We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roca Rocks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roca Restaurant

Roca Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 75 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Roca Rocks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have been to Roca many times, and it is a delicious experience of food, wine and views, and it is the highest restaurant in Franschhoek! The menu is a mouth watering mix of tapas, mediterranean entres, to stunning grills, risottos, etc..The views are the best in the valley, and Craig and his team are ever friendly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travelnut064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    207
    75
    37
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Room for improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Upon returning to Dieu Donne, I find that the name has changed, the entire character of the restaurant has changed along with the menu. At least the breath taking views were still there. The staff that greeted us were very enthusiastic and friendly. The restaurant was rather full, and this being a spur of the moment decision - we walked in. The menu is very interesting and diverse, with some very innovative concepts, much like the old Dieu Donne. We settled for a table in the middle of the restaurant floor, with views of the kitchen. Very nice to watch the action in the kitchen. The waitress that served us seemed to be a trainee, as she had very little knowledge of the menu, let alone the wines. and recommendations, were nothing short of echoes of our own questions. Oh well we decided on the less exotic items on the menu, not wanting to take the plunge. A burger is a burger is a burger right? Wrong the food was over cooked, and dry- the fries were stale and floury, The vegetables that were served along with the ostrich had possibly been sitting in the kitchen since lunch. Desert was possibly the saving grace of this experience, It seems that it was the only part that retained to the old Dieu-Donne character. Luckily I, as well as my partner loved the dessert, and all was not lost. I would like to return at some point in order to see what has changed.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 110Alfred_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
“Amazing Peri Peri Chicken”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

What a wonderful culinary experience! The best Peri Peri Chicken in the world! Don't miss out...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marcrabino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
182 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We and some friends went for Sunday lunch. We were really impressed when we entered, it has the most beautiful view of the Franschoek valley and were very cosy inside with a fire burning, while it was raining outside. Our waiter, Charity was really good and knew the menu very well. Some of us had the ostrich carpaccio and the other the french escargots for starters which were very good. My husband and I had the sole with mash potato and some veggies. The fish was really very dry and tasted bland, while the veggies were a little burnt. I asked for some 'new' veggies, and that was much better. That was a real disappointment, because the others said that they enjoyed their main course. I had the reconstructed black forest cake for dessert which was nice but there were no cherries, cream or liqueur in it. They should have rather called it chocolate mouse cake, because it was two little chocolate rounds with chocolate mousse and a little red syrup over it with a little ball of ice cream. Tasted nice, but nothing to rave about. Overall it was an enjoyable experience with our friends, the venue and presentation of the food made up for our disappointment.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Footastic... Viewtastic... Fantastic... !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Absolutely love this spot, What an awesome venue to just sit and let your worries evaporate into thin air whilst sipping on a glass of Sauvignon blanc. I would suggest going in the afternoon at around 5pm, sit outside, enjoy the glorious sunset and then proceed indoors and get a window table and commence with dinner, the Prime Rib (awesome) and deboned chicken (unbelievable) is a definite must. . . Craig the owner is a friendly host and makes you feel at home...
This is one of Franschhoek's absolute gems...

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Girschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roca Restaurant also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Roca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing