We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine wines”

Stony Brook Vineyards
Ranked #15 of 54 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We are a small, family-run winery in the Franschhoek Winelands. We focus on producing small volumes of premium quality wines mainly for export to Europe.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was a wonderful experience. Family owned business and their passion for wine making is evident. Small wine estate producing outstanding wines.

Thank Annie201954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, Winemaker at Stony Brook Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you so much for the kind review. It's always great to have people at the tasting room who enjoy, appreciated and understand hand-crafted wines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Stony Brook Vineyards
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 107 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a personal tasting with one of the owners who was very knowledgeable about the wines.

The wines were nice and we were happy to pay 30 Rand for an enjoyable tasting.

Thank stevemaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, Winemaker at Stony Brook Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thanks, it was good to have met you guys and to have chatted a bit about the wines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

It was a cold and rainy day when we had our tasting with Christna, but the atmosphere couldn't have been warmer! We had our best tasting in Franschhoek at Stony Brook as we sat for a long time chatting with Christna, learning about their winery and the wines. We swapped many stories and by the end it felt like we were just sitting with a friend. I wish all winery visits were as personal as this one! We can't wait to try Stony Brook wines as they make their debut in the States. We heard they have holiday cottages and if we ever make it back will definitely plan to stay at Stony Brook too.

Thank Reeds_Around_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, Winemaker at Stony Brook Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us! Our wines will be in America in just under 2 weeks - if you follow me on Twitter (@stonybrookwine) I'll tweet the day they are available. Please do come back and taste our newer vintages when you're next in Franschhoek.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We enjoyed our visit to Stony Brook Winery and our tasting with Joy very much. It was authentic, fresh, and candid. We learned what the struggles and the rewards had been over many years in a very difficult business environment. And we tasted some fine wines, especially the Ghost Gums.
As we left, the rain stopped and the gum tree took on its ghostly white...and we appreciated the wines all the more. Thank you, Joy, for being your natural self.

Thank LisaD461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This privately and locally owned winery carefully nurtures wines that are as extraordinary as the larger, more commercial Franschhoek wineries. Because the gracious owner still serves the tasting room, visitors can hear firsthand about the joys and frustrations of their journey to their current success. And a great success it is!

1  Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stony Brook Vineyards also viewed

Wemmershoek, Western Cape
Groot Drakenstein, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Simondium, Western Cape
 

Been to Stony Brook Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing