We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Pancakes I've ever had!”

Gideon's The Famous Franschhoek Pancake House
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best Pancakes I've ever had!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a must whenever you are in the fabulous Franschhoek! The service was exceptional and the hands-on manager was both charming and helpful. The variety and quality of pancakes are mouthwatering. Go and spoil yourself and have a taste of fresh Franschhoek friendliness and service!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaraMurison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    56
    27
    10
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Goodness”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We recently visited this pancake house and were excited to learn that they served gluten free dairy free pancakes! :) the owner and waitress were concerned for my allergies and made sure that my meal was catered towards them. Definitely a worry free stop for those with difficult allergies.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious lunch on the patio!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I spilt a delicious beef & salad meal. The salad was perfect. I felt the meat was a little undercooked for my taste(perfect for my husband). They quickly took it & brought it back cooked to perfection. We also split a flambéd banana pancake dessert with ice cream. Delicious!
Gideon & his staff were all very friendly. Service was great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy4insurance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must visit!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We visited this pancake house whilst honeymooning in franschhoek and it was an incredible experience. We were welcomed by Gideon who is the most charming man and so passionate about his restaurant. The pancakes are amazing and there is so much choice you could go for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The combinations of fillings are both imaginative and full of flavour and we recommend anyone to visit the restaurant. We would personally like to thank Gideon for his hospitality and we hope to visit again in the future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very friendly, lovely food.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Wow, what can we say?! We arrived at The Famous Franschhoek Pancake House on a recommendation and we weren't disappointed! After dashing across the road in the rain, we entered to be greeted by a friendly waitress who suggested a table towards the back as it would be warmer - a great first impression! The menu was then explained to us and the option to go half savoury and half sweet seemed like a brilliant idea. The savoury options were varied and the choices we made both delicious, as were the sweet options. The pancakes themselves were lovely and fluffy.

Whilst we were waiting for our food, the owner Gideon came over and made us welcome - chatting with us about the local fynbos flora as he'd spotted us looking at books on the shelf behind our table. He is very entertaining and might even do you an astrology reading as some light-hearted fun! He even recommended an evening meal location near to our hotel which turned out to be absolutely fabulous.

All in all, a lovely inviting and warm place to go for Lunch. We'll be back next time we're in Franschhoek for sure!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JB_and_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gideon's The Famous Franschhoek Pancake House also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing