We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pancakes”

Gideon's The Famous Franschhoek Pancake House
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Pancakes”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

You are greeted with a smile. The Pancakes on offer are to die for.
We had sweet and savoury pancakes which were beautifully made and served with all required extras.
We have no hesitation in recommending this establishment for its quality of food and service.
A must place to visit in Franschoek.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    56
    27
    10
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carshalton, Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great experience, wonderful food”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited here several times during our stay in Franschhoek and was never disappointed with either the quality of the food and drinks or the service provided. Always well greeted by staff who I think got to know us quite well. The banana flambé a must try, as is the iced coffee drink. We had the pleasure of meeting the owner Gideon, who by admission is a self professed obnoxious restauranteur, however we found him friendly, and prepared to spend time telling us about the area, his business as well as recommending other restaurants in the area to try, which did not disappoint.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePresident1067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best Pancakes I've ever had!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a must whenever you are in the fabulous Franschhoek! The service was exceptional and the hands-on manager was both charming and helpful. The variety and quality of pancakes are mouthwatering. Go and spoil yourself and have a taste of fresh Franschhoek friendliness and service!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaraMurison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Goodness”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We recently visited this pancake house and were excited to learn that they served gluten free dairy free pancakes! :) the owner and waitress were concerned for my allergies and made sure that my meal was catered towards them. Definitely a worry free stop for those with difficult allergies.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious lunch on the patio!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I spilt a delicious beef & salad meal. The salad was perfect. I felt the meat was a little undercooked for my taste(perfect for my husband). They quickly took it & brought it back cooked to perfection. We also split a flambéd banana pancake dessert with ice cream. Delicious!
Gideon & his staff were all very friendly. Service was great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy4insurance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gideon's The Famous Franschhoek Pancake House also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing