We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to spend an hour”

The Franschhoek Cellar
Ranked #26 of 59 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We invite you to visit our cellar to experience our decadent chocolate or cheese and wine pairing with attractions and entertainment for the entire family. At The Franschhoek cellar we boast an array of wine tasting facilities as well as child friendly playground and picnic areas. Some of the facilities available include: Garden/picnic area, kiddies playground, entrance/foyer, Brampton studio, Bernard Premium tasting room, Conference & wedding venue & Bellingham & Franschhoek Cellars tasting rooms.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an hour”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stopped here as one of our many wine tastings in Franschhoek and we weren't disappointed. Did two chocolate and wine pairing and it was fabulous. The lady that explained these wines was very knowledgable and personable. We even bought 6 bottles and had them shipped to the USA. Price was less than $3 per person for the tasting. Word of advice, in case you're a wine snob, they don't grow their own grapes here. They're purchased from other growers in the area. That might take away a little of the allure, but don't let it!

Currently undergoing renovations. Should look great once it is finished!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pfbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    29
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great value, great enthusiasm...”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I don't consider myself to know a great deal about wine, though I'm told I know more than I let on...

For me this is the perfect setting to learn more from an enthusiastic staff - thank you Lucinda.

Franschoek Cellar does not grow their own grapes but they do take considerable pride in their product - their Shiraz won an award last year...

Great value for money, very informative and an excellent selection of cheeses that matched perfectly with the wines being tasted.

Unfortunately I'm not a Shiraz fan - but they were happy to exchange for a tasting of Pinotage.

As an added plus, shipping is available from an agent in UK and prices delivered per bottle are circa 7.50GBP... worth every penny.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank PatrickJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cheese, Chocolate and Wine”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stopped at Franschhoek cellar for some wine tasting. I did the chocolate and wine pairing and my husband did the cheese and wine pairing. The lady that assisted us was very helpful , enthusiasticand knowledgable. The wines we tasted Sauvignon Blanc, Chinin Blanc, Chardonnay, Merlot, Shiraz and Cabernet Sauvignon. The cheeses were Boerenkaas, Emmental, Fontina,Gorgonzola, Gruyere and a Cumin Boerenkaas. The pairings were very successful. We stayed for a light lunch for two (R100) for bread, cheese, crackers and preserves. You can buy wine and cheese at the shop. The chocolates can be bought at the factory in town.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I love the cheese and wine tastings at Fransvhoek Cellars! I highly recommend checking out the bargain bin wines that they sell from time to time, you can pick up some unbelievable wines for next to nothing!

Helpful?
Thank Ivan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Purchase great wines at good value for money”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Franschhoek is Cape Towns capital of great food and wines. This place is no exception for great wines at reasonable prices. Wine tasting of six varieties is at R25.excellent varieties of cheese as well as other useful items may be purchased here. Couples can enjoy cheese and wine experience at R100. Higly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank niruDurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Franschhoek Cellar also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to The Franschhoek Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing