food is truly memorable and very good value.

The hotel itself is nothing special - average rooms, especially considering you are paying over 300 pounds (600 usd) a night. They are big but the decor is fairly old and nothing special - in fact i think very non descript and could be found in a 3 star hotel. But my biggest gripe is coming to the winelands i was expecting to come to a sweeping estate with majestic views over the vineyards and stunning mountains the region posseses. Perhaps i was misguided as this hotel is in town - but the hotel is very much like the restaurant - you could be anywhere in the world. it's small and nothing special - and to make matters worse i had a do not disturb sign on my door and housekeeping still knocked to wake me up at 10am. another word of note: they told me i didnt need to book places for lunch (i booked the dinners 2 months in advance given how popular places are here, and it was good i did as everything was sold out. i went to book the places i wanted to go for lunch and when i asked reception, they called and they were all full - when i showed my frustration they just shrugged.

We went for lunch at Mount Rochelle (formerly La Couronne but it burned down) and here you have exactly what i described above - a beautiful view and beautiful decor in the middle of winelands and horse pastures - so picturesque. this is what south african winelands are all about and this is why i came to the region - if i were to come again, which i hope oneday i will to this most beautiful region of the world, i would stay at one of these vineyard estates and only dine at le quartier francais.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank MissLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2007

Superb food and service, lovely location and plenty to do in the area. The gourmet tasting menu was incredible and we also had an excellent meal across the street at Reubens. We were made to feel very welcome and highly recommend the hotel for those enjoying fine food, wine and relaxation!

  • Liked — room layout, food and wine
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HappytripperKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2007

What can I say, a first-rate hotel. Well not really a hotel as you have a private 'house' round a central pool area. The gardens are fantastic.

Our suite was massive, big lounge with complimentary decanters of gin, port, whiskey and rum and a free min-bar, which wasn't so mini. Huge bedroom that led on to a private outside garden with a plunge pool.

Two places to eat 'Ici' and the 'Tasting Room'. Ici is the relaxed area where breaffast is served and you can get a good three course meal (lunch and dinner). The Tasting Room is for fine dining (rated as the 47th best restaurant in the world in 2007 by Restaurant Magazine, and the best in Africa) where you can try an eight-course tasting menu with a different glass of wine for each course. Alternatively you can go a-la-carte for four or six courses.

One of the highlights of our honeymoon in South Africa.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGreySquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.7 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
644 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Francais

Property: Le Quartier Francais
Address: Cnr Berg & Wilhelmina Streets, Franschhoek 7690, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Quartier Francais 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
83 Km from Cape Town, Le Quartier Francais is in the heart of the vineyards of the famous Franschhoek valley of the French Huguenots. Located in the village centre, this privately owned hotel and restaurant is an exquisite stopping place on the wine trail and the trace of the history of the Huguenot settlers, between Mont Rochelle, Haute Provence, Moreson. Impeccable decoration and service. Eclectic cuisine by Margot Janse and regional wine, of course! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Le Quartier Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Quartier Francais Franschhoek
Le Quartier Francais Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing