We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GLAMOROUS ROOMS & EN SUITE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fransvliet Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Most definitely the most beautifully appointed rooms & holywood bathrooms I have ever seen. The mixture of old and modern architecture on the property works so well and the gardens are absolutely beautiful. The roses were flowering abundantly and the grassed courtyard is beautifully manicured and lush. We had 3 rooms and although they were all beautiful we loved the one on the back of the old building which had a lovely verandah with comfy chairs where we could enjoy the garden. The four rooms in the new section look onto the most beautiful indigenous gardens with so much texture and colour - an absolute delight. We will definitely return to Fransvliet on our next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobnob_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 376 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed there the weekend of April 5; 2 rooms for 2 adults and 2 children (13, 10). Rooms are very nicely decorated with large bathrooms and well appointed. The rooms face a beautiful garden with the mountains as a back drop. Fantastic ambience. Breakfast is a cold buffet of cereals, fruit and cheese/breads with a special hot cooked breakfast a la Shirley Kilian. Thanks to Shirley for the stuffed mushrooms and eggs - really superb. The kids loved the breakfast juices every morning, freshly prepared. They liked the pineapple and ginger juice in particular. Thanks to Viktor for going out of his way to make the trip memorable. HIghly recommend Fransvliet.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on the guest house. We enjoyed having you all for the weekend. Our juices change all the time, so do come back in another season to sample what we offer again.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We booked two nights at Fransvliet Guest House, great experience, comfortable beds with a great breakfast.

The rooms are well done and very comfortable, large bathrooms with a tub, walk in shower with ample space to sort out your luggage.

Safe in the room, wifi is complimentary but this is Africa and the Wifi is slow compared to NA Standards.

The owners great you and they are very pleasant.

I would return again and stay at Fransvliet.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and safe, nestled in the company's vineyard. All rooms are off the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guylangevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your generous praise. My whole team will be delighted to read your review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

we had an great stay (only one night) late January this year.
we were welcomed so lovely and everything was just perfect.
Breakfast is really really stunning!!!
Shirley was very helpful in organizing our restaurant reservation - (Ryan's Kitchen / great food)
we will recommend Fransvliet Guest House to family and friends.
Thank's a lot once more.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynn-claude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you stay -and we hope you will return. Franschhoek is a special place, and we always aim to make our guests stay at Fransvliet perfect too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were fortunate to stay at Fransvliet Guest House from 15th - 17th March and had a wonderful time. We arrived slightly early but were welcomed by Victor with a lovely coffee and chat. Our room was lovely, romantic, comfortable, all the mod con's and more. Had a proper coffee machine which was a bonus. Spent a couple of hours by the pool which was lovely. Next door was Maison and we enjoyed a lovely dinner there.
Breakfast was amazing, trust me you wont go hungry and the quality of food was great with a lovely selection of breads, cereal and we were fortunate to enjoy the best scrambled eggs and smoked trout.
Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jangra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This place is simply stunning. Location is beautiful as you might expect from Franschhoek. But then the rooms themselves are amazing, decorated with such great taste and attention to detail. We felt like we'd found the best place in Franschhoek and will definitely be returning in the near future.
I could go about the breakfasts and the amazing owners but just book and see for yourselves.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in the Shiraz rooms which are the former converted farm house. A big bathroom with a tub, twin basins and huge walk in shower. Excellent 6 foot bed and quality pillows and sheets, a minibar and fridge for your own wine and a complimentary bottle of fizz from our wonderful hostess Shirley, who cooks a some interesting and tastey breakfast. Free wifi and a sat tv.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnludkiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your great feed back. We hope to have the opportunity to tempt you with more excellent breakfasts in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
3.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
3.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
193 reviews
3.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Boschendal Cottages
Boschendal Cottages
#5 of 43 in Franschhoek
124 reviews
1.3 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#19 of 64 in Franschhoek
312 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bo La Motte Farm Cottages
Bo La Motte Farm Cottages
#7 of 43 in Franschhoek
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fransvliet Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fransvliet Guest House

Address: R45 Huguenot Road | opposite La Motte - Leopards Leap, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: $172 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fransvliet Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fransvliet Guest House is a tranquil, luxury retreat, only 4 kilometres from the heart of Franschhoek.It is situated on a working farm, growing grapes, olives and figs. Wake up to the call of the birds and in the evening perhaps hear the resident owls calling as they contemplate the night's hunt. Breathtaking mountain views are all around, each one more spectacular than the last. The individually decorated suites are pure luxury, with absolute attention to detail. Soft wineland colours set the tone for a perfect stay. Breakfast is an occasion, every day. Spend time in the newly renovated 65 year old house, either inside or on the veranda, enjoying the view of the pool and the vineyards. Celebrate "the best meal of the day" with either a Continental or a full breakfast that will include seasonal specials. The sparkling pool is at your disposal for those hot lazy afternoons. Relax in the shade with a magazine and an ice cold drink, before you cool off. Lazy winter days are a treat too. Snuggle up in your suite in a comfy armchair with your own personal fireplace - the perfect way to enjoy one of the local bottles of red wine. Meander through the garden, (both indigenous and other) on your way to your suite. Something special will be flowering at all times. In season, luscious figs will be found on the trees, and the scent of lemons may be in the air too. Take an early morning walk around the farm in December. The vines will be green and laden with fruit. In July, a few burgundy coloured leaves and bare sticks have their own attraction. Soak up the 360° view, especially the powerful Simonsberg mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fransvliet Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing