We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway with the kids”
Review of La Chataigne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Chataigne
Certificate of Excellence
cape town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway with the kids”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

So what do you need for a getaway with 2 toddlers? Space for them to run and corners to investigate to help get rid of their daily allowance of energy .What to the parents need ? A braai place for dad, microwave for mom to wash bottles in and a fireplace to relax with once above mentioned tots are in bed. La chataigne was all of this. We stayed in on of the 2 bedroom cottages. Both en suite. The one bathroom has a bath - perfect to clean the tods in ( or get warm in winter) while the other one has 2 showers. The decor is understated elegant. As it being winter we really enjoyed the fireplace. You can walk around on the farm and I am sure the swimming pool must be delightful in summer. It is a short drive to town and to Boschendal were we had picnic. We will definitely visit again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank estiemeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
56
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Perfect spot for a peaceful break from city life. We loved being able to relax in beautiful surroundings just a short distance from the village. The fireplace was wonderful in the cold and wet weather and the cottage was well equipped with everything we needed. We will definitely be back when we are next in Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren-renb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A really delightful place to stay just outside Franschhoek, we stayed in both the one and two bedroom cottages and both were wonderful, very well equipped and in a most perfect location set amongst the pear orchards.
It was so nice to eat our own freshly cooked food for a couple of days during our six week tour of South Africa, and in such a beautiful setting with the pool close by to relax. We also enjoyed the wine tasting and the home made lemonade and marmalade that was also for sale. It was convenient for visiting the area and other wineries, but coming back to this peaceful place was just magical. Hope to be back.

Room Tip: The one bedroomed "Chestnut Cottage" was very quiet and set away from the other two cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pr_sewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A fantastic location, next to the river and in the pear trees. What a wonderful time we had sampling the wines of La Chataigne and the wonderful ambience at the cottages.
The cottage was well equipped and very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Well we're do I start. The wines tasting and the boules was brilliant. Then the cottages, they are absolutely beautiful! We loved every minute we spent on the farm and we will return when we are next in South Africa!! Thank you to the staff who were very kind and helpful!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2012

These cottages are the best value for money and most beautiful setting next to the river. Very relaxing and romantic. We bought all their wine varieties and would recommend La Chataigne to everyone looking for affordable, modern and scenic accommodation!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed at La Chataigne with family a couple of weeks ago and all of us loved it! Being in the beautiful pear orchard and positioned alongside a charming stream were idyllic. The cottage was well-equipped, clean and very comfortable. The managers were exceptional too! It's definitely a great place to base yourself for a winelands visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaSontheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
2.1 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
644 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Providence Farm
La Providence Farm
#3 of 41 in Franschhoek
127 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fransvliet Guest House
Fransvliet Guest House
#1 of 41 in Franschhoek
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ivy Apartments
The Ivy Apartments
#2 of 41 in Franschhoek
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chataigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chataigne

Property: La Chataigne
Address: PO Box 7 | La Motte, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Beautiful Self-Catering Cottages, between the vineyards, and next to a river. Lovely views, excellent wines and perfect setting for total relaxation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing