We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mange Tout - CLOSED

Mange Tout
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
oxford
Level Contributor
234 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Mangetout restaurant occupies a beautiful elevated position overlooking the main road in Franschhoek.
If you go for lunch, or arrive before sunset, the terrace is a delightful place to enjoy a drink.
The well balanced menu offered a 2/3/4/5 courses option each at a fixed price.
We thoroughly enjoyed all the courses (we both had the 4 course meal at R420 each), and agree that the dessert soufflé was amazing.
We have eaten at a lot of good restaurants in Europe, and this place was amazingly good value.
The staff were very attentive and happy to give advice on the menu. The pianist played all evening and provided an excellent background.
Well worth visiting if you are keen to avoid the tourist restaurants in the centre of town.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank robinjn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    13
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Herrliberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, but terrible lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

May be it was a mistake to order linefish of the day instead of something like steak and french fries. The fish was completely dried out and garnished with similarly overcooked shrimps and mussels. The salmon quiches of my wife were at least mediocre. A shame for a hotel with 5 star rating and particularly in Franschhoek, where our eating experiences of 5 days varied between good and excellent. The waitress gave her best to console us, assuring us, that for dinner the chef would be back and we could expect a better meal.
If we only had taken the restaurant's name (eat everything) as a warning!

Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
129 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The food was delicious and if it had not been for the pianist........................”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

This restaurant is in a lovely position above Franschhoek and the setting is superb. The menu is small, a good thing in my view, and the choices covered all that one might want to eat from fish to game, the staff very attentive and the dining room extremely comfortable but the whole ambiance was spoilt by the pianist playing popular tunes from musicals to well known jingles which made us long to escape. A great situation with superb food which could have been perfect without Alfio!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WilliamWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

In the past few years we have eaten at eleven of the restaurants in Franschhoek ranked higher than Mange Tout by Trip Advisor (as well as about as many others ranked below it), several of them more than once, so we have a very fair basis for comparison.

We did a fair amount of pre-planning as we were dining with a companion who is a strict Vegan. Denver Petersen, the manager, was a pleasure to deal with by e-mail, and delivered everything as discussed and promised.

The food was utterly exquisite, and quite the best we have had in Franschhoek. The three of us each had a four-course meal, and every single one of the courses had by each was utterly outstanding. The contrast with our dinner of the night before (a tasting menu at another Franschhoek establishment) was marked.

The ambience was great and even further enhanced by the piano player whom we enjoyed immensely. We know from a previous visit that the view is excellent, although obviously not a feature of a night-time visit. The service was very attentive but unobtrusive, and although we stayed until midnight there was no sense at all of being hurried on; quite the contrary we were encouraged to stay as long as we liked.

All in all it was an absolutely perfect meal and the best we have had (out of scores of dinners) in Franschhoek.

As was to be expected of a meal of that quality, it was priced accordingly at R2900 for three of us (including three pricey wines as well as some before and after drinks and an appropriate tip). Not bargain value but we thought it worth every cent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KMK_GBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
416 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
“Not as special as it was.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Mange Toute has a charm all of it's own, with fabulous views of the Franschhoek Valley, a lovely dining room and of course, Alfio on the piano to accompany your food. So, you gather, we like the venue.

We don't expect too much of the food, or at least the mains. And so it proved, with adequate, but very uninspiring lamb rack - small portions, slightly overdone and not the best of SA lamb.

The soufflé dessert, on the other hand was to die for - and the main reason we keep coming back! We also had a nice complimentary glass of dessert wine, having told them how ordinary the lamb was.

The bill was expensive - way too expensive, even by Mange Toute standards. We had been charged for a more expensive wine! I queried it and we sat around - last in the dining room - waiting for something to happen. Eventually, I lost the will to live and went to find the duty manager and paid her what I calculated I owed. Beats me why solving simple customer issues should ever be a major problem in a 5 star hotel, but it was.

Not sure that even the fabulous soufflés will drag us back next year. There again, maybe.....

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mange Tout also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing