We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection in the Winelands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fransvliet Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfection in the Winelands”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We ended our month long African safari at Fransvliet Guest House in Franschoek. We arrived looking rather scruffy and were welcomed warmly. Our room was huge and sparkling clean and the bathroom was well equipped with wonderful toiletries that even my husband enjoyed using. Everything about this guest house makes you feel like a very special visitor - from the enthusiastic dogs to Victor's smile in the morning as he brings you your freshly prepared juice (my favorite was carrot and apple), wonderfully creamy scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and coffee that will keep you going through multiple wine tastings! Shirley, the owner, suggested one of the best restaurants we ate at in South Africa (Ryan's Kitchen) and made sure we found some of the best wineries for our explorations. We were in very good hands with our hostess and would highly recommend this new gem to travelers in this area.

Room Tip: all the rooms are equal and have great views of the garden and vines
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your Martha for your great feedback. So glad that you enjoyed so much of what Franschhoek has to offer - incredible food, amazing wine tastings - and a wonderful chance to relax and enjoy yourselves. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    36
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
241
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My traveling companion and I booked two rooms for 4 nights at Fransvliet Guest House to end a South African business trip with a mini vacation in the Winelands. It was a last minute booking and we didn't do quite as much research on the guest house as I normally do - but we stumbled into such a gem! I can't imagine we could have made a better choice in all the Winelands - not just Franschoek. Shirley, Joe, Victor & Robert made us feel like royalty right from the time of our arrival. Not only is the service superior, but the rooms are huge and luxurious. Amazingly comfortable beds, a sweet sitting area with a fireplace, a bathroom larger than my bedroom at home including heated floors, a kitchenette area with plenty of room for multiple suitcases - a slice of heaven in Franschoek. I took about 50 photos of just the grounds and flowers - and we were there in "winter". Coming from Alaska, early winter there just about matched our summer. Although it was too cold to swim, there is a beautiful pool and lawn area where we spent some time soaking up the sun. Fransvliet is about 4km outside of Franschoek so I would recommend having a vehicle. We did not and transportation was difficult since there are no taxis in that area, although a few restaurants will provide transport. Since we were there solely to relax, it wasn't a huge problem for us. We were very, very happy to spend our time at Fransvliet. I also do have to mention the food - Shirley owned a cooking school in Joburg for years and the food is just to die for. Fresh squeezed juices, fresh baked breads, fresh fruit, homemade jams, plus a hot breakfast made to order. No wonder we didn't need lunch! Oh and we added an extra day here rather than spend it in Cape Town on our way home. I wish we had added two and skipped Cape Town altogether. All in all, I can't say enough good things about Fransvliet. Don't hesitate - just book here - (as long as you leave me a vacancy for my next trip!). Thanks Shirley for a wonderful time....

Room Tip: All 5 units are beautiful - you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thank you Carol for your great review and for posting your gorgeous photos! We are so glad that you "stumbled" upon us, and hope to see you again soon! Next time hopefully in Summer when you can really enjoy the pool and the sunshine to the max!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Instantly, you are treated as a VIP Guest without paying huge sum.
Paradise, you are in a middle of a vineyard with a beautiful garden.
All rooms are spacious, big bathroom with a bathtub in the middle, very elegant, clean, nicely decorated with a touch of refinement.
As to the breakfast, the owner is a top chef so you couldn’t have it better or tasteful (delicious freshly baked home products from croissant to muffins to eggs and bacons, marmalade…)
We spend a very interesting time talking with about this beautiful country, wines, food, socio political subjects.
Shirley will spot the best restaurants, wine tasting, promenades; she guides you to the best of your interest. You don’t feel you are a tourist doing standard tours.
The only problem is once you step in, you don’t want to leave.

Room Tip: All Rooms are the same except the decoration and colors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole1961294005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you Carole for such a wonderful review! We do indeed see all our guests as VIP's and are so glad that you enjoyed all the little special touches that we have enjoyed putting together. we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My husband & I together with our 2 little daughters stayed at Fransvliet at the end of April and had a most pleasant stay! The rooms are luxurious and furnished with a great attention to detail, the gracious hosts, Shirley & Joe, welcomed us with a basket of fruit and fresh milk upon our late arrival (11pm due to flight delay), the breakfasts were delicious always with a little special twist (eg porridge with whiskey & cream) and the whole setting was simply lovely! Last but not least, our daughters totally enjoyed the company of the owner's little dogs "xu xu" & "susi". We'd definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RimaThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you Rima! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Susi and Ghu ghu loved having playmates too :) We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights.(It was definitely not long enough)The staff were so friendly and accommodating.The breakfasts were brilliant(best scrambled eggs and smoked salmon I've had in yonks!) ,overseen by well known South African foodie,Shirley Guy.
The guesthouse is situated in a beautiful spot,surrounded by mountains.
Little things that count:international plugs in the rooms(even Australian plugs)underfloor heating in the bathroom,and comfortable bed.
Brilliantly situated close to the town /village of Franchhoek and Stellenbosch.Would stay there again in a heartbeat.Thanks to Shirley and her staff for great service .Will stay longer next time!
Shirley gave us great suggestions where to eat and drink!

Room Tip: All guest rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheVenetian88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2012

What a delightful place!
We spent 2 nights at Fransvliet and wanted to stay forever.
Shirley and the staff at Fransvliet are absolutely wonderful. The service is brilliant, even offering to wash baby bottles for me, delivering them dried, clean and on a tray! The baby cot was set up with bedding included in one of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in. The furniture and decor is well thought out, and we have finally found "grandma's feather bed"! Huge, comfortable and a bed you sink into where you could happily stay forever, that's if you can tear yourself out of the bath. Underfloor heating in the bathroom and a beautiful fireplace keep you warm on those chilly winter evenings. Along with delicious wine made on the farm going out has no appeal!
Beautiful walks amidst the grape vines and mountain views are refreshing and keep you yearning for more.
Breakfast is now a new favourite meal! Delicious does not describe it. My daughter even received her own flapjack and the staff were so willing and happy to accommodate a small child. Shirley is full of wonderful advise for exploring the surrounding area and made our stay all the more wonderful.
The rooms are well located and you never feel as though you are invading someone elses privacy but you know that staff are on hand nearby should you need anything.
I cannot wait to go back and would highly recommend Fransvleit for all types of holidays - romantic or family it is truly an idyllic place!

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindybrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you Cindy for your wonderful review! It was great to have you and your family with us and we are so glad that you so enjoyed your stay :) We think its a little bit of heaven on earth too :) so glad you could share it with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We enjoyed an amazing weekend at Fransvliet Guest House where the friendly and vibrant owner, Shirley, has spared no expenses on kitting out the rooms with only the best. I enjoyed the best nights sleep of my life here in largest and most comfy bed ever. They have equipped the rooms out for winter as they all have a cosy fireplace, electric blankets, underfloor heating, heated towel rails and a big bath. Delicious breakfast and the friendliest service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley K, Owner at Fransvliet Guest House, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you Megan for such a great review! Winter really is here and the fireplaces are in full force at the moment! We are so glad that you enjoyed the cozy beds and all that Fransvliet has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
3.2 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.8 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
3.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
475 reviews
8.7 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
3.3 mi away
La Providence Farm
La Providence Farm
#3 of 41 in Franschhoek
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fransvliet Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fransvliet Guest House

Property: Fransvliet Guest House
Address: R45 (Hugenot Road 4km before Franschoek) | opposite La Motte - Leopards Leap, Franschhoek, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fransvliet Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fransvliet Guest House is a tranquil, luxury retreat, only 4 kilometres from the heart of Franschhoek.It is situated on a working farm, growing grapes, olives and figs. Wake up to the call of the birds and in the evening perhaps hear the resident owls calling as they contemplate the night's hunt. Breathtaking mountain views are all around, each one more spectacular than the last. The individually decorated suites are pure luxury, with absolute attention to detail. Soft wineland colours set the tone for a perfect stay. Breakfast is an occasion, every day. Spend time in the newly renovated 65 year old house, either inside or on the veranda, enjoying the view of the pool and the vineyards. Celebrate "the best meal of the day" with either a Continental or a full breakfast that will include seasonal specials. The sparkling pool is at your disposal for those hot lazy afternoons. Relax in the shade with a magazine and an ice cold drink, before you cool off. Lazy winter days are a treat too. Snuggle up in your suite in a comfy armchair with your own personal fireplace - the perfect way to enjoy one of the local bottles of red wine. Meander through the garden, (both indigenous and other) on your way to your suite. Something special will be flowering at all times. In season, luscious figs will be found on the trees, and the scent of lemons may be in the air too. Take an early morning walk around the farm in December. The vines will be green and laden with fruit. In July, a few burgundy coloured leaves and bare sticks have their own attraction. Soak up the 360° view, especially the powerful Simonsberg mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fransvliet Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing