We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Fransvliet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fransvliet Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Fransvliet”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We chose Fransvliet based on the reviews here and were very happy. Shirley and her team are so friendly and welcoming, and her breakfasts are huge and delicious! Shirley was very helpful in organizing our restaurant reservations (though some places were booked - so if you can, be sure to make your own reservations ahead of time!) There are fantastic wineries surrounding the inn - you don't have to venture far! And we are very happy we chose to stay in quaint Franschhoek instead of Stellenbosch, it has a much different vibe that we preferred. The whole Franschhoek experience, including our stay at Fransvliet, was very relaxing and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bimbels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Fransvliet, and for all your positive comments. As to the power in the bathroom. It is illegal in South Africa to have a normal power point in a bathroom, and I felt that toothbrushes and shavers have a battery option, so I am afraid I neglected this point. We will look into it.
Shirley Kilian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    36
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
241
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Found this thanks to Tripavisor.
Opened only last year, the gardens are already well established and there is a homely feel to each room, all named after grape varieties.
Shirley could not be more welcoming, and offered advice on places to see, things to do, and generally promoted Franschhoek. When asked about restaurants, she would never run down an estblishment, but rather would suggest alternatives, and said of of choices, "above average" , or not.
Breakfast was varied and excellent, and the staff could not have been more helpful.
All in all, a lovely place to spend a few days after the bustle of Cape Town.
For some reason, our bathroom, in which you could hold a good meeting it ewas so big, there were no power points for shavers/toothbrushes, but otherwise, excellent all round.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordonthegopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you Cloudie for your +great comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fransvliet -perhaps around the fireplace with a glass of red wine - during the winter months.
Shirley Kilian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent a night here last week and really enjoyed the place. Shirley and her team have put together a lovely , comfortable, modern b&b that we would go back to any time! The rooms are very comfortable, the wifi and tv work perfectly, and the bathrooms are very luxurious.
One of the best things is the breakfast, including the homemade jams, very good coffee pastries, and eggs cooked to order.
This is a new place, and from the road, doesn't look very impressive, however once you drive in, you are right in the vineyards and you get a good feeling of privacy. They have a pretty swimming pool surrounded by soft grass...I would go back any time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cloudie322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous comments. It was a pleasure having you and we hope you will return to South Africa, and in particular Fransvliet. I am sure we can find a few more great restaurants to send you to - but yes it is key in the season to reserve in advance. This year, in advance, I will send out a list to clients who book in the season.
Shirley Kilian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at Fransvliet as part of our honeymoon in December 2012. We had a fantastic stay and we can safely say that we had the best breakfast ever during our stay - homemade bread, croissants and a different cooked breakfast each day! Shirley the owner was very accommodating and was helpful in recommending things for us to do. She prepared a cheese platter for us for dinner one night and we ate it on the terrace whilst the sun was setting - wonderful! Highly recommend eating at The Kitchen next door (2 minute walk) which has a lovely garden overlooking the vineyards.

The accommodation is made up of 4 equally sided suites overlooking a beautiful garden, vineyards and surrounding mountains - very picturesque! Lovely décor inside, comfortable bed and big bathrooms. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your delightful review. We strive to make every guests stay very special. We hope to welcome you back to Fransvliet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Newly renovated. Beautiful spacious contemperory room with luxury bathroom. Stunning views of the vineyards. Owners warm, friendly and delightful. Food delicious. Highly recommend ! Unbelievable value!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. The staff are proud of Fransvliet, and do their very best to make each persons stay the highlight of their trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I could echo much of what has been said already. Shirley and her team lead by Victor are extremely welcoming, serve up a fantastic breakfast but above all make you feel welcome whilst giving you the freedom to explore and discover yourself.

The rooms are beautifully laid out with excellent amenities and crisp clean sheets that always make you feel like you are staying in a luxurious abode.

Great place to relax and easy to get around from here. However, if you are looking for action in the evenings without having to drive you should consider other options. Thank you all for your welcome and we hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyp917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for staying at Fransvliet, and we do look forward to welcoming you again.
The team are very proud of Fransvliet, and so I am sure they will contiue to take special care of the guest house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My partner and I stayed 3 nights to celebrate a special anniversary. We had an amazing experience. Shirley and her staff are hands on, in a very personal but discreet way. The rooms were large and impeccable. Clean decor, crisp linen, muted colors and a Nespresso machine in the room. The breakfast was very tasty, and hearing Shirley talking about food makes one very hungry. She is a real foodie and her restaurant recommendations were very accurate. We tried the common room at Le quarter Francais, amazing. But she booked us at Indochine for our last evening, and that was mind blowing. Amazing setting and delicious food. We will sure return to Fransvliet, also very centrally located but just far enough to be more private. Well done, my total approval.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamboNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you -we love be classified as WOW.It is a truly universal word and even if you speak very little English the word has a clear meaning. It is our pleasure to be of assistance, and we look forward to welcoming you to our special place again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
3.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.8 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
3.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
8.7 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
3.3 mi away
La Providence Farm
La Providence Farm
#3 of 41 in Franschhoek
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fransvliet Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fransvliet Guest House

Property: Fransvliet Guest House
Address: R45 (Hugenot Road 4km before Franschoek) | opposite La Motte - Leopards Leap, Franschhoek, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fransvliet Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fransvliet Guest House is a tranquil, luxury retreat, only 4 kilometres from the heart of Franschhoek.It is situated on a working farm, growing grapes, olives and figs. Wake up to the call of the birds and in the evening perhaps hear the resident owls calling as they contemplate the night's hunt. Breathtaking mountain views are all around, each one more spectacular than the last. The individually decorated suites are pure luxury, with absolute attention to detail. Soft wineland colours set the tone for a perfect stay. Breakfast is an occasion, every day. Spend time in the newly renovated 65 year old house, either inside or on the veranda, enjoying the view of the pool and the vineyards. Celebrate "the best meal of the day" with either a Continental or a full breakfast that will include seasonal specials. The sparkling pool is at your disposal for those hot lazy afternoons. Relax in the shade with a magazine and an ice cold drink, before you cool off. Lazy winter days are a treat too. Snuggle up in your suite in a comfy armchair with your own personal fireplace - the perfect way to enjoy one of the local bottles of red wine. Meander through the garden, (both indigenous and other) on your way to your suite. Something special will be flowering at all times. In season, luscious figs will be found on the trees, and the scent of lemons may be in the air too. Take an early morning walk around the farm in December. The vines will be green and laden with fruit. In July, a few burgundy coloured leaves and bare sticks have their own attraction. Soak up the 360° view, especially the powerful Simonsberg mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fransvliet Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing