We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gideons pancake house Franshoek” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gideon's The Famous Franschhoek Pancake House - CLOSED

Gideon's The Famous Franschhoek Pancake House
Price range: $4 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
stex_8
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gideons pancake house Franshoek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a must try for breakfast or for any other time.
Apart from fabulous pancakes Gideon is also the man to speak to for travel advice on Franshoek and surrounding areas.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stex_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    56
    27
    10
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bunratty West, Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic pancakes, even better service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife and I ended up in Gideons Pancake house by accident, when he offered to take a photograph for us and we got talking on the street. He was incredibly helpful and friendly, and we were pleasantly surprised that his pancakes lived up to their reputation!

We would recommend sharing a savoury pancake, but treat yourself and get a sweet one each :)
(the coffee is very good aswell)

Given the quality and selection of restaurants and cafes in Franschhoek, the fact that we came back again the next day for lunch should give you an idea how much we liked it :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gerard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“One of the best pancakes we've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Gideon is certainly a character, and adds a warm ambience and amazingly friendly personal touch to this place. However without him the pancakes would still be delicious as the fillings are just amazing. Plus the hot chocolate is a must too!! Just be hungry as they are very filling!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stevemaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good light meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Good service and decent light meals at a reasonable price. The owner pays a lot of attention to patrons and detail.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clive D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Post Your Hours”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Having seen the excellent rating that this restaurant received on TripAdvisor, we tried twice to eat here during our recent trip to Franschoek. The first time we arrived at about 7:30 pm only to find they were closing their doors for the evening. The next evening we went earlier (about 6:30), but everything was locked up. A sign posting their hours would greatly reduce the frustration of potential diners who might want to try this restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveladvisorNanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gideon's The Famous Franschhoek Pancake House also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing