We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service and stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fransvliet Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I just spend a weekend at Fransvliet Guest House and it was absolutely awesome, the rooms are magnificent, the breakfast superb and Shirley and Joe were incredibly helpful in advising on where to go and which restaurants to try. We can highly recommend this venue and of course Franshoek is heaven!

Room Tip: All the rooms are exactly the same which is also wonderful when going with a big group
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you so much for your great review! We are so glad that you had a great time in our wonderful little town! Looking forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 362 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I had the great pleasure of spending a night at Fransvliet guest house. What a beautiful location - breathtaking and surrounded by majestic mountains and peaceful vineyards. Our room was luxurious,pristine, elegant and beautifully furnished with every comfort and convenience. The staff were incredibly pleasant and helpful, even to the point of entertaining our one year old son who was with us too. The food was delicious and superb! The entire stay was wonderful, including a walk through the vineyards. I highly recommend Fransvliet! Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate Jonker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you Kate and Ian - as you live reasonably close by we hopw to welcome you back to Fransvliet in the near furture. Summer is so different here. I am fortunate to have staff who lov what they are doing (and the praise that guests send them. Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights during winter and had a wonderful stay. The rooms were beautifully and tastefully decorated with underfloor heating in the bathroom and an toasty fireplace! Shirley was the perfect host and her breakfasts were divine! Wished we could have stayed longer, but will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Hi Linda
So great to have had you stay! We're glad that you enjoyed the fireplaces and little treats! Summer is around the corner (we hope!) so hopefully your next trip will be to see the vineyards in their full glory, and to enjoy the sparkling pool!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Fransvliet for three nights and loved it. Stepping out into the beautiful garden with the vineyards and mountain beyond that really made you feel like you were in the heart of wine country and would definitely choose staying here over a place in town in a heartbeat. You do need a car to get around but it's not far from the centre of town and right around the corner from some great wineries including Moreson which has a fabulous lunch offering.
The rooms at Fransvliet are very well kept, modern and clean. We were there in the winter so the heated floors, towel rack and fireplace was very nice to have! To be honest, we found this place thru Tripadvisor and selected it based on the rave reviews on breakfast, and like all the reviews before me...one of the best we had in South Africa. Shirley's breakfast comes with eggs, pastries, homemade preserves with local cheeses and yes, Victor does make one mean apple and pear juice...perfect way to start the day.
This was our first time to South Africa and we are looking forward to staying here again when we return to Franschoek!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue_nate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Hi Sue and Nathan

Thank you for your great reveiw! It was so great having you and we are so glad that you enjoyed all the little special touches! Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed overnight at Fransvliet at the recommendation of a friend, and were well pleased to do so. The place is rather new, and in excellent condition set in vineyards of a working farm. Rooms are very nicely and cleanly appointed- extremely comfortable. Nice amenities, including a fireplace, underfloor heating, electric blankets, and a Nespresso machine for a really nice cup of coffee in your room in the morning. Also, the location is great, just outside of town five minutes, and close to a slew of excellent wineries and restaurants. But, the best part of Fransvliet is Shirley and her breakfasts. Shirley is an amazingly engaging lady with the energy of 5 ordinary people. She makes the place and is just interesting to talk to. And, breakfast is a real treat to start the day- including superbly exceptional scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, croissants, homemade mufffins, homemade jams, and fresh apple and pear juice to die for. Fabulous. Service is excellent and with heartfelt hospitality. We'll be back!

Room Tip: On weekend mornings, motorbikes tend to roar up and down the main road- a little bit noisy- try to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RestlessTravelBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review - we are so glad that you enjoyed all the "treats" and special touches! We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have stayed in umpteen hotels in and around Franschhoek and Stellenbosch over the years, including many of those positioned as 5 star/top end. Looking for something different for a brief one night stop in Franschhoek we turned to Tripadvisor, as we invariably do, and were taken with the unqualified praise for Fransvliet. All the praise to good to be true? Not a bit of it - a rare find indeed!
The rooms are generous in proportion and the bathrooms even more so - and both very well furnished and equipped (wonderful bed linen!). Being a chilly winter weekend, the fire in the room was particularly welcome and added to the cosy ambiance. Shirley made us immediately welcome with an equally warming reception. We did not do justice to the impressive breakfast on offer - but we will on our next visit, which has already been booked!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mactraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

What a wonderful review - thank you! We are so glad you found us, and so look forward to having you back again soon - Spring is on its way and soon you will be able to enjoy the sparkling pool too :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the fransvliet guesthouse very much. The rooms were very nice, with a romantic fireplace. Shirleys breakfast was the best we had so far in South Africa, scones and muffins are made each morning by herself. And specially, we would like to thank Victor, he made our stay even more perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shlizzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you for your generous comments. We passed your good wishes on to Victor :)and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Hopefully you will be able to see the farm in Summer next time, and come and enjoy the pool!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
3.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
181 reviews
3.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
3.8 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
3.3 mi away
La Providence Farm
La Providence Farm
#3 of 42 in Franschhoek
133 reviews
6.9 mi away
Boschendal Cottages
Boschendal Cottages
#5 of 42 in Franschhoek
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fransvliet Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fransvliet Guest House

Address: R45 | opposite La Motte - Leopards Leap, Franschhoek, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: $152 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fransvliet Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fransvliet Guest House is a tranquil, luxury retreat, only 4 kilometres from the heart of Franschhoek.It is situated on a working farm, growing grapes, olives and figs. Wake up to the call of the birds and in the evening perhaps hear the resident owls calling as they contemplate the night's hunt. Breathtaking mountain views are all around, each one more spectacular than the last. The individually decorated suites are pure luxury, with absolute attention to detail. Soft wineland colours set the tone for a perfect stay. Breakfast is an occasion, every day. Spend time in the newly renovated 65 year old house, either inside or on the veranda, enjoying the view of the pool and the vineyards. Celebrate "the best meal of the day" with either a Continental or a full breakfast that will include seasonal specials. The sparkling pool is at your disposal for those hot lazy afternoons. Relax in the shade with a magazine and an ice cold drink, before you cool off. Lazy winter days are a treat too. Snuggle up in your suite in a comfy armchair with your own personal fireplace - the perfect way to enjoy one of the local bottles of red wine. Meander through the garden, (both indigenous and other) on your way to your suite. Something special will be flowering at all times. In season, luscious figs will be found on the trees, and the scent of lemons may be in the air too. Take an early morning walk around the farm in December. The vines will be green and laden with fruit. In July, a few burgundy coloured leaves and bare sticks have their own attraction. Soak up the 360° view, especially the powerful Simonsberg mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fransvliet Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing