We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best breakfast in Franschhoek!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Quartier Francais
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Franschhoek!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We enjoyed the magnificent breakfast at Le Quartier Francais during our Winelands trip. The food and hospitality in Franschhoek is unbeatable and the breakfast at Quartier Francais stood out even by these high standards.
The fresh fruit was presented in beautiful glasses and a very wide selection was on offer considereing it is winter here.
The children said their eggs were the best they ever had! All this comes at a certain price and for SA standards it was quite expensive. But most definately worth it.
Vey good croissants and muffins. We'll be back!!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MarinaBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanhux, Manager at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
There is really no better way to start the day than with a freshly baked croissant and muffin! We try offer a breakfast that is diverse and gorgeous and we are really happy that this was exactly what you and your children experienced.
Hopefully we will see the whole family, for another breakfast and perhaps a stay, in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    77
    33
    6
    8
See reviews for
81
339
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

We spend three nights at Le Quartier Francais in the middle of our trip to South Africa. It was outstanding, from our wonderful petit garden suite accommodation, to the amazing tasting room dining experience on our last night.

The room was cosy & tastefully decorated. The bathroom was fabulous, with heated floor & powerful shower. Each night we had a hot water bottle waiting in the bed for us - what luxury! The room had a real fire & Daniel lit it for us as soon as we requested. As we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary, the staff very kindly left us a gift, a real surprise & much appreciated. In fact the staff were all very kind & helpful, smiling & eager to help, but not 'in your face' as some 'fancy' hotels have a tendency to be. Unobtrusive, that's the word!

The Food: The breakfast table was a pretty picture of colourful fresh fruit, juices & pastries followed by whatever you fancied prepared by the chefs. It filled us up for the day. We also ate at the The Common Room one evening, which was perfect. Lots of tasty things to try, washed down with very reasonable Cap Classique bubbles. The final night was The Tasting Room, where we had the 9-course menu. It was exquisite - well worth its place in the top 50 restaurants. The staff were knowledgeable & friendly, they described each course perfectly - my favourite was coffee roasted warthog loin, a taste sensation!

Franschhoek is a pretty town, even in winter. This hotel & restaurant is a perfect place to explore it from. I hope to return in another season to make use of the pool & enjoy the private garden.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulubelle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

I would like to complain for unacceptable situation that we ve been on
4th june 2011 in ur restaurant Tasting Room!
Me and my husband experienced completely disrespect from waiters of
the Tasting room!
whiloe we were having a dinner-3 waiters were drinking from the bar!in
20min they were completely drunk-not able even speak!Dutch lady and 2
more dark ladies were drinking strait from the bottles that we were
paying 2000ran!!!as we took tasting menu of 9 dishes!the food was
oversalted as i suppose to think with same reason!there were no
managers!only staff whos completely drunk?
UNACCEPTABLE
DISRESPECTFULL
NOT PROFESSIONAL!!!
I am bagging you to take an action ASAP as we cant accept these
behaviour!since when we are paying more than 2000rand to watch
completely waisted waiters, who cant even speak and bring a napkin????

after all manager of relais chateaux said that we are liers!and none of above is true!
complitely dissappointment!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AnnaJaiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanhux, General Manager at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, July 4, 2011
Firstly this issue has been dealt with on a number of forums. So just to reiterate:

On receipt of your verbal complaint to your Guest House Manager we responded immediately with a call back, the Manager relayed your side of the story and gave us the email address of your husband to which we sent our first email of apology.

On receipt of your email complaint, I continued my investigation where upon I offered you a further apology and refund.

On receiving the email of complaint sent via Relais & Châteaux I further extended my investigation, as I find the accusations to be totally unrealistic.

I called our security company and viewed footage of the evening to find none of the behaviour you mentioned to take place.  The only person's to taste wines that evening were the two restaurant managers who were opening new bottles for the tasting menu.  This is the normal procedure when opening a new bottle before pouring.

I also took it upon myself to contact the guests of two other tables sitting near you.  My question to them was to find out if there was any strange behaviour from my staff, drunkenness or slurring during service and lastly did they see any of my staff "drinking out of the bottles".

Both guests were stunned and amazed at the accusations. Both guests knew exactly who I was referring to when I mentioned the complaint and both commented that it appeared you and your husband were not happy and it appeared you were arguing and this could possibly have led to you not enjoying your evening. Both guest commented and complimented the Dutch girl in particular.

My staff have all been with me for more than five years, they are proud of their restaurant and respect our standing both in the Top 50 restaurants in the World and as the only Grande Chef in South Africa and would never dream of hurting or damaging our reputation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

Simply the best.

Accomodation
Staff
Environment
Food
Service
Location

All are superb!

What can I say, other than any opportunity to go back I will - the setting is once in a lifetime and this place has so much to offer. I have no doubt in recommending this touch of heaven.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMRMoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanhux, Owner at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Le Quartier Français. All the elements you highlighted are aspects of our offering that we are incredibly proud of. Our team works on this offering on a daily basis and it’s really wonderful to receive a review that showcases that all this hard work does pay off.

We look forward to seeing you, for a sumptuous stay, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

I stayed in the Cottage with two friends last year. I have since been on honeymoon (not to SA) and none of the honeymoon hotels was as good as this one. The cottage was lovely. The fridge was full of juice and wine for us to drink (included in the price) when we got there and we asked for breakfast to be deli vered to the cottage..the breakfast was lovely - cereals, granola, danish pastires, yoghurts, lovely fruits and drinks.

The Cottage has its own pool so we lounged in our own private garden and ordered room service. We had a fantastic relaxing time. We also spent some time relaxing by the main pool. It was also lovely and great for people watching.

We all had massages at the spa which were brilliant. The masseur was a tiny girl but she was ulra strong and gave us all a good pounding.

The food in the restuarant was lovely. The staff throughout the hotel were great and couldn't have been more helpful throughout our stay.

If i went back to SA I would definately go back here. It is a bit pricey but it was fabulous!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeanyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanhux, Owner at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
A huge part of what we believe makes our experience unforgettable is our sincere service and the fact that we try to ensure that all our guests feel instantly at home (regardless of where in the world they're from).

It is really great to hear that your Le Quartier Français experience was everything you'd hoped it would be and more. We hope to see you, for another stay, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

We stayed here after Cape Town and before safari in Botswana as part of our honeymoon. Overall, we thought Le Quartier was nice but failed to see what all the hype was about. First the positives. The setting is very lovely and tranquil, and the rooms are large. It is right in the center of town and very walkable. We had dinner at the tasting room and were blown away by the waitstaff and how great each one was. The menu was very innovative. And the dinner and wine pairing seemed a good value for how much attention you got.

But we wouldn't rate this a 5 star for the following reasons: (1) The second morning the water went out completely, and we couldn't take showers that morning so went to breakfast instead. To the hotel's credit, the water was fixed when we returned but that doesn't change the fact we couldn't shower (2) they could not seem to get the timing right on anything. For example, we had dinner reservations at the much-vaunted tasting room at 8 pm. But the day before they told us they were confirming first for 7 pm then 7:30 pm. We told them our reservation had been made for 8 pm. Next, I booked a massage for 6:30 pm for 90 minutes. I arrived at 6:15 and the massuese told me my appointment had been for 6:00 pm and was for 1 hour. I told her it was for 6:30 for 90 minutes and she said it was ok, we had time for 1 hour. She proceeded to give me a 45 minute massage and stop right at 7. As if that weren't enough for timing snafus, we asked the hotel to move our lunch reservations at Delaire from noon to 2 pm one day and they said they would. We arrived at Delaire and they told us Le Quartier had called to move our lunch reservation to the following FRIDAY. Weird. (3) Room details: the lighting in our room - number 5 - was a bit too flourescent for our taste and there was no plug in the bathroom so, for example, you had to dry your hair in the living area. The bedding was nice with the exception of the pillows, which seemed on the cheaper side. (4) The staff at breakfast seemed to have a slight attitude about our requests to sit outside and we got the feeling it was because it wasn't convenient for them to set the table versus having us sit at an already set one inside. I mentioned (1) and (2) upon checking out when asked how the stay was, but nothing was said or done.

Any of these things on their own is not a big deal, but combined they made us think that Le Quartier was really nice, but certainly not exceptional. Judging by the looks of Delaire we were wishing we would have stayed there if we could do it over again. Still, Le Quartier gets rave reviews from many (including several of our own friends) so maybe we are just missing something or were there on an "off" day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanhux, Owner at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to compile such a comprehensive review your stay at Le Quartier Français. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Tasting Room experience. We work incredibly hard to create an unforgettable experience and this includes both the cuisine and our service offering. It is really great to hear that the staff and the level of service they offer impressed you.

We take all comments, both negative and positive, incredibly seriously and we are investigating all the additional points you raised in this review. Once again thank you for taking the time to put together this detailed review your thoughts and feedback are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff is excellent, very friendly, but low key. The rooms are beautiful and the free wine, magazines and sunlotion by the lovely relaxing pool are just an example of all the small touches that make you feel at home in this hotel.

We had a fantastic dinner in the tasting room, enjoying some of the best food i have ever eaten including Warthog! The waiters in the tasting room are just fantastic. Friendly and communicative, but again in a pleasant low key way.

Highly recommended. The best place in Franschoek.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathiella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanhux, Owner at Le Quartier Francais, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
That you for taking the time to review Le Quartier Français. It is always great to hear back from a guest who experienced exactly the type of special stay we aim to create.

We delighted to hear that you enjoyed all the small touches that, as you put it so well, make you feel instantly at home.

Hopefully we'll see you again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.3 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Francais

Property: Le Quartier Francais
Address: Cnr Berg & Wilhelmina Streets, Franschhoek 7690, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
#4 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Quartier Francais 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
83 Km from Cape Town, Le Quartier Francais is in the heart of the vineyards of the famous Franschhoek valley of the French Huguenots. Located in the village centre, this privately owned hotel and restaurant is an exquisite stopping place on the wine trail and the trace of the history of the Huguenot settlers, between Mont Rochelle, Haute Provence, Moreson. Impeccable decoration and service. Eclectic cuisine by Margot Janse and regional wine, of course! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Quartier Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Quartier Francais Franschhoek
Le Quartier Francais Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing